spindle on on tool change (Resolved)

All things related to the Centroid Acorn CNC Controller

Moderator: cnckeith

chessie
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2020 3:06 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Location: Portishead UK

spindle on on tool change (Resolved)

Post by chessie »

hi
im about to use my lathe for the first time with centroid , im doing some dummy runs with programs generated from fusion

i have a manual rear quick change tool post.
the code generates an mo then says change the tool

but the spindle is still spinning
so is there some box i should be ticking so the spindle stops on centroid or is the post processor wrong and it should be a m5

ive never used an m0 before so not sure if its should stop the motor or just pause

cheers
cnckeith
Posts: 3107
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 4:23 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: Yes
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: Yes
DC3IOB: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Contact:

Re: spindle on on tool change

Post by cnckeith »

post a fresh report.zip and a copy of the g code program
When requesting support READ THIS POST first. http://centroidcncforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=60&t=1043

Please ALWAYS post a FRESH report. To make a report: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ecvg0VJp1oQ.

(We pride ourselves on providing timely solid technical support but, without good information we may not be able to help and/or reply until such information is posted.)
chessie
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2020 3:06 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Location: Portishead UK

Re: spindle on on tool change

Post by chessie »

ok thanks how do get a report im new to centroid
chessie
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2020 3:06 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Location: Portishead UK

Re: spindle on on tool change

Post by chessie »

here is the g code sample



;T0606 NR=0.1 - ZMIN=-20.2 - GROOVE TURNING
;T0707 D=10. CR=0. TAPER=118DEG - ZMIN=-25.004 - DRILL
;T0808 NR=0.2 - ZMIN=-4. - BORING TURNING
N10 G98 G90
N11 G21
N12 G50 S2200
N13 G28 U0.

;FACE2
N14 M0 ;CHANGE TO T2 ON REAR TOOL POST
N15 T0200
N16 G54
N17 M8
N18 G99
N19 G97 S2200 M3
N20 G0 X31.4 Z2. T0202
N21 G50 S2200
N22 G96 S300 M3
N23 G4 P1.
N24 G0 Z1.114
N25 X27.4
N26 X28.228
N27 G1 X25.4 Z-0.3 F1.
N28 X-0.8 F0.2
N29 X2.028 Z1.114 F1.
N30 G0 X28.228
N31 G1 Z0.514 F1.
N32 X25.4 Z-0.9
N33 X-0.8 F0.2
N34 X2.028 Z0.514 F1.
N35 G0 X28.228
N36 G1 Z0.414 F1.
N37 X25.4 Z-1.
N38 X-0.8 F0.1
N39 X2.028 Z0.414 F1.
N40 G0 X31.4
N41 Z2.
N42 G97 S2200 M3

;OS PROFILE
N43 G99
N44 G97 S2165 M3
N45 G0 X29.4 Z2.
N46 G50 S2200
N47 G96 S200 M3
N48 G4 P1.
N49 G0 Z0.414
N50 X27.711
N51 G1 X26.628 F1.
N52 X23.8 Z-1.
N53 G3 X24.2 Z-1.4 I-0.3 K-0.4 F0.2
N54 G1 Z-21.4
N55 X25.4
N56 X29.4 F1.
N57 G0 Z0.414
N58 X26.34
N59 G1 X26.03 F1.
N60 X23.202 Z-1.
N61 G3 X24. Z-1.4 I-0.001 K-0.4 F0.1
N62 G1 Z-21.4
N63 X26.828 Z-19.986 F1.
N64 X28.
N65 G0 X29.4
N66 Z2.
N67 G97 S2165 M3

