Show me your Custom VCP's!

All things related to the Centroid Acorn CNC Controller

Moderator: cnckeith

SpacedmanSpiff
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Nov 09, 2020 6:43 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: oc1c5708fb62-01224202901

Re: Show me your Custom VCP's!

Post by SpacedmanSpiff »

Figured it out. Nothing to do with centroid. Something was goofy with my file transfer between computers. Had to delete the old file before saving the new file....all the best sean
slice
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2021 2:20 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none

Re: Show me your Custom VCP's!

Post by slice »

I am working on using a background posted by Linkcnc for my mill. Everything is going well except row 6. Originally there were 3 double space buttons in row 6. I am wanting six single space buttons for home, Incr/Cont, x1, x10, x100, and MPG. I have my six buttons working. If I do anything to the 3 buttons on the background in row 6, cnc12 won't load the background. I have tried dragging them off to one side of the background, leaving them where they are and making them the same color as the background, deleting them, and cnc12 won't load the background. I am using Inkscape.

I have attached the background.svg and a report.

Any help is appreciated.
Attachments
report_0035FF621C78-0206214328_2021-12-20_20-24-08.zip
(472.37 KiB) Downloaded 17 times
background.svg
(27.2 KiB) Downloaded 30 times
slice
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2021 2:20 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none

Re: Show me your Custom VCP's!

Post by slice »

I actually started over. I made the background and then made each button an actual button instead of a graphic on the background. I'll post a picture when complete. It's slow going. Not being experienced in vector graphics, I had to have a friend of mine give me a crash course in it. Now I know enough to be dangerous.
cad cam man
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2021 10:04 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: 4372
Location: south east texas

Re: Show me your Custom VCP's!

Post by cad cam man »

Hey Keith are there any updates on if we will be able to edit our vcp's offline ?? I know this was something suggested and I think it would be a really good idea

Thanks,
Michael
centroidsupport
Posts: 84
Joined: Tue Sep 28, 2021 6:26 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: Yes
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: Yes
DC3IOB: Yes
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none

Re: Show me your Custom VCP's!

Post by centroidsupport »

You could remote into your machine using Teamviewer or something similar
Need support? READ THIS POST first. http://centroidcncforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=60&t=1043
All Acorn Documentation is located here: viewtopic.php?f=60&t=3397
Answers to common questions: viewforum.php?f=63
and here viewforum.php?f=61
https://www.centroidcnc.com/centroid_di ... _gear.html
cnckeith
Posts: 3833
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 4:23 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: Yes
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: Yes
DC3IOB: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Contact:

Re: Show me your Custom VCP's!

Post by cnckeith »

cad cam man wrote: Fri Dec 31, 2021 9:52 am Hey Keith are there any updates on if we will be able to edit our vcp's offline ?? I know this was something suggested and I think it would be a really good idea

Thanks,
Michael
the VCP by definition is tied to CNC12's PLC program. you can edit the VCP files on any computer you just cant test it without an Acorn connected to the computer as the PLC program lives on the Acorn. Yep is has been considered and discussed to put the effort into building a VCP software emulator so the VCP could be operational without an Acorn, that idea is on the list but not high on the list at the moment as we are doing a big push to get Plasma released! along with updated Mill,Lathe and Router versions to go with it. For now make a copy of the cncm/t folder as a backup and then edit the VCP files you want to change on the computer that is connected to the Acorn. Some oem's and integrators pick up a spare Acorn so they can run CNC12 on there desktop computer for various reasons including VCP editing.
Need support? READ THIS POST first. http://centroidcncforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=60&t=1043
All Acorn Documentation is located here: viewtopic.php?f=60&t=3397
Answers to common questions: viewforum.php?f=63
and here viewforum.php?f=61
Gear we use but don't sell. https://www.centroidcnc.com/centroid_di ... _gear.html
Post Reply