G-Code Question: Tool Change without Operator Confirmation (lathe) (Resolved)

All things related to the Centroid Acorn CNC Controller

Moderator: cnckeith

Post Reply
roundel325
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2018 8:04 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: No

G-Code Question: Tool Change without Operator Confirmation (lathe) (Resolved)

Post by roundel325 »

I'm writing some g-code and can't figure out how to change tools while suppressing the prompt that requires the operator to verify the tool and press cycle start to continue. This is on a gang lathe, so tool changes are automatic but there is no ATC. The command I am using is simply:

N0010 T0101

Your help is appreciated!
cncsnw
Posts: 3763
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2010 5:48 pm

Re: G-Code Question: Tool Change without Operator Confirmation (lathe)

Post by cncsnw »

The T code is a 4-digit number. The first two digits are the tool number (tool location); and the second two digits are the offsets to use.

The control will "run a tool change" (e.g. prompt the operator) any time the first two digits change. So the simplest way to run without tool-change prompts is to change offsets, but never change tool numbers. E.g.:

Code: Select all

T0101
;...
T0102
;...
T0103
or just:

Code: Select all

T0001
;...
T0002
;...
T0003
which is equivalent to:

Code: Select all

T1
;...
T2
;...
T3

Alternately, you can add a custom tool-change macro file which does nothing. E.g. create a file named "cnctch.mac" in the c:\cnct directory, and leave it empty, or just put in a comment:

cnctch.mac:

Code: Select all

; Gang tools, no action required
roundel325
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2018 8:04 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: No

Re: G-Code Question: Tool Change without Operator Confirmation (lathe)

Post by roundel325 »

It took me a few days to get the chance to try this out, but it worked great. I used your suggestion of modifying the cnctch.mac file.

Thank you Sir!
Post Reply