Mill and lathe, one machine!

All things related to the Centroid Acorn CNC Controller

Moderator: cnckeith

Post Reply
Maniacal machine
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Oct 01, 2019 8:06 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none

Mill and lathe, one machine!

Post by Maniacal machine »

Hi I just purchased the kit as well as mill and lathe pro but I’ve also been just recently told that I may have to rewire the axis each time I want to switch between mill and lathe. The gentleman that suggested it however was using the quill as the lathe chuck and feeding tools up while mine will behave more like a conventional mill at one end and lathe at the other but use the same slide and saddle. Here’s a pic.
Attachments
288F210D-DC19-4D46-A299-55F9F6AFD094.jpeg
martyscncgarage
Posts: 6687
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2017 12:01 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Location: Mesa, AZ

Re: Mill and lathe, one machine!

Post by martyscncgarage »

That will be some project.
Off the top of my head. Load both CNC12 Mill and Lathe

X is common to both mill and lathe on your machine.
Z must be axis 1 on lathe and X axis 2

My first thought would be to
Setup lathe conventionally

Setup your "mill" with CNC12 Mill:
Axis 4 will be Z
Axis 2 will be X
Axis 1 will be Y

Homing the machine Should be doable by assignment
Z lathe will be Y Mill
X lathe and mill the same
Z mill will have its own input

Just spit balling ideas....
Will be interesting if you pursue this. Lots of work.....

Marty
Reminder, for support please follow this post: viewtopic.php?f=20&t=383
We can't "SEE" what you see...
Mesa, AZ
swissi
Posts: 361
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2018 11:15 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: 985DADEB24D5-0309180716

Re: Mill and lathe, one machine!

Post by swissi »

martyscncgarage wrote: Fri Nov 13, 2020 11:30 am Setup your "mill" with CNC12 Mill:
Axis 4 will be Z
Axis 2 will be X
Axis 1 will be Y
Just one warning. With an axis assignment like this, the CNC12 Mill built in probing cycles won't work as they are hardcoded for Axis 1=X, Axis 2=Y and Axis 3=Z.

You would need the ProbeApp to do the Mill Probing Cycles as the ProbeApp cycles work with any Axis # to Axis Letter assignment.

-swissi
If you are using Fusion 360, check out my CNC12 specific Post Processor
If you are using a Touch Probe, Tool Touch Off Device or a Triple Corner Finder Plate, check out my ProbeApp

Contact me at swissi2000@gmail.com
Maniacal machine
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Oct 01, 2019 8:06 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none

Re: Mill and lathe, one machine!

Post by Maniacal machine »

martyscncgarage wrote: Fri Nov 13, 2020 11:30 am That will be some project.
Off the top of my head. Load both CNC12 Mill and Lathe

X is common to both mill and lathe on your machine.
Z must be axis 1 on lathe and X axis 2

My first thought would be to
Setup lathe conventionally

Setup your "mill" with CNC12 Mill:
Axis 4 will be Z
Axis 2 will be X
Axis 1 will be Y

Homing the machine Should be doable by assignment
Z lathe will be Y Mill
X lathe and mill the same
Z mill will have its own input

Just spit balling ideas....
Will be interesting if you pursue this. Lots of work.....

Marty
Been lots of work already, have one ball screw installed, 2 to go. I’m keeping all manual functions as well so the hard part I think will be making the cabinet switch between two sets of controls but I’ll figure it out. I’ll take your advice on the axis configuration as well, thanks.
martyscncgarage
Posts: 6687
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2017 12:01 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Location: Mesa, AZ

Re: Mill and lathe, one machine!

Post by martyscncgarage »

As I suggested. You should load CNC12 LATHE AND CNC12 Mill I would try and configure each as I suggested previously.
If you had a wireless MPG that could allow you manual control.....

Good luck on the project
Marty
Reminder, for support please follow this post: viewtopic.php?f=20&t=383
We can't "SEE" what you see...
Mesa, AZ
Maniacal machine
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Oct 01, 2019 8:06 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none

Re: Mill and lathe, one machine!

Post by Maniacal machine »

martyscncgarage wrote: Sat Nov 14, 2020 2:10 pm As I suggested. You should load CNC12 LATHE AND CNC12 Mill I would try and configure each as I suggested previously.
If you had a wireless MPG that could allow you manual control.....

Good luck on the project
Marty
I’ll have full manual control, two Cross slides, the original which will be locked down for cnc while the mill slide moves. The z ball screw will uncouple from the saddle and be on the back side so I don’t lose the original Lead or feeds. Because my milling slide base is on the back side to allow me to still mount the compound, I do most of my turning in reverse. Figured this is another good reason to put the ball screw on the back side.
hebs
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2019 4:46 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: A81087B53034-0710192235

Re: Mill and lathe, one machine!

Post by hebs »

I used 12 relays (Step, dir & en for each drive) all triggered by a single acorn output to swap the axis drives around and forced the acorn output do be different in lathe to that in mill. Each time time I load the software (lathe or mill) it sets the relays for me and ensures that the drives are connected to the correct outputs on the acorn board.
Post Reply