Tool touch off issue (Resolved)

All things related to the Centroid Acorn CNC Controller

Moderator: cnckeith

neowalla
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2021 5:06 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: E415F6F8DF80-0217212488
Location: Windsor, Ontario Canada
Contact:

Tool touch off issue (Resolved)

Post by neowalla »

Hello again, When I set the Z 0 height with the "Auto Z to Plate" macro in CNC12, it is zeroing above the actual workpiece by 12mm which is the thickness of the tool touch-off puck. I attached a screenshot of the data I entered into the wizard and a report as well as a photo of the puck itself.
I'm sure it's something simple but I've been searching through forum posts all day with no luck.

https://photos.app.goo.gl/bktddYijDqCwPPFr6
Attachments
report_E415F6F8DF80-0217212488_2021-04-02_14-41-59.zip
(696.18 KiB) Downloaded 12 times
screenshot toolTouchOff.PNG
20210402_143219.jpg
ShawnM
Posts: 392
Joined: Fri May 24, 2019 8:34 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: 7804734C6498-0401191832
Location: Clearwater, FL

Re: Tool touch off issue

Post by ShawnM »

Put -12 for the distance.
neowalla
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2021 5:06 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: E415F6F8DF80-0217212488
Location: Windsor, Ontario Canada
Contact:

Re: Tool touch off issue

Post by neowalla »

Hi Shawn, I tried that and it didn't work. I tried +12 for giggles as well and neither made any difference. I assumed it doesn't accept - or + values.
ShawnM
Posts: 392
Joined: Fri May 24, 2019 8:34 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: 7804734C6498-0401191832
Location: Clearwater, FL

Re: Tool touch off issue

Post by ShawnM »

I have mine set at -0.393 in the wizard with all the same setting you have, other than type, and it works just fine. What is parameter 71 set to in your machine configuration? Same? Could also be something in your z zero macro. Post it also.
neowalla
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2021 5:06 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: E415F6F8DF80-0217212488
Location: Windsor, Ontario Canada
Contact:

Re: Tool touch off issue

Post by neowalla »

Hi Shawn, I found parameter 71 in the config and it is -12.
Do you know what the macro is called and where to find it? I scrolled through a couple folders with .cnc files and there are a bunch labeled "probe...." something, but nothing jumps out at me.
By the way, the thickness of the puck is definitely 12mm and that is what it was set to in the Richauto controller and it always worked fine. Maybe it is the macro that is corrupt or incorrect in some way.
ShawnM
Posts: 392
Joined: Fri May 24, 2019 8:34 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: 7804734C6498-0401191832
Location: Clearwater, FL

Re: Tool touch off issue

Post by ShawnM »

I don't know what the macro number is for the auto z zero script in the latest version, mine is custom with my own macro number. It's not listed in the latest "input/output canned PLC m codes" document either.

In my "wizard" it's a negative number but in the "parameters" it's a positive number. Change yours to be -12 in the wizard and set parm 71 to a positive number and try that. Don't change anything else.
neowalla
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2021 5:06 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: E415F6F8DF80-0217212488
Location: Windsor, Ontario Canada
Contact:

Re: Tool touch off issue

Post by neowalla »

Hi Shawn, I tried that and I still get the same result. Maybe I need to learn how to write my own macro and reprogram that button. In the meantime I will just set Z 0 the old-fashioned way by jogging it down until a piece of paper just slips under the bit.
In the meantime I also have to find the information on VFD tweaking first. My spindle speed is way too slow and I need to get that correct before I actually start cutting wood. I stumble across these posts and sometimes a video when I'm working on something else. Then when I need that information I can't find it!
swissi
Posts: 471
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2018 11:15 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: 985DADEB24D5-0309180716

Re: Tool touch off issue

Post by swissi »

neowalla wrote: Fri Apr 02, 2021 7:57 pm Hi Shawn, I tried that and I still get the same result. Maybe I need to learn how to write my own macro and reprogram that button. In the meantime I will just set Z 0 the old-fashioned way by jogging it down until a piece of paper just slips under the bit.
In the meantime I also have to find the information on VFD tweaking first. My spindle speed is way too slow and I need to get that correct before I actually start cutting wood. I stumble across these posts and sometimes a video when I'm working on something else. Then when I need that information I can't find it!
Just get the ProbeApp and you will be glad you did. Check out this POST.

-swissi
If you are using Fusion 360, check out my CNC12 specific Post Processor
If you are using a Touch Probe, Tool Touch Off Device or a Triple Corner Finder Plate, check out my ProbeApp

Contact me at swissi2000@gmail.com
neowalla
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2021 5:06 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: E415F6F8DF80-0217212488
Location: Windsor, Ontario Canada
Contact:

Re: Tool touch off issue

Post by neowalla »

I read your post on your ProbeApp and no offence but it seems an awful lot of trouble to go through to just get the Z axis zeroed to the top of a piece of wood. Until I can find this macro and correct it I found after running the "Auto Z to Plate", and just manually jogging the Z axis down -12 and clicking the button "Set WCS Z0" works for now.
swissi
Posts: 471
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2018 11:15 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: 985DADEB24D5-0309180716

Re: Tool touch off issue

Post by swissi »

neowalla wrote: Sat Apr 03, 2021 10:35 am I read your post on your ProbeApp and no offence but it seems an awful lot of trouble to go through to just get the Z axis zeroed to the top of a piece of wood. Until I can find this macro and correct it I found after running the "Auto Z to Plate", and just manually jogging the Z axis down -12 and clicking the button "Set WCS Z0" works for now.
You seem to have a strange definition of "trouble to go through". It would have definitely saved you from the trouble you are just going trough ;)

Most people like to automate repetitive things if possible but I understand not all people are equal and some actually enjoy the pain :-)

-swissi
If you are using Fusion 360, check out my CNC12 specific Post Processor
If you are using a Touch Probe, Tool Touch Off Device or a Triple Corner Finder Plate, check out my ProbeApp

Contact me at swissi2000@gmail.com
Post Reply