Oak CNC controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: 38D2693C1C26-0508180897
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No

Supermax Retrofit Acorn and Viper 200 drives

Post by trikepadeler »

Hello all, I'm new just joined the forum a couple of days ago. I'm in the process of retrofitting a mid 80's Supermax. I been procrastination for a long time since the machine was still working. I purchased the Viper 200 F drives from Larry at Larken back in 2014, and the Acorn probably in 2018. So finally I decide it is time to start cutting some wires. I'm not an expert so I'm winging it as i go. Hope I will find some help as I go on. I couldn't find much info on the Viper 200 retrofit CNC wiring. I Never built a CNC before nor I worked on one so I'm learning as I go with this project. Luckily I found Marty's CNC garage channel and watched all his videos, So now at least I have a good understanding of the Centroid board. I pulled the control form the cabinet and removed the old Servo drives, isolation transformer and most of the wiring. Keep the High voltage and the 15 vdc power supply. It has a Snap Change tool changer that I want to keep. I tried to insert a few pictures, but i haven't figured it out how. :D , I saw a post from Marty suggesting some one to make a link to Google pictures. https://photos.app.goo.gl/ySDxyCDMA5qXFQJf9

Frank
Last edited by trikepadeler on Mon Jan 25, 2021 3:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.
martyscncgarage
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes

Re: Supermax Retrofit Acorn and Viper 200 drives

Post by martyscncgarage »

Good luck with the Viper drives. Make sure you BENCH TEST the control with PC first, then add a drive and a motor and get it turning FIRST, on the bench, not in the machine. Then add the second and third drive.

Look at the Acorn SYSTEM Schematic and follow it.