error on wizard after update mill 4.64 from 4.20

All things related to the Centroid Acorn CNC Controller

Moderator: cnckeith

Post Reply
transmon
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2018 10:24 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: B0D5CC470A8C-1206170339

error on wizard after update mill 4.64 from 4.20

Post by transmon »

Having a error in configuration Wizard says : An error has occurred while loading Drives from:.\resources\wizard\saved\drives\. There is an error in XML document (2.2). Thanks for the help !!! Dave
ShawnM
Posts: 468
Joined: Fri May 24, 2019 8:34 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: 7804734C6498-0401191832
Location: Clearwater, FL

Re: error on wizard after update mill 4.64 from 4.20

Post by ShawnM »

Dave, when upgrading from 4.20 to 4.64 it's best to input all parameters by hand and not restore a report. Do you have screen shots of all your wizard pages from 4.20? Use those to enter all parameters by hand in a new, fresh install of 4.64. Then you can copy over any tool librarys or custom macros you might have.
martyscncgarage
Posts: 8457
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2017 12:01 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Location: Mesa, AZ

Re: error on wizard after update mill 4.64 from 4.20

Post by martyscncgarage »

Always post a FRESH report when asking for help F7 Utility F7 Create Report.
Did you create a back up of your original CNCM directory before you tried to do update the software? Create fresh report too?

Shawn is correct, you are better off printing out screenshots of all your Wizard screens and then deleting the existing CNCM directory and doing a FRESH install of 4.64 and hand key in all your machine settings
Reminder, for support please follow this post: viewtopic.php?f=20&t=383
We can't "SEE" what you see...
Mesa, AZ
cnckeith
Posts: 3358
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 4:23 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: Yes
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: Yes
DC3IOB: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Contact:

Re: error on wizard after update mill 4.64 from 4.20

Post by cnckeith »

Update from older version...
1.) make screen shots of existing Wizard screens, make a fresh report.zip file
2.) rename existing cncm or cnct directory
3.) follow fresh install video and documentation and install the latest verson of Acorn CNC12
4.) Use the new version Wizard to set up the machine configuration, press write settings to cnc control and follow instructions, then install license file.
5.) If desired, copy G code programs, Intercon program, tool library, WCS file, any custom macros, from old cncm or cnct directory. reboot cnc12
Need support? READ THIS POST first. http://centroidcncforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=60&t=1043
All Acorn Documentation is located here: viewtopic.php?f=60&t=3397
Answers to common questions: viewforum.php?f=63
and here viewforum.php?f=61
Gear we use but don't sell. https://www.centroidcnc.com/centroid_di ... _gear.html
transmon
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2018 10:24 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: B0D5CC470A8C-1206170339

Re: error on wizard after update mill 4.64 from 4.20

Post by transmon »

I did all the above as told in the video .Restored from report but the one thing I did not understand was in original cnc12 drive config was custom Leadshine does not have that option in new version ?? Thanks a bunch guys !!!! Dave
martyscncgarage
Posts: 8457
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2017 12:01 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Location: Mesa, AZ

Re: error on wizard after update mill 4.64 from 4.20

Post by martyscncgarage »

transmon wrote: Tue Jun 08, 2021 11:28 pm I did all the above as told in the video .Restored from report but the one thing I did not understand was in original cnc12 drive config was custom Leadshine does not have that option in new version ?? Thanks a bunch guys !!!! Dave

report_C8FD19F23147-0122180580_2021-06-08_23-10-02.zip
Do not use a report from an old version on top of the new version.
Start from scratch and use your screen shots from the earlier version to populate the new installation.....
Reminder, for support please follow this post: viewtopic.php?f=20&t=383
We can't "SEE" what you see...
Mesa, AZ
Gmachine
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri May 29, 2020 11:52 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: E415F6F6E589-0410203112

Re: error on wizard after update mill 4.64 from 4.20

Post by Gmachine »

I too was experiencing issues after updating to 4.64. I posted my issues here too, with no success. After a fresh install my problems went away. One of there programmers must be from CDPR.
martyscncgarage
Posts: 8457
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2017 12:01 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Location: Mesa, AZ

Re: error on wizard after update mill 4.64 from 4.20

Post by martyscncgarage »

Gmachine wrote: Sun Jun 20, 2021 8:25 am I too was experiencing issues after updating to 4.64. I posted my issues here too, with no success. After a fresh install my problems went away. One of there programmers must be from CDPR.
What can happen if a user restores a report from an older version, is you actually overwrite some of the files from the newer version. Not always the case, bit if you are having issues, take the time to do a fresh install rename the old CNC director something like cncm - 4.20
And then doing a fresh install and HAND keying in machine settings from previous version Wizard screen shots.

Marty
Reminder, for support please follow this post: viewtopic.php?f=20&t=383
We can't "SEE" what you see...
Mesa, AZ
Post Reply