Dead in the water <resolved>

All things related to the Centroid Acorn CNC Controller

Moderator: cnckeith

Post Reply
neowalla
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2021 5:06 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: E415F6F8DF80-0217212488
Location: Windsor, Ontario Canada
Contact:

Dead in the water <resolved>

Post by neowalla »

I used my CNC yesterday to begin a new prototype guitar and everything was peachy. Today I turn everything on and the CNC no longer responds to commands from Acorn. I shut everything off, reboot. ping 10.168.41.2 and get replies no packets lost. Launch CNC12 and it hangs on "establishing connection with Acorn". I re-seat the ethernet connections on both ends, reboot everything. Same result. I have 2 ethernet ports on my PC so I set LAN2 to 10.168.41.1/255.255.255.0, reboot. Same result. I swap out the new short shielded ethernet cable for the one that came with the Acorn. Run the ping test. Replies, no packets lost. Launch Acorn, it connects but CNC still will not move. Spindle will not turn on. Nothing, dead.
Report attached. Log shows all kinds of resends from PC to Acorn. Resend errors were first pointed out by Marty when he looked at my report on an earlier post for something else. I replaced the ethernet cable with a shorter one in the hope to solve any interference issue with the coiled up excess from the much longer original cable. I have been checking my error logs and it seemed to have fixed it, but now it has come back with a vengeance.
Attachments
report_E415F6F8DF80-0217212488_2021-05-02_15-30-17.zip
(833.13 KiB) Downloaded 1 time
Ping test.PNG
cnckeith
Posts: 3302
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 4:23 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: Yes
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: Yes
DC3IOB: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Contact:

Re: Dead in the water

Post by cnckeith »

#1 cause is anti virus software and or windows firewall.
here is more info..

viewtopic.php?f=61&t=1451

swap to a different PC to gain information as to where the issue is coming from.
Need support? READ THIS POST first. http://centroidcncforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=60&t=1043
All Acorn Documentation is located here: viewtopic.php?f=60&t=3397
Answers to common questions: viewforum.php?f=63
and here viewforum.php?f=61
Gear we use but don't sell. https://www.centroidcnc.com/centroid_di ... _gear.html
neowalla
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2021 5:06 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: E415F6F8DF80-0217212488
Location: Windsor, Ontario Canada
Contact:

Re: Dead in the water

Post by neowalla »

I have no antivirus software installed. I turned off the firewall as per the instructions provided here to set up a Win 10 PC, but I will check them now. You never know with Windows. It may have turned itself back on of its own volition. I don't have another Win 10 computer with an ethernet port to test with unfortunately. My CAD workstation is a huge thing mounted in a rack (server case).
neowalla
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2021 5:06 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: E415F6F8DF80-0217212488
Location: Windsor, Ontario Canada
Contact:

Re: Dead in the water

Post by neowalla »

Ok checked the firewall. Turned off as I expected (I still get pop up warnings telling me my computer is unprotected because my firewall is off, despite turning off all notifications). Yet something called the "domain firewall" was enabled. Ok. Turned it off, rebooted. Launched CNC12. It establishes connection as it has been doing for the last few tries, but no movement of X or Y axis. Then I try the Z axis for giggles. It moves. Then I try the C (rotating) axis. It moves. Ok, try the Y. Now it moves. Try the X. It now moves. So I don't know if I'm good to go or not. I ran a new report and attached it.
Attachments
report_E415F6F8DF80-0217212488_2021-05-02_16-44-24.zip
(835.21 KiB) Downloaded 2 times
Post Reply