I am a newbie to this forum. need help wiring up DP-4 touch probe

All things related to the Centroid Acorn CNC Controller

Moderator: cnckeith

Post Reply
Leodoc
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Nov 15, 2020 4:17 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none1862e483d9b6-0319203082

I am a newbie to this forum. need help wiring up DP-4 touch probe

Post by Leodoc »

Is there a step by step vid. of directions to hook up the DP-4 . I have acorn 12 pro v4.5 with the RV.4 board on a 3 axis router. The wiring connector they include is not near long enough to route all the way through the gantry and underside cable management to the control box. I see on the version 11 schematic it has the pinout of the 8 pin molex end. It looks like there are only 5 of the wires used. I am competent in wiring and can make my wIring harness if need be . I jUST do not want to screw anything up.
tblough
Posts: 1155
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 10:03 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: Yes
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: Yes
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: 100505
100327
102696
103432
7804732B977B-0624192192
Location: Boston, MA
Contact:

Re: I am a newbie to this forum. need help wiring up DP-4 touch probe

Post by tblough »

Cheers,

Tom
Confidence is the feeling you have before you fully understand the situation.
I have CDO. It's like OCD, but the letters are where they should be.
martyscncgarage
Posts: 6687
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2017 12:01 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Location: Mesa, AZ

Re: I am a newbie to this forum. need help wiring up DP-4 touch probe

Post by martyscncgarage »

Its in the schematic set. You need to order and modify a bulkhead connector cable Centroid PN11805
See attached schematics. Just for DP4 follow it, if you are also planning on using a Tool Touch probe like TT1B follow that schematic.

Marty
Attachments
S14962-ACORN_rev4, DP-4_AND_TT-1_DUAL_CABLE_SETUP.pdf
(189.41 KiB) Downloaded 3 times
S14961-ACORN_rev4, DP-4_AND_TT-1_SINGLE_CABLE_SETUP.pdf
(185.36 KiB) Downloaded 1 time
S14960-ACORN_rev4_DP-4_PROBE.pdf
(169.89 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Reminder, for support please follow this post: viewtopic.php?f=20&t=383
We can't "SEE" what you see...
Mesa, AZ
Leodoc
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Nov 15, 2020 4:17 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none1862e483d9b6-0319203082

Re: I am a newbie to this forum. need help wiring up DP-4 touch probe

Post by Leodoc »

Yes I have the schematic and can read it . I have the 11805 that came with probe. I thought that 8 din plug would just plug in to the board beacuse, I am using all centroid part, At the very least, provide the male side of the plug to make your own leads. The directions did not say any thing about making your own leads.
martyscncgarage
Posts: 6687
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2017 12:01 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Location: Mesa, AZ

Re: I am a newbie to this forum. need help wiring up DP-4 touch probe

Post by martyscncgarage »

Leodoc wrote: Sun Nov 15, 2020 8:16 pm Yes I have the schematic and can read it . I have the 11805 that came with probe. I thought that 8 din plug would just plug in to the board beacuse, I am using all centroid part, At the very least, provide the male side of the plug to make your own leads. The directions did not say any thing about making your own leads.
The square miles plug directly mates with Oak and All in One DC. Not Acorn. Cut the plug off and wire per the schematic.

Marty
Reminder, for support please follow this post: viewtopic.php?f=20&t=383
We can't "SEE" what you see...
Mesa, AZ
Post Reply