Oak CNC controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: 1116203993
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No

Newbie converting a PM-728VT

Post by DesertRider »

I have just placed an order on a PM-728VT with the CNC conversion kit and tooling. They are all on back order, so while I am waiting for delivery, I started planning the rest of the conversion. Bought an Acorn, and wanted to introduce myself and document the conversion in this thread.

By way of background, I am a garage hobbyist with basic woodworking and metalworking experience. I have never milled before and have no machining experience. I do have an AVID CNC Router Pro with a 48x24" 8020 frame and NEMA 23 motors on Mach 4 via a Warp9 ESS. I put it together, but got the electronics boxes assembled by Avid, so have no personal experience putting together the electronics. However, have added myself the THC when I upgraded to plasma, so I am familiar with the setup.

So I expect a few roadblocks in my path, but the support community here has a great reputation so I hope to get my answers from y'allz. Have just received my Acorn and the bench test went smoothly. Yet it also raised the first questions.
Last edited by DesertRider on Sun Dec 06, 2020 10:09 pm, edited 2 times in total.
DesertRider
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No

Re: Newbie converting a PM-728VT

Post by DesertRider »

I am running an Intel NUC 8i7BEK (Intel Quad-Core i7-8559U, 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD16GB DDR4 and Windows 10 Pro). It has only one Ethernet adapter, and I wold like to run both Mach 4 and drive the ESS and the Acorn (not at the same time). Problem is they both require static IP addresses.