Config Acorn for software auto square with combo limits/home switches

All things related to the Centroid Acorn CNC Controller

Moderator: cnckeith

Post Reply
mrichards
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2019 12:05 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No

Config Acorn for software auto square with combo limits/home switches

Post by mrichards »

Trying to set up master / slave gantry with Auto Homing and Auto Squaring with Software axis motor Pairing using my limit switches as home. I don't have separate home switches.
It works great setting up the limit inputs as HOMEALL and SLAVEDHOMEINPUT. But now I loose my limit switch functionality.

I believe this can be done by editing the cncm.hom file. I poked around in the macros, but the answer was not obvious.

I assume it involves modifying the code below to point at different inputs? I couldn't find the documentation for the hashtag values (#21401, etc.)

Could someone point me in the right direction?

Thanks.

Code: Select all

;
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
; Filename: mfunc71.mac - Axes Home Tripped Check (Used in Paired Axes Auto Squaring)
; M71 macro
; Description: Checks axes for tripped home. 
; Notes:
;-------------------------------------------------------------------------------

;#21301-#21308 - Home axes 1-8 
;#21401-#21408 + Home axes 1-8 

#103 = 0 ;1 = Paired axis configuration error.
#115 = 0 ;DEFINE <AXIS_LIMIT_TRIPPED>
#111 = 0 ;DEFINE AXIS_1_LIMIT_ASSIGNED> 
#112 = 0 ;DEFINE AXIS_2_LIMIT_ASSIGNED> 
#113 = 0 ;DEFINE AXIS_3_LIMIT_ASSIGNED> 
#114 = 0 ;DEFINE AXIS_4_LIMIT_ASSIGNED> 
#100 = 0; Time to display M225 message in seconds. 0 = Wait for Cycle Start
#101 = 3; Time to display temporary messages

DEFINE <AXIS_1_HOME_PLUS> #21401
DEFINE <AXIS_2_HOME_PLUS> #21402
DEFINE <AXIS_3_HOME_PLUS> #21403
DEFINE <AXIS_4_HOME_PLUS> #21404
DEFINE <AXIS_1_HOME_MINUS> #21301
DEFINE <AXIS_2_HOME_MINUS> #21302
DEFINE <AXIS_3_HOME_MINUS> #21303
DEFINE <AXIS_4_HOME_MINUS> #21304
DEFINE <CONFIGURATION_ERROR> #103

DEFINE <AXIS_1_LIMIT_ASSIGNED> #111
DEFINE <AXIS_2_LIMIT_ASSIGNED> #112
DEFINE <AXIS_3_LIMIT_ASSIGNED> #113
DEFINE <AXIS_4_LIMIT_ASSIGNED> #114
DEFINE <HOME_SWITCH_TRIPPED> #115
------------
Mark
tblough
Posts: 3072
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 10:03 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: 100505
100327
102696
103432
7804732B977B-0624192192
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
Location: Boston, MA
Contact:

Re: Config Acorn for software auto square with combo limits/home switches

Post by tblough »

CNC12 PLC Programming Manual has info on the variables.
Cheers,

Tom
Confidence is the feeling you have before you fully understand the situation.
I have CDO. It's like OCD, but the letters are where they should be.
cnckeith
Posts: 7166
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 4:23 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
DC3IOB: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
Contact:

Re: Config Acorn for software auto square with combo limits/home switches

Post by cnckeith »

Upgrade to v4.18 and follow the instructions in the Axis Pairing Guide found here.
https://www.centroidcnc.com/centroid_di ... _guide.pdf

get auto squaring working with HomeAll and SlavedHomeInput as per the guide above and video below...

then add limits for the other side of the travel if you like using "LimitAll"

in either case be sure to set up the software travel limits!

auto square with limit all 1.PNG
auto square with limit all 2.PNG
auto square with limit all 3.PNG

https://youtu.be/GES0Lruycaw

https://youtu.be/GES0Lruycaw
Need support? READ THIS POST first. http://centroidcncforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=60&t=1043
All Acorn Documentation is located here: viewtopic.php?f=60&t=3397
Answers to common questions: viewforum.php?f=63
and here viewforum.php?f=61
Gear we use but don't sell. https://www.centroidcnc.com/centroid_di ... _gear.html
cbb1962
Posts: 349
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2018 10:04 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: 38D2695C8301-0122180576
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
Location: NW Arkansas

Re: Config Acorn for software auto square with combo limits/home switches

Post by cbb1962 »

Keith, I really appreciate all the new videos!!

