All axis not functioning

All things related to the Centroid Acorn CNC Controller

Moderator: cnckeith

ShawnM
Posts: 467
Joined: Fri May 24, 2019 8:34 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: 7804734C6498-0401191832
Location: Clearwater, FL

Re: All axis not functioning

Post by ShawnM »

If removing the enable line works that means that it is already enabled by default in the firmware in the drive. This is usually the case. Most of the time people here on the forum recommend leaving the enable lines disconnected at first and see if you get movement. If you do great, it's enabled by default. If no movement then of course wire up the enable lines. Thos will wire to the Acorn headers because as you noted there is no enable line on the DB25.

Which LED's are you referring to? The ones on the drive or the Acorn?
Aussieatlarge
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri May 21, 2021 7:09 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none

Re: All axis not functioning

Post by Aussieatlarge »

Easier said than done. These ICs are like hen's teeth. One opportunist here is Aus is trying to sell them for $74 each. That's at least a 1000% markup. Curiously his business is listed under "Garden and Home".
Aussieatlarge
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri May 21, 2021 7:09 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none

Re: All axis not functioning

Post by Aussieatlarge »

ShawnM wrote: Tue Jun 08, 2021 8:54 pm If removing the enable line works that means that it is already enabled by default in the firmware in the drive. This is usually the case. Most of the time people here on the forum recommend leaving the enable lines disconnected at first and see if you get movement. If you do great, it's enabled by default. If no movement then of course wire up the enable lines. Thos will wire to the Acorn headers because as you noted there is no enable line on the DB25.

Which LED's are you referring to? The ones on the drive or the Acorn?
The Led's on the acorn. these ones.
IMG_0875.JPG
IMG_0874.JPG
Aussieatlarge
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri May 21, 2021 7:09 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none

Re: All axis not functioning

Post by Aussieatlarge »

Gary,
Removing enable left the steppers locked as opposed to before where they would unlock (disable) when i powered up the acorn. Unfortunately there was no movement.
So I took the time to map out the pins on the terminals versus the chip. See below. Chip 2 looks OK but chip 1 is grounding out (or at least connecting to common) EN1. Would this cause all the axis issues.
Screen Shot 2021-06-09 at 7.38.03 PM.png
Screen Shot 2021-06-09 at 7.39.13 PM.png
Screen Shot 2021-06-09 at 7.39.13 PM.png (25.12 KiB) Viewed 474 times
Aussieatlarge
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri May 21, 2021 7:09 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none

Re: All axis not functioning

Post by Aussieatlarge »

Feels like I am talking to myself.
I removed the IC which I believed as shorting the board and now my Z axis moves perfectly. That was good news. Bad news is that I need a new board.
martyscncgarage
Posts: 8454
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2017 12:01 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Location: Mesa, AZ

Re: All axis not functioning

Post by martyscncgarage »

Go into the Advanced tab and invert the EN signal.
What is probably happening is that since your drive is enabled by default, When you command a move the ENA line on Acorn is actually disabling it.

Sorry you burned up an Acorn....
Reminder, for support please follow this post: viewtopic.php?f=20&t=383
We can't "SEE" what you see...
Mesa, AZ
Post Reply