M01 - Optional Stop With User Prompt (resolved)

All things related to the Centroid Acorn CNC Controller

Moderator: cnckeith

Post Reply
mrichards
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2019 12:05 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No

M01 - Optional Stop With User Prompt (resolved)

Post by mrichards »

Hi,
Using V-Carve Pro 9, I have modified my post processor to add a M01 (optional stop) at the beginning of each toolpath that doesn't require a tool change. Now I can halt execution to screw down parts, re position clamps, whatever. Works as expected.

Now; I'm trying to add notes that pop up for the operator with the M01 stop but cant seem to get it to work.
In V-carve, the post processor has the ability to include notes with each toolpath.
The Acorn manual mentions that comments after a colon (:) are displayed (see 11.2.12 : | Visible Comment Identifier) .

I tried;

Code: Select all

N100 ; Optional Stop
N110 M1
N120 :THIS IS A NOTE
N130 ; Start Spindle
N140  S13000 M03
ETC...
also tried putting it on the same line:

Code: Select all

N100 ; Optional Stop
N110 M1 :THIS IS A NOTE
N130 ; Start Spindle
N140  S13000 M03
ETC...
Neither worked.
I'm wondering if I need to use a M225 to pop up an actual dialog box and somehow test for optional stops being active (however I don't see a parameter to query for that)? I wouldn't want to pop the dialog if M01 is off.

Any Ideas?
Thanks.
Last edited by mrichards on Fri Jun 14, 2019 9:07 am, edited 1 time in total.
------------
Mark
cnc_smith
Posts: 237
Joined: Mon Nov 20, 2017 10:13 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
Location: Frenchville, PA

Re: M01 - Optional Stop With User Prompt

Post by cnc_smith »

Mark,


The ; can be used any where on the line. The : can only be used at the beginning of the line or just after the "N" number.

On the line with the M1 use the ; after the M1. This will display the commitment with the M1.
Dana

When requesting support, please ALWAYS post a current report.
Need support? READ THIS POST first. http://centroidcncforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=60&t=1043
All Acorn Documentation is located here: viewtopic.php?f=60&t=3397
Answers to common questions: viewforum.php?f=63
and here viewforum.php?f=61
swissi
Posts: 573
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2018 11:15 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: 985DADEB24D5-0309180716
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No

Re: M01 - Optional Stop With User Prompt

Post by swissi »

Mark
another way would be to use the "Skips" command.
F4 - Skips On/Off This function toggles the block skip feature. When block skipping is on, G-code lines that start with a forward slash character ‘/’ are skipped, i.e., they are not processed. Note that because of the way a job is processed (in a pre-processed buffered fashion) the effect of this key may be delayed if you press it while a job is running. The On or Off label indicates the state to which the /Skips feature will toggle to when pressed. It does not indicate the current state. The current state is indicated in the user window above.
Let the post processor write a line like this before the Tool Path:

Code: Select all

/ M200 "My message goes here"
As the command says, you can skip blocks starting with a "/" by turning Skips On (Run[F4] -> /Skips On[F4]).

-swissi
If you are using Fusion 360, check out my CNC12 specific Post Processor
If you are using a Touch Probe, Tool Touch Off Device or a Triple Corner Finder Plate, check out my ProbeApp

Contact me at swissi2000@gmail.com
mrichards
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2019 12:05 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No

Re: M01 - Optional Stop With User Prompt

Post by mrichards »

The skips function with M200 worked perfect,
Thanks.
------------
Mark
ShawnM
Posts: 2214
Joined: Fri May 24, 2019 8:34 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: 7804734C6498-0401191832
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
Location: Clearwater, FL

Re: M01 - Optional Stop With User Prompt

Post by ShawnM »

mrichards wrote: Fri Jun 14, 2019 9:06 am The skips function with M200 worked perfect,
Thanks.
Mark,
Can you share how and where you modified the Vectric PP to add in this optional stop? Would this be in the "new_segment" section? I have 3 cut files I could use this for.

Thanks,
Shawn
mrichards
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2019 12:05 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No

Re: M01 - Optional Stop With User Prompt (resolved)

Post by mrichards »

Hi Shawn,
Sorry, I missed this question back in June.

Yes, I modified the New Segment section as follows:

Code: Select all

+---------------------------------------------------
+  Commands output for a new segment - toolpath
+  with same toolnumber but maybe different feedrates
+---------------------------------------------------

begin NEW_SEGMENT

"[N] ; ---------------------------------------------"
"[N] ; New Segment: T[T] - Speed:[S]"
"[N] ; ---------------------------------------------"
"[N] ; OPTIONAL SKIP F4"
"/[N] ; Stop Spindle"
"/[N] M05"
"/[N] M200 [34][TOOLPATH_NAME] \n [TOOLPATH_NOTES] \n PRESS CYCLE START TO CONTINUE[34]"
"/[N] ; Start Spindle"
"/[N] M03 [S] "
"[N] ; ---------------------------------------------"
------------
Mark
ShawnM
Posts: 2214
Joined: Fri May 24, 2019 8:34 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: 7804734C6498-0401191832
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
Location: Clearwater, FL

Re: M01 - Optional Stop With User Prompt (resolved)

Post by ShawnM »

Thanks Mark, I ended up manually adding a m code that I use to park my machine to send it to the park position at the back of my table and then added a M200 message with the details and then a "press cycle start to continue" in the g code. It was only for 3 cut files I use. I may try your code in my PP to see how it works. Thanks again.

Shawn
Post Reply