No servo Motion

All things related to the Centroid Acorn CNC Controller

Moderator: cnckeith

HMTC
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2020 1:13 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: 190201

Re: No servo Motion

Post by HMTC »

I have watched this several times. During my desktop start-up - there were problems getting the motors to operate. While connecting with Gecko to solve the issue -p being it was taking a bit of time to make dicovery. I moved the componets out to the lathe - need the desktop (Autocad station). Leaving the drives dissconected. So after multiple calls - things were changed from the video. ports 8 and 9 wires were switched - port 5 is open - then one motor was getting power and lights all went green, found a pod to be ajusted on the non working drive, now holds spindle from turning. Shows both motors are getting power - just receiving no signal for rotation. I then added the prox switches - maybe it needed to go home. Still no rotations. Sometimes when I turn on the machine, I see the Dell name then goes to black screen. I need to restart - eventually it comes back on to desktop with icons. Did this to me on the test runs on the desk start-up too. I have 2 other machines with centroid - they don't have this problem - just tunr on once.
martyscncgarage
Posts: 7131
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2017 12:01 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Location: Mesa, AZ

Re: No servo Motion

Post by martyscncgarage »

It seems to me you need to drop back to a basic benchtest and make sure your PC and Acorn can communicate reliably.
You have to be sure your G320X and motor/encoder are configured properly or no amount of monkeying around with Acorn is going to get it going.
I do not recommend novice users try and setup DC Brush servos.

If I were you, I would consider buying some Leadshine Closed Loop Steppers. CNC4PC.com is a dealer and Leadshine USA will drop ship them.

Just because a machine came with DC Brush servos (old technology now) does not mean you should pursue trying to use them.

Marty
Reminder, for support please follow this post: viewtopic.php?f=20&t=383
We can't "SEE" what you see...
Mesa, AZ
tblough
Posts: 1259
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 10:03 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: Yes
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: Yes
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: 100505
100327
102696
103432
7804732B977B-0624192192
Location: Boston, MA
Contact:

Re: No servo Motion

Post by tblough »

It also sounds like you have a PC problem. Acorn in no way will affect the PC booting. Seeing the Dell logo and then black screen means Windows did not boot correctly. Getting your PC fixed should be your first task before trying to trouble shoot your CNC parts.
Cheers,

Tom
Confidence is the feeling you have before you fully understand the situation.
I have CDO. It's like OCD, but the letters are where they should be.
Post Reply