Oak CNC controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: 1702
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No

Hercus Turret Macro

Post by Upnorth »

I have a Hercus compulathe currently running on Mach 3. I have never used the turret with Mach 3. I'm very happy with the acorn I put on the mill so I am interested in putting an acorn on the lathe as well. Here is what I want to know. Has anyone wrote a macro that would control this turret? I'm not very good at writing in computer language.

From what I can tell this is how the turret works. To select tool position it can only revolve in one direction I will call this forward. It rotates forward until it gets an index pulse from the home micro switch. This indicates home. If home is the required position it would not stop and reverse for a short interval. There is a separate switch that pulses every time it passes another slot position. When the turret arrives at the requested position it stops then reverses. It mechanically locks and another micro switch indicates the turret is locked. This ends the tool change. The turret has 8 tool positions. It would be good if the macro knew the tool position so it did not have to go past home every time.

I can probably edit a macro that is close but starting from scratch is not something I want to do.
cnckeith
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
DC3IOB: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes

Re: Hercus Turret Macro

Post by cnckeith »

Need support? READ THIS POST first. http://centroidcncforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=60&t=1043
All Acorn Documentation is located here: viewtopic.php?f=60&t=3397
Answers to common questions: viewforum.php?f=63
and here viewforum.php?f=61
Gear we use but don't sell. https://www.centroidcnc.com/centroid_di ... _gear.html
martyscncgarage

Post by martyscncgarage »