Retrofit 2.0 TREE J325

All things related to the Centroid Acorn CNC Controller

Moderator: cnckeith

martyscncgarage
Posts: 8976
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2017 12:01 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Location: Mesa, AZ

Re: Retrofit 2.0 TREE J325

Post by martyscncgarage »

lavrgs wrote: Fri Sep 24, 2021 12:12 am I had a VFD Thermal fault and found that the Spindle is VERY stiff so I'll be distracted with that project in order to get the spindle turning. I'm assuming the grease in the bearings has hardened up. Any other insights? My recollection was that the spindle would turn freely last time I looked but I will start by cleaning the bearings. It does not appear to be an item in the Tree lubrication diagram. I will also try to source some angular contact bearings 80 X 50 X16. any good sources WELL under $500?
Carefully take the spindle apart. It might be the top bearing and not be the angular contact bearings. Once you have a part number then you can search for them. Occasionally, I have had good luck sourcing a matched set on ebay. But you won't know until you get the part number.

Did you unbelt the motor from the spindle so you could run the motor?
Reminder, for support please follow this post: viewtopic.php?f=20&t=383
We can't "SEE" what you see...
Mesa, AZ
lavrgs
Posts: 119
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2018 11:22 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Location: Oregon

Re: Retrofit 2.0 TREE J325

Post by lavrgs »

martyscncgarage wrote: Fri Sep 24, 2021 8:40 am
Did you unbelt the motor from the spindle so you could run the motor?
I did not try to run the motor , although I spun it by hand and it spins freely - I'll give it a try.
There is a great video by Tesla500 showing the procedure of replacing the spindle bearings in a Tree J325. He used some brown "peanut butter" grease I have some grease for wheel bearings but I'm not sure what type of grease is appropriate for spindle bearings.
martyscncgarage
Posts: 8976
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2017 12:01 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Location: Mesa, AZ

Re: Retrofit 2.0 TREE J325

Post by martyscncgarage »

lavrgs wrote: Fri Sep 24, 2021 11:18 am
martyscncgarage wrote: Fri Sep 24, 2021 8:40 am
Did you unbelt the motor from the spindle so you could run the motor?
I did not try to run the motor , although I spun it by hand and it spins freely - I'll give it a try.
There is a great video by Tesla500 showing the procedure of replacing the spindle bearings in a Tree J325. He used some brown "peanut butter" grease I have some grease for wheel bearings but I'm not sure what type of grease is appropriate for spindle bearings.
Bearing grease is usually specified by the bearing manufacturer or perhaps TREE
If you can't get anything from TREE,
perhaps this would work:
(I would not use wheel bearing grease)

Kluber Isoflex NBU 15 High Speed Spindle Bearing Grease 30cc Syringe
by Advanced Machine
Learn more:
Reminder, for support please follow this post: viewtopic.php?f=20&t=383
We can't "SEE" what you see...
Mesa, AZ
lavrgs
Posts: 119
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2018 11:22 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Location: Oregon

Re: Retrofit 2.0 TREE J325

Post by lavrgs »

I removed the spindle and inspected the bearings - maybe the top bearing had too much grease, so I wiped off the excess. The spindle bearing feel fine the top bearing feels fine and I removed the pulley and that bearing feels fine. By fine I don't see any evidence of brinelling or notchy- ness they all turn smoothly. When I started the spindle was difficult to turn by hand. I am about to put it back in the see if exhibits the same behavior. If it does I'll have to get some specific advice for the Tree
That fricken snap ring that holds the spindle in was an expletive to get out - I'm hoping it goes in easier. I'll clean the groove prior to trying
lavrgs
Posts: 119
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2018 11:22 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Location: Oregon

Re: Retrofit 2.0 TREE J325

Post by lavrgs »

OKAY I'm back to having the spindle in the machine, turning & it's being controlled by the Acorn...but... I can't get it to stop. I can spin it up to 6000 rpm but at zero it still turns - a few hunded RPM. I'm not sue if there is something on Acorn to bring it to zero RPM or if it is an VFD setting. In the previous life it would stop but there was always a ticking that bumped the spindle so having a "locked spindle" never happened. Is there a software setting that I need to change for 0 RPM ?
martyscncgarage
Posts: 8976
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2017 12:01 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Location: Mesa, AZ

Re: Retrofit 2.0 TREE J325

Post by martyscncgarage »

How do you have FWD and REV connected from Acorn to the VFD?
If either is open, the VFD should not turn the motor.

Always post a fresh report.
Reminder, for support please follow this post: viewtopic.php?f=20&t=383
We can't "SEE" what you see...
Mesa, AZ
lavrgs
Posts: 119
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2018 11:22 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Location: Oregon

Re: Retrofit 2.0 TREE J325

Post by lavrgs »

I have the VFD pin 27 (FWD) jumpered to common (pin 31) ref. Unidrive 2203 . I do have relay(s) for FWD and REV but not yet activated. I would have to verify but I'm sure if I removed the jumper it would probably stop the spindle...Maybe I should Thank - You in ADVANCE...
I have external relays... can I just use the relay on the relay board?
martyscncgarage
Posts: 8976
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2017 12:01 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Location: Mesa, AZ

Re: Retrofit 2.0 TREE J325

Post by martyscncgarage »

Remove the jumper and use the output relays to control forward and reverse. Set the Output assignments appropriately in the Wizard.

Set the spindle speed settings is the Wizard Spindle tab. Then tune the VFD.

I assume you did the spindle speed Acorn bench test?
Reminder, for support please follow this post: viewtopic.php?f=20&t=383
We can't "SEE" what you see...
Mesa, AZ
lavrgs
Posts: 119
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2018 11:22 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Location: Oregon

Re: Retrofit 2.0 TREE J325

Post by lavrgs »

I have the FWD & REV wired per the Generic VFD Enable Direction schematic Rev 4. I had to manually change relay 4 CNTL-ALT F to get the spindle to spin...based on the following OUTPUTS
outputs.JPG
Yes I did the spindle bench test
UPDATE___ The spindle starts as it should now. All Limit switches are connected to a single input and Homing works as it should
lavrgs
Posts: 119
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2018 11:22 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Location: Oregon

Chips have Flown

Post by lavrgs »

First I want to Thank everyone that helped me with all the help to get the retrofit going. There is still a bunch of items that need to be addressed but some pressure to get a job done always helps to push to progress. The pin and ring were made on my lathe, which I'd like to get upgraded to CNC , but that's for another day.
Attachments
IMG_2195.jpg
Post Reply