Retrofit 2.0 TREE J325

All things related to the Centroid Acorn CNC Controller

Moderator: cnckeith

martyscncgarage
Posts: 8976
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2017 12:01 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Location: Mesa, AZ

Re: Retrofit 2.0 TREE J325

Post by martyscncgarage »

lavrgs wrote: Mon May 24, 2021 2:35 pm
martyscncgarage wrote: Mon May 24, 2021 2:32 pm
lavrgs wrote: Mon May 24, 2021 2:28 pm One item I haven't purchased yet is fans for the cabinet. What is the wisdom on voltage? There is one fan currently and I believe (It's not connected 8-(...) it's 120 VAC. I was considering using 12VDC fans.
I'd by a fan based on the machine's line voltage. If you have 120VAC, buy 120vac fans. Any low voltage fans will require a power supply
I should have mentioned I have a 12 Volt power supply...and 220VAC fans are ...well we don't wann a go there 9-)
Then do what you like.
I tend to follow Centroid System schematics...
Reminder, for support please follow this post: viewtopic.php?f=20&t=383
We can't "SEE" what you see...
Mesa, AZ
lavrgs
Posts: 119
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2018 11:22 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Location: Oregon

Re: Retrofit 2.0 TREE J325

Post by lavrgs »

I have an unused fan in the Power cabinet so I took a closer look at it - it's a 120vac fan. I plugged it in and it worked so I may as well find another for the control cabinet. Always trying to keep thing simple as possible I won't have to modify the mounting scheme - drop in replacement

Centroid schematics were mentioned - is there a specific one that covers fans? Is it worth putting them on a timer or turning them on based on temperature?
I was pleased to see the existing fan was very quiet..I guess noise won't matter because of all the other items running but like many aspects of this project fan searching took several hours. I finally landed at Zoro.
martyscncgarage
Posts: 8976
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2017 12:01 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Location: Mesa, AZ

Re: Retrofit 2.0 TREE J325

Post by martyscncgarage »

Fans are on when the control is on
Buy good quality ball bearing fans
Reminder, for support please follow this post: viewtopic.php?f=20&t=383
We can't "SEE" what you see...
Mesa, AZ
lavrgs
Posts: 119
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2018 11:22 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Location: Oregon

Re: Retrofit 2.0 TREE J325

Post by lavrgs »

I'm transitioning from bench test to layout of the panels. The biggest change will be going from running the servos on 120VAC to 240 but the connections will be the same. For the bench test I used 16ga wire to run the servo motors - I believe DMM suugests 12ga for 240. My discussion with DMM indicated the only advantage to using 240 is speed 5000 vs 3000 rpm - torque remains the same. Certainly staying with 120 would make things simpler but not that much...thoughts?

I just received my motor mounts - have a simple question when doing the final assembly I was going to use some threadlocker. Would Red ("permanent") be to strong over Blue. Using it for screws motor to mounting plate, set screws on pulleys.
slodat
Posts: 657
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2018 11:16 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none

Re: Retrofit 2.0 TREE J325

Post by slodat »

I went with 240 on everything I could because it greatly simplifies things.
lavrgs
Posts: 119
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2018 11:22 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Location: Oregon

Re: Retrofit 2.0 TREE J325

Post by lavrgs »

yes lower current draw a couple thousand extra rpm - I wouldn't go 3 phase - so essentially the same wiring as 120. Eventually I'd like to get a VFD that takes single phase 220 but I have a very capable VFD, so that's for another day.. Spent an hour machining screws so they don't protrude beyond the motor mount face...there's a lots of small tasks like this where it's easier to pick up items locally that just need a small touch rather than buy 100 screws that don't work...9-)
lavrgs
Posts: 119
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2018 11:22 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Location: Oregon

Re: Retrofit 2.0 TREE J325

Post by lavrgs »

A bit of hiatus on the posting but I've been spending a couple days getting the back panel ready. Today the panel went back in the cabinet. Still lots to do but it won't be long before power up. Let me know if you see any issues
Attachments
IMG_1925.jpg
lavrgs
Posts: 119
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2018 11:22 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Location: Oregon

Re: Retrofit 2.0 TREE J325

Post by lavrgs »

I am finally getting back to this...today I finally transitioned from bench testing to having all the motors working on the machine. I currently am using 3 inputs for the limit switches (IN1 IN2) and a third for the proximity switch (IN3) Automation Direct AES-CN-1A - NPN NC.
Is it possible to use one input and HOMEALL?
The proximity switch lights up and turns off when activated. The problem is when I connect it to Acorn the LED remains red. I vaguely recall being able to switch red to green by doing something...? was I dreaming?
Any other insight would be greatly appreciated
Attachments
prox8mmaes.pdf
(1.17 MiB) Downloaded 17 times
martyscncgarage
Posts: 8976
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2017 12:01 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Location: Mesa, AZ

Re: Retrofit 2.0 TREE J325

Post by martyscncgarage »

You can series all your HOME switches to one input and use HomeAll.
If you feel you need the switch on the opposite end, you can series those and use LimitAll
Reminder, for support please follow this post: viewtopic.php?f=20&t=383
We can't "SEE" what you see...
Mesa, AZ
lavrgs
Posts: 119
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2018 11:22 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Location: Oregon

Re: Retrofit 2.0 TREE J325

Post by lavrgs »

martyscncgarage wrote: Sat Sep 18, 2021 9:42 pm You can series all your HOME switches to one input and use HomeAll.
If you feel you need the switch on the opposite end, you can series those and use LimitAll
Thanks Marty. I will hook it up as you suggest . For now I am still trying to set up the proximity sensor (model stated above) into IN3 to test that it works. The LED for IN3 is red and if I ground the black wire it will change states but it does not change states with the black wire going to IN3 and triggering the sensor
I am using a external power supply for the proximity sensor if that matters...
Post Reply