Oak CNC controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No

inches per minute increase in corners

Post by MattTheCutter »

You will quickly realize that I am not a professional so most likely I am missing something obvious.

Machine is home built CNC router. Clearpath servos, dedicated computer setup according to the centroid documentation running CNC12.

I design parts and produce the G code using Fusion 360. Homing, auto square, etc works fine.

My problem is the machine is very jerky without smoothing on and it speeds up when it is cutting curves. I thing the jerky motion is from speeding up whenever a change of direction happens. I set all of the smothing setting to their lowest slider position and turned on smoothing and it runs more smoothly. But it still accelerates on curves.

I have tried to search for a solution but havent come up with anything. I dont know if it is the fusion360, clearpath servos, cnc12, or the acorn board. I have put alot of time into fusion trying to see if there is something in there that would cause this but have not found anything. I am only cutting using 2D in wood because the jerking and accelorating changes breaks bits.

The servos are tuned properly and set according to their manual so that has left me looking at cnc12 and the acorn board. I have attached a report and will supply any other information needed.

I still suspect that the problem could be in any of the components but decided to start here.

Thanks in advance, Matt
Attachments
report_38D2697529D2-0611180975_2020-03-18_11-46-00.zip
(317.68 KiB) Downloaded 60 times
cncsnw

Re: inches per minute increase in corners

Post by cncsnw »

What feedrates are you using in your CNC programs?

When you dry-run the job (e.g. with no tool in place, or with the Z axis part zero set up above the material), with the feedrate override at 100%, what numbers do you see in the feedrate display in the status window at the upper right?