Oak CNC controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No

hurco hawk 5 retrofit

Post by jtroedel8487 »

Hey guys, I bought this machine a couple years ago for my garage at the house and have been using it to do some over flow work for the company I work for. When I originally bought the machine it needed a turcite replacement on both the x and y axis and the control would not boot. fixed the turcite and played around with the control bios settings only to find that the hdd settings needed to be changed. machines been worked fairly well for its age (1997) but have found limitations that the older control and software have. Also really need to have one of the servos rebuilt (DC Servos) which is not cheap! I debated long and hard on retrofitting the machine and finally decided to bite the bullet and give it a shot! I am a machinist by trade and not an electrical engineer or even electrician so as I have been researching all of this, its been a steep learning curve but im started to finally make sense of some of it. I thought I would share the build on the forum for much needed help and also in hopes that this thread will help somebody else that goes this route.