how to reference LimitAll input in M91 (Resolved)

All things related to the Centroid Acorn CNC Controller

Moderator: cnckeith

pmchoudek
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2020 3:23 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: 2650

how to reference LimitAll input in M91 (Resolved)

Post by pmchoudek »

Hi there,

I have replaced the X and Y axes' physical homing switches with npn proximity sensors. I have the input from the sensors working and my homing sequence is working... but I am wondering if using the M91 M-code would be a more accurate way of homing..?

attached is the report and you can see my cncm.hom file...

I am using M105 and M106 commands for both X and Y in reference to input 6 (which is also LimitAll). I have both sensors in parallel to input 6.

When I use the "M91/Y L1" the slow jog does not stop and back off when the switch is triggered.. How do I reference input 6 with the M91 command? And would the M91 method be more accurate/repeatable than my current method?

Thanks,
PC
Attachments
report_0C1C570715C2-1107192650_2021-02-19_14-43-44.zip
(644.7 KiB) Downloaded 7 times
cnckeith
Posts: 3114
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 4:23 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: Yes
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: Yes
DC3IOB: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Contact:

Re: how to reference LimitAll input in M91

Post by cnckeith »

hmmm use the Wizard generated home program and it does what you want automatically.
When requesting support READ THIS POST first. http://centroidcncforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=60&t=1043

Please ALWAYS post a FRESH report. To make a report: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ecvg0VJp1oQ.

(We pride ourselves on providing timely solid technical support but, without good information we may not be able to help and/or reply until such information is posted.)
cnckeith
Posts: 3114
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 4:23 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: Yes
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: Yes
DC3IOB: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Contact:

Re: how to reference LimitAll input in M91

Post by cnckeith »

have you used the wizard and pressed 'write setting to cnc control' with the Wizard set to create the home program for you.
and please update to v4.62, free support for v4.5 has ended. thanks.
When requesting support READ THIS POST first. http://centroidcncforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=60&t=1043

Please ALWAYS post a FRESH report. To make a report: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ecvg0VJp1oQ.

(We pride ourselves on providing timely solid technical support but, without good information we may not be able to help and/or reply until such information is posted.)
pmchoudek
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2020 3:23 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: 2650

Re: how to reference LimitAll input in M91

Post by pmchoudek »

Hi there, thank you for the info on needing to upgrade. I will have to do that soon..

I can't home the Z accurately with the wizard generated home program. There is no limit switch for the Z-axis. It is just 0 to 360 degrees. That is why I have the home file the way it is...

I think I have to use my own .hom file is what I'm saying.

I guess I am wondering about the functionality of the M91 command. When it reaches the home sensor, the motor is supposed to stop and reverse until the sensor is cleared. When it is reversing, is that a slow jog in that direction until the switch is cleared? Or is it slower/faster than a slow jog?

Thanks,
PC
cnckeith
Posts: 3114
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 4:23 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: Yes
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: Yes
DC3IOB: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Contact:

Re: how to reference LimitAll input in M91

Post by cnckeith »

ok got ya.. no problem.

m91 moves to a HOME switch and when the HOME switch is triggered then back off till switch is cleared. if you want extra movement after that simply add it to the home program on the next line.
When requesting support READ THIS POST first. http://centroidcncforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=60&t=1043

Please ALWAYS post a FRESH report. To make a report: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ecvg0VJp1oQ.

(We pride ourselves on providing timely solid technical support but, without good information we may not be able to help and/or reply until such information is posted.)
pmchoudek
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2020 3:23 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: 2650

Re: how to reference LimitAll input in M91

Post by pmchoudek »

Yes. I understand how the movement is supposed to happen.

Back to my original question.. How do I make the M91 work with my .HOM file? I try to use "M91/Y L1" but the movement does not stop when my input 6 changes...

Do I need to designate input 6 as the home switch or something? In the source file it is defined as "LimitAll"...

Or can I not use M91 ?? I am confused a little bit..
cnckeith
Posts: 3114
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 4:23 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: Yes
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: Yes
DC3IOB: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Contact:

Re: how to reference LimitAll input in M91

Post by cnckeith »

Use HomeAll that works with M91/M92 (you have LImitAll set to Input 6, change that to HomeAll)

Limit means a limit switch which is not used for homing. Set HomeAll to input 6 and M91/M92 will trigger and then back off the switches.

M92/Y L1
M26/Y
M92/X L1
M26/X

please update to v4.62 be sure to follow the instructions, in particular related to Custom PLC programs.
When requesting support READ THIS POST first. http://centroidcncforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=60&t=1043

Please ALWAYS post a FRESH report. To make a report: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ecvg0VJp1oQ.

(We pride ourselves on providing timely solid technical support but, without good information we may not be able to help and/or reply until such information is posted.)
pmchoudek
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2020 3:23 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: 2650

Re: how to reference LimitAll input in M91

Post by pmchoudek »

Hi there, I updated to version 4.62. Attached is the report

I changed the input 6 to HomeAll in the source file, compiled, and it had an error because HomeAll was defined as MEM260 later in the file.

I commented out the ladder definition, compiled successfully and restarted controls and power cycle. I tried to use the M91/Y L1 but it would do the same thing as before... continue past the prox without stopping and clearing the prox.

I notice there is a little line above input 6 when I press 'Alt+I'. Does this mean it is inverted and the M91 is looking for a red to green transition on input 6? Because in the current setup, when the prox is tripped, it goes from green to red.

How do I un-invert this input? if that is the problem...

If the problem is still within the source code, please advise which line numbers and a remedy.

Thanks
Attachments
report_0C1C570715C2-1107192650_2021-02-23_15-07-45.zip
(659.29 KiB) Downloaded 3 times
martyscncgarage
Posts: 7514
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2017 12:01 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Location: Mesa, AZ

Re: how to reference LimitAll input in M91

Post by martyscncgarage »

...I would use my Wizard screen shots from the last version and do a FRESH install and copy in all my machine parameters. Takes about 15 minutes.
My .02...
Reminder, for support please follow this post: viewtopic.php?f=20&t=383
We can't "SEE" what you see...
Mesa, AZ
cnckeith
Posts: 3114
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 4:23 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: Yes
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: Yes
DC3IOB: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Contact:

Re: how to reference LimitAll input in M91

Post by cnckeith »

marty's suggestion is the best. it will give you a fresh start and dig you out of the hole.
When requesting support READ THIS POST first. http://centroidcncforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=60&t=1043

Please ALWAYS post a FRESH report. To make a report: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ecvg0VJp1oQ.

(We pride ourselves on providing timely solid technical support but, without good information we may not be able to help and/or reply until such information is posted.)
Post Reply