I am preparing to Acorn-ize a NEW-CNC 4x8 router with a rotary axis. I know that in order to use the Rotary I will have to hardware pair the Y-axis (no auto-squaring.) I anticipate that I will only use the rotary axis <5% of the time - if that.

After seeing the ease of reverting to a previous report file with V4.18, and watching the auto-squaring video I had an idea:

Would it be possible to wire the motors both ways? I.E. Have the motor inputs change via a set of switches or an additional small PLC. Hardware paired + Rotary vs Software paired and no Rotary, and then go into CNC12 and change to the corresponding report file? Could this be done? Has anyone done this??
Clint in NW Arkansas

The more I learn, the more I realize I don't know...
cnckeith
Posts: 7166
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 4:23 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
DC3IOB: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
Contact:

Re: Config Acorn for software auto square with combo limits/home switches

Post by cnckeith »

sure..anything is possible.:-) :D :shock:
Need support? READ THIS POST first. http://centroidcncforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=60&t=1043
All Acorn Documentation is located here: viewtopic.php?f=60&t=3397
Answers to common questions: viewforum.php?f=63
and here viewforum.php?f=61
Gear we use but don't sell. https://www.centroidcnc.com/centroid_di ... _gear.html
mrichards
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2019 12:05 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No

Re: Config Acorn for software auto square with combo limits/home switches

Post by mrichards »

cnckeith wrote: Tue May 21, 2019 3:24 pm Upgrade to v4.18 and follow the instructions in the Axis Pairing Guide found here.
https://www.centroidcnc.com/centroid_di ... _guide.pdf
get auto squaring working with HomeAll and SlavedHomeInput as per the guide above and video below...
then add limits for the other side of the travel if you like using "LimitAll"
in either case be sure to set up the software travel limits!

Hi Keith,
It's all set up and working great, but I gave up on the LimitAll as I have no more I/O available, and the software limits seem to be reliable.
Is there any way to have the control recognize a home switch as a limit during a move? (or vice-versa; have the homing routine recognize the LIMITALL input for the home switch of the master of the pair) My home switches are at the end of travel, so there is no reason I would violate them once past the homing routine.

I considered trying to modify the homing macros, but realized it's over my head.
------------
Mark
cnckeith
Posts: 7166
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 4:23 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
DC3IOB: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
Contact:

Re: Config Acorn for software auto square with combo limits/home switches

Post by cnckeith »

mrichards wrote: Wed May 22, 2019 4:38 pm
cnckeith wrote: Tue May 21, 2019 3:24 pm Upgrade to v4.18 and follow the instructions in the Axis Pairing Guide found here.
https://www.centroidcnc.com/centroid_di ... _guide.pdf
get auto squaring working with HomeAll and SlavedHomeInput as per the guide above and video below...
then add limits for the other side of the travel if you like using "LimitAll"
in either case be sure to set up the software travel limits!

Hi Keith,
It's all set up and working great, but I gave up on the LimitAll as I have no more I/O available, and the software limits seem to be reliable.
Is there any way to have the control recognize a home switch as a limit during a move? (or vice-versa; have the homing routine recognize the LIMITALL input for the home switch of the master of the pair) My home switches are at the end of travel, so there is no reason I would violate them once past the homing routine.

I considered trying to modify the homing macros, but realized it's over my head.
sure with some programming anything can be done :D right now auto squaring generated by the Wizard works just like the instructions say it does. :D
we will circle back around to Wizard Generated Auto Squaring at some point and add in support for more customization. Right now using Wizard generated Auto Squaring with HomeAll, SlavedHomeInput and LimitAll is the way to go and works very well for the majority of machine tools.
Need support? READ THIS POST first. http://centroidcncforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=60&t=1043
All Acorn Documentation is located here: viewtopic.php?f=60&t=3397
Answers to common questions: viewforum.php?f=63
and here viewforum.php?f=61
Gear we use but don't sell. https://www.centroidcnc.com/centroid_di ... _gear.html
mrichards
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2019 12:05 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No

Re: Config Acorn for software auto square with combo limits/home switches

Post by mrichards »

Got it, thanks.

By the way, very impressed with Acorn, thanks for all the hard work.
------------
Mark
Post Reply