Centroid Acorn with servos? New build: Novakon Torus Pro

All things related to the Centroid Acorn CNC Controller

Moderator: cnckeith

CivilCNC
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2021 11:16 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: will obtain

Centroid Acorn with servos? New build: Novakon Torus Pro

Post by CivilCNC »

Today I got a new machine, a 2013 Novakon Torus pro.

After using centroid on my grizzly cnc build, I'm certain that I would like it on this machine as well.

The onboard computer is older, and I believe it's running windows 7. I was told I'll be able to run Acorn with servos because of the parallel board :?: controlling the servo drives.

I know I'm going to learn a bit more here, this might be easier than I'm thinking it will be. First things first, getting this thing unloaded and setup with the Mach3 software that came on it, and start collecting a few parts.

I'm not looking to have the machine down long, so I'm interested in some opinions on the quickest way to go about this all in the meantime. I couldn't be more excited!! :o :o :o :o

---JAKE
20210507_005036.jpg
20210507_004842.jpg
20210507_004242.jpg
20210507_004249.jpg
20210507_004753.jpg
Chaz
Posts: 389
Joined: Thu Feb 08, 2018 7:57 am
Acorn CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none

Re: Centroid Acorn with servos? New build: Novakon Torus Pro

Post by Chaz »

Ive got a Bridgeport running on Panasonic servos, others have success too with servos.

Acorn outputs step / direction, not -10 to +10. So your drives need to be able to use step / direction and not speed control, otherwise it would not work.
Richards
Posts: 551
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2018 9:01 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Location: South Jordan, UT

Re: Centroid Acorn with servos? New build: Novakon Torus Pro

Post by Richards »

The Acorn requires a computer running Windows 10. I like the Intel NUC for finished builds and any available Windows 10 desktop for bench testing.
-Mike Richards
martyscncgarage
Posts: 8669
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2017 12:01 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Location: Mesa, AZ

Re: Centroid Acorn with servos? New build: Novakon Torus Pro

Post by martyscncgarage »

Reminder, for support please follow this post: viewtopic.php?f=20&t=383
We can't "SEE" what you see...
Mesa, AZ
CivilCNC
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2021 11:16 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: will obtain

Re: Centroid Acorn with servos? New build: Novakon Torus Pro

Post by CivilCNC »

Thanks for the response everyone, I am looking into what it would take to make this onboard computer work, including putting windows 10 onto it, it looks like it has expandable memory, I'll have to take better photos. Hoping I can just update this computer with necessary components VS refitting something new into it.

---JAKE
ShawnM
Posts: 526
Joined: Fri May 24, 2019 8:34 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: 7804734C6498-0401191832
Location: Clearwater, FL

Re: Centroid Acorn with servos? New build: Novakon Torus Pro

Post by ShawnM »

Please note, if the processor doesn't meet the minimum specs there's nothing you can do to "make it work". Just putting Windows 10 on it and adding RAM doesn't make it a CNC PC. See the Centroid page listed in a previous post by Marty and check the processor against the CPU benchmark website listed in step 1. Computers are cheap and you can get one for $125-$150 all day long that meets the minimum specs.
CivilCNC
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2021 11:16 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: will obtain

Re: Centroid Acorn with servos? New build: Novakon Torus Pro

Post by CivilCNC »

ShawnM wrote: Fri May 07, 2021 11:52 am Please note, if the processor doesn't meet the minimum specs there's nothing you can do to "make it work". Just putting Windows 10 on it and adding RAM doesn't make it a CNC PC. See the Centroid page listed in a previous post by Marty and check the processor against the CPU benchmark website listed in step 1. Computers are cheap and you can get one for $125-$150 all day long that meets the minimum specs.
Yes of course, I have yet to get the onboard computer specs entirely just coming up with a plan. I life being able to turn on the computer without opening the case, and also having everything contained in the cabinet. I really have no business doing any of this, I'm just a handle cranker that got his hands on some electronics :roll:

Here is an up close picture of the onboard PC.
I'd have to look up the motherboard itself- but I believe it has 4gb of ram, and a solid state HD per the specs on novakon website. It does not specify the exact processor. I do see the CPU fan says Intel on it.
received_295810512173700.jpeg
Richards
Posts: 551
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2018 9:01 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Location: South Jordan, UT

Re: Centroid Acorn with servos? New build: Novakon Torus Pro

Post by Richards »

Here a webpage that shows how to find CPU info in Windows 7 and Windows 10:
cpu.png
-Mike Richards
CivilCNC
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2021 11:16 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: will obtain

Re: Centroid Acorn with servos? New build: Novakon Torus Pro

Post by CivilCNC »

Alright I think I may be in the clear, for the onboard PC!! My research tells me this is a GIGABYTE GA-H61M-S2PV motherboard.
https://www.userbenchmark.com/System/Gi ... M-S2PV/270

The motherboard supposedly benchmarks at 2180, but I am not certain on what CPU :?: it has.. im assuming this will effect the benchmark rating? I will run my own tests with it when I am back at the shop. Im assuming I can load windows 10 onto this computer and it maybe good to go! Of course, It will be a dedicated computer with nothing else on it except CNC12 :D

I think this onboard PC should be good to go, but Ive been wrong many, many times before :lol:
CivilCNC
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2021 11:16 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: will obtain

Re: Centroid Acorn with servos? New build: Novakon Torus Pro

Post by CivilCNC »

Richards wrote: Fri May 07, 2021 12:23 pm Here a webpage that shows how to find CPU info in Windows 7 and Windows 10:

cpu.png
Awesome, I will check when I have the computer fired up at the shop. THANKS!
Post Reply