Drive Fault

All things related to the Centroid Acorn CNC Controller

Moderator: cnckeith

Dbur525
Posts: 113
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2017 8:01 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none

Re: Drive Fault

Post by Dbur525 »

i used cnc12 control screen to command the spindle and it worked perfectly clockwise and counter clockwise
martyscncgarage
Posts: 6687
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2017 12:01 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Location: Mesa, AZ

Re: Drive Fault

Post by martyscncgarage »

Disconnect the Z axis drive motor and repeat jogging the Z axis as previously described. Does the motor turn fine with no load in both directions?
CHECK again that you can move the Z axis ballscrew SMOOTHLY in the positive and negative direction with no binding.
Reminder, for support please follow this post: viewtopic.php?f=20&t=383
We can't "SEE" what you see...
Mesa, AZ
Dbur525
Posts: 113
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2017 8:01 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none

Re: Drive Fault

Post by Dbur525 »

HI Marty

yes i will do that, by hand i turned ball screw to raise the mill head, but very hard to get into the tight spot i can only use my finger tips to hold onto the shaft coupling, but i raised it about 2 inches by hand , so i could get the drill bit out of spindle.
i have a feeling i damaged the ball screw and or ballnut
but anyways i will remove the Z motor and retest controller
Dave
martyscncgarage
Posts: 6687
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2017 12:01 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Location: Mesa, AZ

Re: Drive Fault

Post by martyscncgarage »

Dbur525 wrote: Fri Nov 13, 2020 8:54 pm HI Marty

yes i will do that, by hand i turned ball screw to raise the mill head, but very hard to get into the tight spot i can only use my finger tips to hold onto the shaft coupling, but i raised it about 2 inches by hand , so i could get the drill bit out of spindle.
i have a feeling i damaged the ball screw and or ballnut
but anyways i will remove the Z motor and retest controller
Dave
This is why I am asking you to remove the motor and THEN you can properly check the Z axis for mechanical binding.
AND you can jog the motor with no load.
Reminder, for support please follow this post: viewtopic.php?f=20&t=383
We can't "SEE" what you see...
Mesa, AZ
Dbur525
Posts: 113
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2017 8:01 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none

Re: Drive Fault

Post by Dbur525 »

HI Marty
yes well noted, I pulled the Z motor and it runs fine in the clockwise direction, but when i reverse the direction counter clockwise which would raise my Z axis, the motor does turn but when I grab hold of the shaft with my fingers i can stop the motor from turning and produce the drive fault condition, so the motor is damaged.
I sent an email to DMM for a replacement motor.
I appreciate all your help with this problem, as well as all the help you have given me over the last few years!
thank you
Dave
martyscncgarage
Posts: 6687
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2017 12:01 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Location: Mesa, AZ

Re: Drive Fault

Post by martyscncgarage »

Dbur525 wrote: Sat Nov 14, 2020 4:08 pm HI Marty
yes well noted, I pulled the Z motor and it runs fine in the clockwise direction, but when i reverse the direction counter clockwise which would raise my Z axis, the motor does turn but when I grab hold of the shaft with my fingers i can stop the motor from turning and produce the drive fault condition, so the motor is damaged.
I sent an email to DMM for a replacement motor.
I appreciate all your help with this problem, as well as all the help you have given me over the last few years!
thank you
Dave

Make sure you order a communications cable from DMM at the same time. Would be handy for you to have if you have to get into the DYN4 configuration with the DMMDRV software.

I'd change that spindle motor to a 3 phase motor and VFD....but you've heard that song before....750W is a bit weak I think....

Marty
Reminder, for support please follow this post: viewtopic.php?f=20&t=383
We can't "SEE" what you see...
Mesa, AZ
martyscncgarage
Posts: 6687
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2017 12:01 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Location: Mesa, AZ

Re: Drive Fault

Post by martyscncgarage »

Did you check to make sure your Z axis screw was free for the full travel?

Marty
Reminder, for support please follow this post: viewtopic.php?f=20&t=383
We can't "SEE" what you see...
Mesa, AZ
Dbur525
Posts: 113
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2017 8:01 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none

Re: Drive Fault

Post by Dbur525 »

Yes, the ball screw is okay no binding
I would love to have the 3 phase motor and VFD
But im worried i wont be able to get it all hooked up correctly and working with the acorn board, on my own, so i dont want to box myself into a corner, that leaves me with a non running machine

In fact i have a 10 inch grizzly G0602 lathe that has a built in vfd and 3 phase motor and its been over a year and i cant figure out how to connect from acorn to the built-in delta vfd so I can do threading
Thank you David
martyscncgarage
Posts: 6687
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2017 12:01 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Location: Mesa, AZ

Re: Drive Fault

Post by martyscncgarage »

David,
You might post your location. There may be an experienced Acorn user near you that can lend their services/help.
Your situation is why I choose not to do any out of area work. I can't support the customer. If they insist, then they are on their own.
It is best if you dig in and learn if you can't find someone to help you.

Delta is a common VFD and is generally straight forward.
I assume you have a proper encoder belted at 1:1 on the lathe spindle? Is it also an Centroid system?

Marty
Reminder, for support please follow this post: viewtopic.php?f=20&t=383
We can't "SEE" what you see...
Mesa, AZ
Dbur525
Posts: 113
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2017 8:01 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none

Re: Drive Fault

Post by Dbur525 »

Hi Marty
Yes, the controller box for my lathe contains the acorn board and small DMM servos , drive the axis's
I had an encoder mounted to the back of the lathe spindle tube, which i know is not the correct way of doing it, but it was quick and easy, and i wanted to get up and running threads asap. The thought was to go back at a later date and 3 D print gears and machine a bracket , for the encoder mounting. The delta vfd did not have a controll panel installed, so i had to buy that and it pligged into the vfd, so you could access the vfd perimeters.
As it turned out, i haven't really needed to do any threading anyways,but it still would be nice to have the option.
I have tons of mill work to do
In fact im planning on posting you tube vids soon, showing the mill running
Post Reply