ProbeApp V2: The ultimate solution for Tool Height Offsets

All things related to the Centroid Acorn CNC Controller

Moderator: cnckeith

mrp192
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Oct 10, 2020 4:32 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: 3699, 3788

Re: ProbeApp V2: The ultimate solution for Tool Height Offsets

Post by mrp192 »

Does the CNC12 4.6 affect probeapp 2?
swissi
Posts: 434
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2018 11:15 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: 985DADEB24D5-0309180716

Re: ProbeApp V2: The ultimate solution for Tool Height Offsets

Post by swissi »

mrp192 wrote: Sat Jan 30, 2021 5:28 pm Does the CNC12 4.6 affect probeapp 2?
ProbeApp v2 works with CNC12 4.6 Mill and Router.

If you are running the Router version and want the VCP button "Auto Z to PLATE" to launch the ProbeApp-ToolSetter, copy this mfunc44.mac file to your c:\cncm folder:

mfunc44.mac
(792 Bytes) Downloaded 30 times

-swissi
If you are using Fusion 360, check out my CNC12 specific Post Processor
If you are using a Touch Probe, Tool Touch Off Device or a Triple Corner Finder Plate, check out my ProbeApp

Contact me at swissi2000@gmail.com
Juda
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jan 05, 2020 1:31 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: ok 375

Re: ProbeApp V2: The ultimate solution for Tool Height Offsets

Post by Juda »

Good morning.

Swissi just bought a KP-3 probe to be able to make some measurements on a milling machine with acorn 12 software.

I already managed to see some videos on how to configure the KP-3 probe butI need to measure several holes at the same time and in the three axesX, Y, Z could you support me how I can do this in one step.

And also if you can support me to download filesdxf to acorn 12 programming since I could not dolet it read the dxf files.

Regards and I expect your comments.
Vincent
swissi
Posts: 434
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2018 11:15 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: 985DADEB24D5-0309180716

Re: ProbeApp V2: The ultimate solution for Tool Height Offsets

Post by swissi »

Juda wrote: Tue Feb 02, 2021 2:51 pm Good morning.

Swissi just bought a KP-3 probe to be able to make some measurements on a milling machine with acorn 12 software.

I already managed to see some videos on how to configure the KP-3 probe butI need to measure several holes at the same time and in the three axesX, Y, Z could you support me how I can do this in one step.

And also if you can support me to download filesdxf to acorn 12 programming since I could not dolet it read the dxf files.

Regards and I expect your comments.
Vincent
Based on your questions I have to assume that you do not know much about CNC machining and how CNC machines work. I highly recommend you watch some CNC training videos first. There are plenty for free on the Internet. NYC/CNC has some great videos here.

-swissi
If you are using Fusion 360, check out my CNC12 specific Post Processor
If you are using a Touch Probe, Tool Touch Off Device or a Triple Corner Finder Plate, check out my ProbeApp

Contact me at swissi2000@gmail.com
Juda
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jan 05, 2020 1:31 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: ok 375

Re: ProbeApp V2: The ultimate solution for Tool Height Offsets

Post by Juda »

Hello Swissi. okay. I will review them. .
But first, I would like to tell you that I retrofitted a conventional milling machine with hybrid servo motors and the acorn12 controller.
For 4 axes, at the moment I already have the equipment configurations, it is running well, from the beginning to the home, I was watching all this through your videos and the machine is calibrated to be able to make some measurements with the probe,
What I have not found in videos is how to program the probe and how to make it calibrate several perforations in a straight line.
If you need more information about the machine, tell me what it is what you need to know so you can help me.
regards
Vincent
ChrisAttebery
Posts: 77
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2020 2:20 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: 4031
Location: Gilroy, CA
Contact:

Re: ProbeApp V2: The ultimate solution for Tool Height Offsets

Post by ChrisAttebery »

I'd like to make one suggestion. In the offset library manager could you add a way to input the manual offset (like say x+ 1.000")? So if I have a 3" face mill I enter X+1.500" and the probe routine moves from the tool change position X+1.500" then measures the tool. I don't have a lot of tools that need to be offset, but I think it would be handy.
swissi
Posts: 434
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2018 11:15 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: 985DADEB24D5-0309180716

Re: ProbeApp V2: The ultimate solution for Tool Height Offsets

Post by swissi »

ChrisAttebery wrote: Mon Feb 08, 2021 5:01 pm I'd like to make one suggestion. In the offset library manager could you add a way to input the manual offset (like say x+ 1.000")? So if I have a 3" face mill I enter X+1.500" and the probe routine moves from the tool change position X+1.500" then measures the tool. I don't have a lot of tools that need to be offset, but I think it would be handy.
As you say, oversized tools that need an offset to be touched off on a tool setter are usually not the norm and maintaining a possible offset field for 200 tools would be overkill. What the new upcoming version 3 will have are additional configuration settings where you can choose if you would like to position the oversized tools with a Tool-Radius-Offset and in which direction (X+, X-, Y+ or Y-) the offset should be.

I think that's a great compromise to your suggestion and will do what you need, right?

-swissi
If you are using Fusion 360, check out my CNC12 specific Post Processor
If you are using a Touch Probe, Tool Touch Off Device or a Triple Corner Finder Plate, check out my ProbeApp

Contact me at swissi2000@gmail.com
ChrisAttebery
Posts: 77
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2020 2:20 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: 4031
Location: Gilroy, CA
Contact:

Re: ProbeApp V2: The ultimate solution for Tool Height Offsets

Post by ChrisAttebery »

swissi wrote: Tue Feb 09, 2021 12:34 pm As you say, oversized tools that need an offset to be touched off on a tool setter are usually not the norm and maintaining a possible offset field for 200 tools would be overkill. What the new upcoming version 3 will have are additional configuration settings where you can choose if you would like to position the oversized tools with a Tool-Radius-Offset and in which direction (X+, X-, Y+ or Y-) the offset should be.

I think that's a great compromise to your suggestion and will do what you need, right?

-swissi
That's exactly what I'd like. Actually it's more elegant.
ChrisAttebery
Posts: 77
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2020 2:20 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: 4031
Location: Gilroy, CA
Contact:

Re: ProbeApp V2: The ultimate solution for Tool Height Offsets

Post by ChrisAttebery »

BTW: I finally received my Renishaw MP-3 today. I tried locating a corner in 3D, probing a bore, finding an angle, etc. You really did a nice job with the routines.
Muzzer
Posts: 450
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2018 2:52 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: 38D269594F9C-0110180512
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: ProbeApp V2: The ultimate solution for Tool Height Offsets

Post by Muzzer »

You really need a DTI with very low preload to set up the runout of the probe accurately. It needs to operate with less force than the probe tip takes to move.

I also use the probe at the same spindle orientation to give a slightly more consistent behaviour.

The probe was one of the best investments I made for my machine. It transformed my accuracy!
Post Reply