Retrofit 2.0 TREE J325

All things related to the Centroid Acorn CNC Controller

Moderator: cnckeith

martyscncgarage
Posts: 8976
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2017 12:01 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Location: Mesa, AZ

Re: Retrofit 2.0 TREE J325

Post by martyscncgarage »

Hmm, it appears that Brown is +24vdc, Blue is 24vdc com, and black to Acorn input.
Make sure you use Acorn power supply. No need to use a separate power supply. That's likely your problem.
Reminder, for support please follow this post: viewtopic.php?f=20&t=383
We can't "SEE" what you see...
Mesa, AZ
lavrgs
Posts: 119
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2018 11:22 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Location: Oregon

Re: Retrofit 2.0 TREE J325

Post by lavrgs »

martyscncgarage wrote: Sat Sep 18, 2021 10:45 pm Hmm, it appears that Brown is +24vdc, Blue is 24vdc com, and black to Acorn input.
Make sure you use Acorn power supply. No need to use a separate power supply. That's likely your problem.
That worked. But not with the original Tree proximity sensor. But I bought several to retrofit and those work
lavrgs
Posts: 119
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2018 11:22 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Location: Oregon

Re: Retrofit 2.0 TREE J325

Post by lavrgs »

I have motion on all 3 axis and I am working to tune/ set up the turns ratios and generally get axes moving smoothly. I am having an issue with the X axis moving well in one direction and "stuttering"/moving slower in the other direction. I will go check all the settings with the DMM program. My original intent was to tune the X axis but I was not able to get the DMM autotune to work. I then tried the manual tuning option with no luck...If someone could point me toward a solution I would appreciate it.
I can get y axis working smoothly and moving by the increments entered. I am assuming all the axis will have the sam DMM settings
martyscncgarage
Posts: 8976
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2017 12:01 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Location: Mesa, AZ

Re: Retrofit 2.0 TREE J325

Post by martyscncgarage »

lavrgs wrote: Mon Sep 20, 2021 4:03 pm I have motion on all 3 axis and I am working to tune/ set up the turns ratios and generally get axes moving smoothly. I am having an issue with the X axis moving well in one direction and "stuttering"/moving slower in the other direction. I will go check all the settings with the DMM program. My original intent was to tune the X axis but I was not able to get the DMM autotune to work. I then tried the manual tuning option with no luck...If someone could point me toward a solution I would appreciate it.
I can get y axis working smoothly and moving by the increments entered. I am assuming all the axis will have the sam DMM settings
In general, I did not have a problem using DMM's Autotune.
Reach out to Stephen at DMM with a current DMMDRV screen shot of your X axis. He has been pretty helpful and pretty spot on.
You could try and copy in the values from your Y axis as a starting point as a suggestions...
Reminder, for support please follow this post: viewtopic.php?f=20&t=383
We can't "SEE" what you see...
Mesa, AZ
tblough
Posts: 1697
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 10:03 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: Yes
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: Yes
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: 100505
100327
102696
103432
7804732B977B-0624192192
Location: Boston, MA
Contact:

Re: Retrofit 2.0 TREE J325

Post by tblough »

Is your gib adjusted correctly? Sometimes, if they are loose, the axis will move fine in one direction, and the gib will jam in the other
Cheers,

Tom
Confidence is the feeling you have before you fully understand the situation.
I have CDO. It's like OCD, but the letters are where they should be.
lavrgs
Posts: 119
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2018 11:22 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Location: Oregon

Re: Retrofit 2.0 TREE J325

Post by lavrgs »

tblough wrote: Mon Sep 20, 2021 4:47 pm Is your gib adjusted correctly? Sometimes, if they are loose, the axis will move fine in one direction, and the gib will jam in the other
Would I feel that when moving the table by hand? I currently feels no different, but I can only move a short distance maybe 1/2 inch back and forth then move it ab inch and try again
Currently when powered the table moves to the left freely and when moving to the right is jerky and will eventually lose position. The problem is worse when the speed is faster. I'm tending to think it may be DMM servo problem. I switched X and Z motors the problem is the same.I'm thinking about running the X axis with the Y drive. If I get the same symptom I would have the investigate the X axis ways, screws etc.

I'm thinking that if I unplug the 2 X motor cables and Plug into the Y drive that should be all I need to use the Y Drive. Then if I move Y in CNC12 that should actuate the X axis...

UPDATE - I switched the X and Y servo Drives and the problem on X goes away.
martyscncgarage
Posts: 8976
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2017 12:01 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Location: Mesa, AZ

Re: Retrofit 2.0 TREE J325

Post by martyscncgarage »

I think it's servo PID tuning needed
That's why I suggested you copy the values from the Y drive to the X drive as a starting point
Reminder, for support please follow this post: viewtopic.php?f=20&t=383
We can't "SEE" what you see...
Mesa, AZ
lavrgs
Posts: 119
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2018 11:22 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Location: Oregon

Re: Retrofit 2.0 TREE J325

Post by lavrgs »

martyscncgarage wrote: Mon Sep 20, 2021 8:24 pm I think it's servo PID tuning needed
That's why I suggested you copy the values from the Y drive to the X drive as a starting point
Here is my Starting point - alldrives are set the same
DMM Settings.JPG
I know it's time for a report...
martyscncgarage
Posts: 8976
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2017 12:01 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Location: Mesa, AZ

Re: Retrofit 2.0 TREE J325

Post by martyscncgarage »

So its working when you moved the Y drive to X.
How about when you move the X to Y. Does the problem follow the drive and now on Y?

Strange, if you say all three drives are programmed all the same. I assume the X/Y motors are the same?
Did you make sure all connectors are securely tightened?

You may need to contact DMM
Reminder, for support please follow this post: viewtopic.php?f=20&t=383
We can't "SEE" what you see...
Mesa, AZ
lavrgs
Posts: 119
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2018 11:22 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Location: Oregon

Re: Retrofit 2.0 TREE J325

Post by lavrgs »

martyscncgarage wrote: Mon Sep 20, 2021 8:47 pm So its working when you moved the Y drive to X. YES
How about when you move the X to Y. Does the problem follow the drive and now on Y? Not done yet

Strange, if you say all three drives are programmed all the same. I assume the X/Y motors are the same?
Did you make sure all connectors are securely tightened? The motor connections are good

You may need to contact DMM
XY&Z motors are the same 0.75kW I have not yet tried the X drive on Y. I have two calls into DMM and an email...
Post Reply