Router dust collector vcp button

All things related to the Centroid Acorn CNC Controller

Moderator: cnckeith

MarkRH
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2020 5:20 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none

Router dust collector vcp button

Post by MarkRH »

I am having a issue with setting up the dust collector to turn on automatically as it starts the job.

Dust collector is wired to output 7, set in wizard Router dust collection output 7

From the VCP I can toggle it on and off fine, when the Auto/man Auto is on it does not start the vacuum when job starts.

Is there something simple I am missing?

Thanks
cnckeith
Posts: 3211
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 4:23 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: Yes
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: Yes
DC3IOB: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Contact:

Re: Router dust collector vcp button

Post by cnckeith »

post a fresh report.zip
Need support? READ THIS POST first. http://centroidcncforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=60&t=1043
All Acorn Documentation is located here: viewtopic.php?f=60&t=3397
Answers to common questions: viewforum.php?f=63
and here viewforum.php?f=61
Gear we use but don't sell. https://www.centroidcnc.com/centroid_di ... _gear.html
RogDC
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed Jan 01, 2020 2:40 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none

Re: Router dust collector vcp button

Post by RogDC »

Make sure you have 'Router Dust Collection' selected from the Wizard for output 7, and not just 'Dust Collection'.
martyscncgarage
Posts: 7883
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2017 12:01 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Location: Mesa, AZ

Re: Router dust collector vcp button

Post by martyscncgarage »

RogDC wrote: Mon Apr 05, 2021 4:42 pm Make sure you have 'Router Dust Collection' selected from the Wizard for output 7, and not just 'Dust Collection'.
Correct!
Reminder, for support please follow this post: viewtopic.php?f=20&t=383
We can't "SEE" what you see...
Mesa, AZ
MarkRH
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2020 5:20 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none

Re: Router dust collector vcp button

Post by MarkRH »

Rog, Marty,
Yes its Router dust collection, it works if I toggle it to manual and press button, just wont start auto so I am toggling it to manual a few seconds after it starts cutting.

Fresh report
martyscncgarage
Posts: 7883
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2017 12:01 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Location: Mesa, AZ

Re: Router dust collector vcp button

Post by martyscncgarage »

From: https://www.centroidcnc.com/centroid_di ... ctions.pdf

Try:

DustCollectionOn An output typically used for Dust Collector control.
M35 activates output to start Dust Collector.
M36 turns Dust Collector Off.
Reminder, for support please follow this post: viewtopic.php?f=20&t=383
We can't "SEE" what you see...
Mesa, AZ
RogDC
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed Jan 01, 2020 2:40 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none

Re: Router dust collector vcp button

Post by RogDC »

MarkRH wrote: Tue Apr 06, 2021 5:02 pm it works if I toggle it to manual and press button, just wont start auto so I am toggling it to manual a few seconds after it starts cutting.

report_0C1C570447DB-0403203101_2021-04-06_17-37-29.zip
Did you modify your Post Processor with the M8/M9 commands to turn on the Router Dust Collection at start and off at the end of the G-Code file?
MarkRH
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2020 5:20 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none

Re: Router dust collector vcp button

Post by MarkRH »

Marty, have not tried the DustCollectionOn that is listed under Mill, didnt think it would work for the Router buttons

Rog, no modifications, I assumed it had commands built in?
RogDC
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed Jan 01, 2020 2:40 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none

Re: Router dust collector vcp button

Post by RogDC »

Mark,
You need to add the M commands in. I use V-Carve Pro and have 6 post processors set up for the Acorn, 3 with Dust Collection, 3 w/o.

Here's my PP for you to look at, search the M8/M9
Centroid_DC_Precision_Router_inch.zip
(1.46 KiB) Downloaded 6 times
MarkRH
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2020 5:20 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none

Re: Router dust collector vcp button

Post by MarkRH »

Rog,

Ok thanks, will have to learn how to add those commands, wheres the best place to start lol!, I downloaded and extracted but couldnt open in adobe.
Post Reply