No servo Motion

All things related to the Centroid Acorn CNC Controller

Moderator: cnckeith

HMTC
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2020 1:13 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: 190201

No servo Motion

Post by HMTC »

I have the Acorn all wired to the Gecko 320X Drives (2). There is power to the motors - hard to turn shafts when on. THe lights on the drives are working correctly. Tracing back to the acorn - the terminals are all conductive to each other. IN5, IN6, IN7, IN8, 24IN, ST1, DR1, EN1, com, ST2, DR2, and com are all cunductive to a single wire coming from the Acorn.
martyscncgarage
Posts: 7131
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2017 12:01 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Location: Mesa, AZ

Re: No servo Motion

Post by martyscncgarage »

HMTC wrote: Wed May 20, 2020 10:52 am I have the Acorn all wired to the Gecko 320X Drives (2). There is power to the motors - hard to turn shafts when on. THe lights on the drives are working correctly. Tracing back to the acorn - the terminals are all conductive to each other. IN5, IN6, IN7, IN8, 24IN, ST1, DR1, EN1, com, ST2, DR2, and com are all cunductive to a single wire coming from the Acorn.
Not enough information. You will get better information the more detail you provide.
PLEASE follow this post: viewtopic.php?f=60&t=1043

We don't have any idea what machine you are working with. Is this a new build? All new parts, reusing parts (Servos/drives)
What Centroid Schematic did you use?
Please post screen shots of your Wizard pages
Post a report (F7 Utilites, F7 Create Report)
Post pictures of your control, Acorn, 320X wiring etc. (Use Windows 10 SNIPping tool)

We can't "SEE what you SEE"

Marty
Reminder, for support please follow this post: viewtopic.php?f=20&t=383
We can't "SEE" what you see...
Mesa, AZ
HMTC
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2020 1:13 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: 190201

Re: No servo Motion

Post by HMTC »

Rhino St/6 lathe. Purchased mechanical desktop unit. All controls are new.
Bought 2 new servo motors X and Z axises. New drives Gecko 320X's with encoders from Automation Technology. Using Acorn Connections to Gecko G230V Stepper Drive.
I know you used a form letter to dump on here - but my problem in continuity.
I disconnect 1 wire from the drive and - let's say everything - on the Acorn is conductive. Nothing is isolated.
I have since made plastic stand-offs, to find no improvement. I disconnect my common leads that go from the drive to the Acorn (from the Acorn) and then the commons and the 1 wire are conductive.
My motors power up - I can't rotate the motor shafts manually. Neither can I rotate them by power. Worked with Gecko to some length to tune in the drives.

link to video on You Tube
martyscncgarage
Posts: 7131
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2017 12:01 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Location: Mesa, AZ

Re: No servo Motion

Post by martyscncgarage »

Have no idea what you are doing. That looks like a test lamp to me, does it have a battery to drive the lamp?
Don't make assumptions....
ACORN is also powered off (probably a good thing)

DID you complete the basic bench test first?
Acorn is communicating to the PC?
AND YES, you need to provide fresh report and follow this post:
viewtopic.php?f=20&t=383


You should be connecting those drives to the DB25 using a DB25 male break out board.
Try and use the attached schematic

Use these documents for reference:

https://www.geckodrive.com/amfile/file/ ... uct_id/21/
https://www.geckodrive.com/amfile/file/ ... uct_id/21/


Connect ONE DRIVE and ONE Motor to the DB25 and get it to move before connecting anything else up to ACORN.

Marty
Attachments
S14978-ACORN_rev4_GECKO_G203V_STEPPER_DRIVE.pdf
(193.2 KiB) Downloaded 30 times
Reminder, for support please follow this post: viewtopic.php?f=20&t=383
We can't "SEE" what you see...
Mesa, AZ
Richards
Posts: 450
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2018 9:01 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Location: South Jordan, UT

Re: No servo Motion

Post by Richards »

Terminal 5 on the G320x is the Error/Reset signal. It must be pulled to +5VDC for at least 1 second each time the drive is turned on to enable the drive. That signal also outputs 0VDC if the drive has an error. The Gecko manual states that you can connect terminal 5 to terminal 7. I would connect terminal 5 to +5VDC through a 2.2k 1/4w pullup resistor. That way, Reset is held HIGH, but the resistor will allow the drive to pull the signal to 0VDC if an error occurs.

Pullup resistor circuit:
G320x_t5.png
G320x_t5.png (5.08 KiB) Viewed 516 times
-Mike Richards
HMTC
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2020 1:13 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: 190201

Re: No servo Motion

Post by HMTC »

https://photos.google.com/share/AF1QipN ... FkbUIzZlh3

I do reset the drives on start-up - switch shown in schematic
martyscncgarage
Posts: 7131
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2017 12:01 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Location: Mesa, AZ

Re: No servo Motion

Post by martyscncgarage »

HMTC wrote: Mon Jan 04, 2021 9:23 pm https://photos.google.com/share/AF1QipN ... FkbUIzZlh3

I do reset the drives on start-up - switch shown in schematic
Your original post is so old. Did you resolve things or are you still looking for help?
Marty
Reminder, for support please follow this post: viewtopic.php?f=20&t=383
We can't "SEE" what you see...
Mesa, AZ
HMTC
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2020 1:13 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: 190201

Re: No servo Motion

Post by HMTC »

Been ill - told liver may only last a year. Been bedridden. Acupuncture has saved me. Feeling more like myself again. Back to trying to get motion from motors. I've never had a drink ever. LIfe's bad jokes.
martyscncgarage
Posts: 7131
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2017 12:01 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Location: Mesa, AZ

Re: No servo Motion

Post by martyscncgarage »

HMTC wrote: Tue Jan 12, 2021 6:19 pm Been ill - told liver may only last a year. Been bedridden. Acupuncture has saved me. Feeling more like myself again. Back to trying to get motion from motors. I've never had a drink ever. LIfe's bad jokes.
I'm sorry to hear that, but great you are feeling better.
Marty
Reminder, for support please follow this post: viewtopic.php?f=20&t=383
We can't "SEE" what you see...
Mesa, AZ
martyscncgarage
Posts: 7131
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2017 12:01 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Location: Mesa, AZ

Re: No servo Motion

Post by martyscncgarage »

I trust you have seen this video:


Followed the manual and set the drive up correctly according to the encoder used and wired it correctly:
https://www.geckodrive.com/amfile/file/ ... uct_id/21/

USING the DB25 Breakout board for step/dir/com signals
Connect Gecko G320X Terminal 10 to DB25 #3 (Z axis DIR)
Connect Gecko G320X Terminal 11 to DB25 #2 (Z Axis Step)
Connect Gecko G320X Terminal 12 to DB25 #18 (COM)

Connect Gecko G320X Terminal 10 to DB25 #5 (X axis DIR)
Connect Gecko G320X Terminal 11 to DB25 #4 (X Axis Step)
Connect Gecko G320X Terminal 12 to DB25 #19 (COM)

(NOTE: STEP 1 and DIR 1 is the Z axis if you are in LATHE and it appears you are)
STEP 2 and DIR 2 is the X axis)

It appears you have to apply +5VDC to the Error/Reset Pin on power up MOMENTARILY
You MAY be able to assign an output DriveResetOut and use the +5VDC on the Acorn Power Supply to accomplish this task.

Give this a go (AND REMEMBER ST1/DIR1=Z AXIS and ST2/DR2=X AXIS)

Marty
Reminder, for support please follow this post: viewtopic.php?f=20&t=383
We can't "SEE" what you see...
Mesa, AZ
Post Reply