CNC Control System Serial Number: none
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No

2 seperate paired axis.

Post by JaysonS »

Hey everyone,

I'm a little new to this entire thing and I have made it quite far with the little knowledge I have.

I have a few questions and some issue with my build.

I used the acorn controller to build a hot wire cutting for styrofoam. Very basic machine has two clear path servo motors to move the gantry along the x axis and 2 clear path servo motors to move the y axis.

Currently I have them mechanically paired and the machine is cutting the patterns I want. But we bump into an issue of one of the motors not working sometime which leaves the opposite motor running on its own. * Is there any suggestions on how I would resolve this issue? Maybe the software detects the one motor isn't working and gives me and error?*

I wonder weather or not it's possible to pair the 2 motors on the x axis together with software and the 2 motors on the y axis together with software?

If there is anyone out there who has done something similar and can give me a quick rundown on how, that would be much appreciated!

Thanks in advance for your help! 🙏🏾🙏🏾
Last edited by JaysonS on Tue Mar 16, 2021 6:51 am, edited 1 time in total.
robtown
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: F045DA78F172-1129181385

Re: 2 seperate paired axis.

Post by robtown »

So it's always the same motor doing this?

Have you swapped motors around to see if the problem follows the motor?
JaysonS

Post by JaysonS »

The problem doesn't seem to always be the same motor. It's kind of random. I've done a little more research and some tried putting in some pull up resistors. Problem still seems to exist.
teknic_servo
Acorn CNC Controller: No

Post by teknic_servo »

Hi JaysonS,
Welcome to the forum. A lot of great people here that can provide helpful advice.