Looking for way to set G54 values with macro

All things related to the Centroid Acorn CNC Controller

Moderator: cnckeith

Post Reply
Chris D
Posts: 63
Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2021 7:31 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: ACORN 4447
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No

Looking for way to set G54 values with macro

Post by Chris D »

Greeting all,

I am sure this is simple, I just can't find the system variable or parameter to write the data to.

Within a macro, I want to write a value to the Z register of G54. I am using a G10 H--- R---- to write to tool length offset registers, but can't figure out how to write to the work offsets.

Thanks!

Chris D
Sword
Posts: 667
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2018 1:04 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Plasma CNC Controller: No
AcornSix CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Hickory CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
Location: Thorp WI

Re: Looking for way to set G54 values with macro

Post by Sword »

For whatever work offset you're in, G92 X(value) Y(value) Z(value).

In a macro for locating WCS with a cross hair laser, I've done it like this (abbreviated version)...

Code: Select all

#101 = 1           ; Default WCS G54
#102 = 5           ; Length of time to wait for M225 message
 
N200

M224 #101 "What WCS would you like to set? (Enter 1-6)"
IF [#101 < 1] || [#101 > 6] THEN GOTO 200
E#101              ; Set the chosen WCS

G92 X0 Y0

M225 #102 "XY LOCATION SET FOR WCS #%.0f" #101
Scott
Chris D
Posts: 63
Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2021 7:31 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: ACORN 4447
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No

Re: Looking for way to set G54 values with macro

Post by Chris D »

Awesome! Thank you Scott!
cncsnw
Posts: 3853
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2010 5:48 pm

Re: Looking for way to set G54 values with macro

Post by cncsnw »

Another method:

If you know what value you want to put in the G54 Z coordinate, but you have not necessarily moved the axis to that place, you can just assign the desired location in system variable #2701. See system variables #2400-#3218 in Chapter 11 of the Operator's Manual.
Chris D
Posts: 63
Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2021 7:31 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: ACORN 4447
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No

Re: Looking for way to set G54 values with macro

Post by Chris D »

Thanks CNCSNW, I used that technique. The wording "ACTIVE" threw me off in the System Variable description, however, it does do what I wanted!

Thanks!

Chris D
Post Reply