;OS GROOVE
N68 G99
N69 G97 S2165 M3
N70 G0 X29.4 Z2.
N71 G50 S2200
N72 G96 S200 M3
N73 G4 P1.
N74 G0 Z0.414
N75 X27.711
N76 G1 X26.923 F1.
N77 X24.094 Z-1.
N78 G3 X24.4 Z-1.4 I-0.447 K-0.4 F0.2
N79 G1 Z-2.9
N80 G3 X24.288 Z-3.154 I-0.6
N81 G1 X23.9 Z-3.569
N82 Z-13.231
N83 X24.288 Z-13.646
N84 G3 X24.4 Z-13.9 I-0.544 K-0.254
N85 G1 Z-15.4
N86 X25.4
N87 X29.4 F1.
N88 G0 Z-2.155
N89 X28.4
N90 G1 X26.728 F1.
N91 X23.9 Z-3.569
N92 X22.4 Z-5.178 F0.2
N93 Z-11.622
N94 X24.288 Z-13.646
N95 G3 X24.4 Z-13.9 I-0.544 K-0.254
N96 G1 X27.228 Z-12.486 F1.
N97 G0 Z0.414
N98 X26.34
N99 G1 X26.03 F1.
N100 X23.202 Z-1.
N101 G3 X24. Z-1.4 I-0.001 K-0.4 F0.1
N102 G1 Z-2.9
N103 X23.992 Z-2.958
N104 X23.966 Z-3.015
N105 X23.925 Z-3.069
N106 X22. Z-5.133
N107 Z-11.667
N108 X23.925 Z-13.731
N109 X23.966 Z-13.785
N110 X23.992 Z-13.842
N111 X24. Z-13.9
N112 Z-15.4
N113 X26.828 Z-13.986 F1.
N114 X28.
N115 G0 X29.4
N116 Z2.
N117 G97 S2165 M3
N118 M9
N119 T0200
N120 G28 U0.
N121 G28 W0.

;10MM DRILL
N122 M0 ;CHANGE TO T7 ON REAR TOOL POST
N123 T0700
N124 G54
N125 M8
N126 G98
N127 G97 S1400 M3
N128 G4 P1.
N129 G0 X0. Z6. T0707
N130 G0 Z2.
N131 G10 P83 R0.
N132 G83 Z-25.004 R-1. Q10. L0.5 F140.
N133 G80
N134 Z6.
N135 M9
N136 T0700
cnckeith
Posts: 3107
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 4:23 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: Yes
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: Yes
DC3IOB: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Contact:

Re: spindle on on tool change

Post by cnckeith »

the instructions are in the signature area of each of my posts.
When requesting support READ THIS POST first. http://centroidcncforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=60&t=1043

Please ALWAYS post a FRESH report. To make a report: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ecvg0VJp1oQ.

(We pride ourselves on providing timely solid technical support but, without good information we may not be able to help and/or reply until such information is posted.)
chessie
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2020 3:06 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Location: Portishead UK

Re: spindle on on tool change

Post by chessie »

thank you keith


zip file attached
cncsnw
Posts: 1873
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2010 5:48 pm

Re: spindle on on tool change

Post by cncsnw »

No, an M0 does not automatically turn off the spindle, or the coolant, or anything else.

Neither does the default manual tool change.

If you want the spindle off during tool changes, you should have an M5 code in the wrap-up codes that precede the tool change (for example, on a line right after the M9 line).

This is something you will need to address in your CAM software or its postprocessor.

Incidentally, the T code should trigger a tool change prompt. There should be no need for an M0.
chessie
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2020 3:06 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Location: Portishead UK

Re: spindle on on tool change

Post by chessie »

thanks for the reply

im using the fusion 360 centroid lathe post processor
centroid turning-2.cps.zip
(14.56 KiB) Not downloaded yet
so does something in here need changing ?

in fusion i have the tools set with t102 and manual tool change

thanks
chessie
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2020 3:06 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Location: Portishead UK

Re: spindle on on tool change

Post by chessie »

ive had another look and noticed there is no m6 in the g code but there is an m0 instead .im new to centroid i only used mach 3 before .

So i started the spindle and coolant mdi m0 nothing happens ....mdi m6t404 spindle stops coolant stops and a message pops up please insert tool 4

so i guess the issue is the pp

so unless im going around in circles and barking up the wrong tree can anyone suggest changes to the pp

thanks again
martyscncgarage
Posts: 7489
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2017 12:01 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Location: Mesa, AZ

Re: spindle on on tool change

Post by martyscncgarage »

chessie wrote: Mon Feb 22, 2021 5:34 am ive had another look and noticed there is no m6 in the g code but there is an m0 instead .im new to centroid i only used mach 3 before .

So i started the spindle and coolant mdi m0 nothing happens ....mdi m6t404 spindle stops coolant stops and a message pops up please insert tool 4

so i guess the issue is the pp

so unless im going around in circles and barking up the wrong tree can anyone suggest changes to the pp

thanks again
Download and read the lathe operators manual.
www.centroidcnc.com › centr...PDF
Web results
Centroid T-Series Lathe Operators Manual - Centroid CNC
Reminder, for support please follow this post: viewtopic.php?f=20&t=383
We can't "SEE" what you see...
Mesa, AZ
Post Reply