Retrofit 2.0 TREE J325

All things related to the Centroid Acorn CNC Controller

Moderator: cnckeith

lavrgs
Posts: 79
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2018 11:22 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Location: Oregon

Re: Retrofit 2.0 TREE J325

Post by lavrgs »

slodat wrote: Wed May 19, 2021 10:41 am The 1.3kW motors are NEMA 42, which bolted directly to my mill.
Did you get new pulleys or use the existing ones?
martyscncgarage
Posts: 8456
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2017 12:01 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Location: Mesa, AZ

Re: Retrofit 2.0 TREE J325

Post by martyscncgarage »

"I did not order a "spindle" servo I just wanted to set up the controls and was hoping to use one of the axis motors"

Please clarify this statement....
Reminder, for support please follow this post: viewtopic.php?f=20&t=383
We can't "SEE" what you see...
Mesa, AZ
slodat
Posts: 654
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2018 11:16 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none

Re: Retrofit 2.0 TREE J325

Post by slodat »

lavrgs wrote: Wed May 19, 2021 2:01 pm
slodat wrote: Wed May 19, 2021 10:41 am The 1.3kW motors are NEMA 42, which bolted directly to my mill.
Did you get new pulleys or use the existing ones?
Like I have said here, in my thread and in PM - these motors bolted up to my mill without modification. Including using the existing pulleys. I measured the salient points on the original servos and found them to be NEMA 42 sized motors.

Which DMM servos did you order?
lavrgs
Posts: 79
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2018 11:22 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Location: Oregon

Re: Retrofit 2.0 TREE J325

Post by lavrgs »

martyscncgarage wrote: Wed May 19, 2021 2:02 pm "I did not order a "spindle" servo I just wanted to set up the controls and was hoping to use one of the axis motors"

Please clarify this statement....
My goal is to set up the relays that will control FWD/REV of the spindle should just leave it at that.Using the DMM axis motor doesn't really get me anything.
Last edited by lavrgs on Wed May 19, 2021 4:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.
lavrgs
Posts: 79
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2018 11:22 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Location: Oregon

Re: Retrofit 2.0 TREE J325

Post by lavrgs »

Got a note back from DMM showing how to do what I was asking,as far as running the motor as a "spindle". I can post the schematic if needed.
lavrgs
Posts: 79
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2018 11:22 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Location: Oregon

Re: Retrofit 2.0 TREE J325

Post by lavrgs »

slodat wrote: Wed May 19, 2021 2:09 pm
Which DMM servos did you order?
I spoke with DMM about the machine and came to the conclusion that the 0.75kW would work well. We never talked about the NEMA42 motors as they were way beyond what I needed. I was assured that if the motors do not work as expected, after installation, I could return them. I must admit that I started second guessing my decision, so I called again and still feel the motors will be fine.
86N-DHT-A6MK1 - motor
DYN4-H01A2-00 - drive
martyscncgarage
Posts: 8456
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2017 12:01 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Location: Mesa, AZ

Re: Retrofit 2.0 TREE J325

Post by martyscncgarage »

750W is one HP and should work well. They also have 750W Nema 34s.
Reminder, for support please follow this post: viewtopic.php?f=20&t=383
We can't "SEE" what you see...
Mesa, AZ
slodat
Posts: 654
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2018 11:16 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none

Re: Retrofit 2.0 TREE J325

Post by slodat »

Might be worth the effort to see if the 1.3kW NEMA 42 motor would bolt in place of the servos you have now..
lavrgs
Posts: 79
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2018 11:22 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Location: Oregon

Re: Retrofit 2.0 TREE J325

Post by lavrgs »

My machine has toggle type limit switches on X and Y axes - they have 2 NC contacts and COM -3 wires. The Z axis has a 3 wire proximity switch - can I wire that to a same input? Currently I am only using the Home detect for X and Y - 2 wires
I would prefer to to use the HomeAll command so is there a way to get them onto the same input?
I can't see any specific info on the proximity switch but it has 3 wires brown black and blue. It senses at both ends of the range (Home/Limit)
I tried to test the proximity sensor by putting the Z axis both at the limit and in the center while probing the contacts, expecting to get conductivity. No luck, am I doing it right?
EDIT looks like I need to power the sensor, but the same question applies about using one input
martyscncgarage
Posts: 8456
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2017 12:01 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Location: Mesa, AZ

Re: Retrofit 2.0 TREE J325

Post by martyscncgarage »

lavrgs wrote: Sun May 23, 2021 2:38 pm My machine has toggle type limit switches on X and Y axes - they have 2 NC contacts and COM -3 wires. The Z axis has a 3 wire proximity switch - can I wire that to a same input? Currently I am only using the Home detect for X and Y - 2 wires
I would prefer to to use the HomeAll command so is there a way to get them onto the same input?
I can't see any specific info on the proximity switch but it has 3 wires brown black and blue. It senses at both ends of the range (Home/Limit)
I tried to test the proximity sensor by putting the Z axis both at the limit and in the center while probing the contacts, expecting to get conductivity. No luck, am I doing it right?
EDIT looks like I need to power the sensor, but the same question applies about using one input
Make/model of sensor, data sheet?
Reminder, for support please follow this post: viewtopic.php?f=20&t=383
We can't "SEE" what you see...
Mesa, AZ
Post Reply