Oak CNC controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: 2962
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No

Help with Spindle wiring identification

Post by Shinosky »

Hey everyone. I am new here. I just purchased an Acorn in preparation of upgrading my ShopSabre 23 with new motors and controller. I have some experience doing this kind of thing but I am not "really" an electronics guy. I have been going over the schematics and planning out the new control box. I have a pretty good grasp on how to proceed until I took a look at my spindle. I was expecting a single power cable running to it from the VFD. There are an additional 2 wires. One I'm assuming is the 24V power for the electric fan. The other I am not certain about. I suspect a sensor but I am not sure. The control box is a bit cramped and jumbled so I can't trace the wires easily. That and the fact that there is no breakout board in the control box. It all runs back to a daughterboard in the PC.I was hoping somebody here may be able to identify it for me. Trying to identify this from the literaure I possess has been futile. I need to know it's function and how it ties back into the board. The existing control software is WinCNC. It is a solid controller but they make it very difficult to upgrade anything or do anything out of the ordinary. That's one of the reasons I am switching over to the Acorn. I know this is probably a small thing for some but I am learning as I go. Thanks for any help.....Andy
Attachments
IMG_7463.JPG
Gary Campbell
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Plasma CNC Controller: No
AcornSix CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Hickory CNC Controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: Acorn 238

Re: Help with Spindle wiring identification

Post by Gary Campbell »

The one marked "sensor?" Is for sure a 24v fan connection. The other may be, and I repeat, may be, the internal thermistor. Only knowing the other ends connection, or having a wiring diagram would tell you for sure