Oak CNC controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No

No Hearbeat; not BBG

Post by PLEKK0 »

Hello! This is my first time posting and I apologize for any lack of knowledge that I have as well as lack of information that I post to help solve my following problem: my BBG has no heartbeat when attached to the Acorn board.

I modified a Shapeoko setup with my Acorn board about 6 months ago. The CNC has been running without issue as recently as four days ago. Yesterday I tried booting everything up but was met with a looping "MPU reboot" message. Eventually the message changed to "Unable to establish communication with Acorn." I went through the process of checking ethernet cables, ensuring my firewall was off, restarting my computer, and power cycling my Acorn. At one point CNC12 successfully booted however all my limits and my probe registered as triggered. I modified things in Wizard because I thought they might have reset. After closing and restarting CNC12, it was once again unable to communicate with Acorn. At this point I still had a somewhat normal heartbeat: there would be 10 regular beats followed by a pause. Sometime throughout this there was also an update message telling me not to cut power to Acorn. I have not been able to re-establish communication with Acorn and at this point I have no heartbeat at all when my BBG is attached to Acorn. I did remove the BBG and test it with power and have a normal heartbeat. I did follow the instructions to debrick despite this (because I was at a loss of what else to do) and still have a heartbeat but only when the BBG is off the Acorn board. I have removed all leads except power from my Acorn and the problem persists.

TLDR:
- my Acorn/CNC12 functioned normally
- without notable change, my Acorn and computer could not establish communication
- after troubleshooting and debricking, my BBG has a heartbeat but only when off the Acorn board