ATC M6 Macro ToolRackOut not working <resolved, outputs flipped>

All things related to the Centroid Acorn CNC Controller

Moderator: cnckeith

Post Reply
swiehe
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Dec 29, 2024 12:32 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Plasma CNC Controller: No
AcornSix CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Hickory CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: Acorn-6904
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No

ATC M6 Macro ToolRackOut not working <resolved, outputs flipped>

Post by swiehe »

Background:

I have a 4x8 machine that I have retrofitted with a retractable tool rack/bar that holds the forks for the tool holders. There is a pneumatic cylinder / solenoid that in it's normal state (off) keeps the tool bar retracted (= off the work surface). When the solenoid is activated, the bar extends over the work surface allowing the ATC spindle to grab the appropriate tool.

When I set up the outputs in the Wizard I assigned Output 47 to ToolRackOut. I didn't assign an output to ToolRackIn as when 47 is turned off, the solenoid deactivates and pressurizes the return side of the pneumatic cylinder causing the ToolRack to pull in.

I can manually move the tool rack with an M94/M95 command but I have manipulate M94/95 via /80 and /81 as the PLC won't move the rack if it thinks the bar is out or in. It's not a simple M94/81 to get it out and M95/81 to get it to return.

Since it seemed overly complicated using the ToolRackOut/In output setting, and I couldn't get it to work, I changed Output 47 to M94M95121 and modified the MFun6.mac to add lines M94 /121 M95/121 to move the ToolRack as needed. I left the M94 M95 /80 /81 commands in the file assuming the PLC would still be checking their state but the movement would be via the M94/121 call.

The problem:

Even with the macro edits as described above, the tool rack will not extend at the beginning of the tool change. It only extends after the tool change as it's moving to the TouchPlate which is mounted at the end of the ToolRack. (Yes, I know not ideal but it's what I have at the moment.)

Yes, I have moved the slider in the Wizard to indicate I'm using a custom M6 macro.

M94 /121 M95/121 works as expected moving the tool bar.

There were two other copies of the M6 macro in the ATC folders. I renamed them to make sure they weren't being used.

Report attached. Thanks in advance for any assistance.

Steve
Attachments
report_80F5B5B8EDFA-0202236904_2025-01-21_12-51-44.zip
(1 MiB) Downloaded 6 times


cnckeith
Site Admin
Posts: 8841
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 4:23 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
DC3IOB: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
Contact:

Re: ATC M6 Macro ToolRackOut not working

Post by cnckeith »

got some photos you can share of the machine and ATC? would be very helpful, make a photo album and put link in thread.
Need support? READ THIS POST first. http://centroidcncforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=60&t=1043
All Acorn Documentation is located here: viewtopic.php?f=60&t=3397
Answers to common questions: viewforum.php?f=63
and here viewforum.php?f=61
Gear we use but don't sell. https://www.centroidcnc.com/centroid_di ... _gear.html


cnckeith
Site Admin
Posts: 8841
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 4:23 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
DC3IOB: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
Contact:

Re: ATC M6 Macro ToolRackOut not working

Post by cnckeith »

can you retry and use just the Wizard to configure the rack atc ( to get to a base line) and describe any issue at that point and post report.zip so we can figure out what stopped you in the first place. :-)
Need support? READ THIS POST first. http://centroidcncforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=60&t=1043
All Acorn Documentation is located here: viewtopic.php?f=60&t=3397
Answers to common questions: viewforum.php?f=63
and here viewforum.php?f=61
Gear we use but don't sell. https://www.centroidcnc.com/centroid_di ... _gear.html


cncsnw
Community Expert
Posts: 4491
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2010 5:48 pm

Re: ATC M6 Macro ToolRackOut not working

Post by cncsnw »

You may need to modify the PLC program to use a single-coil (spring-return) solenoid.

Also, this is a good illustration of why "MoveSomethingIn" and "MoveSomethingOut" are not the best names to use for outputs. "In" and "Out" often mean different things to different people. Personally I prefer "Extend" and "Retract".


Allin1Chris
PLC Expert
Posts: 229
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2019 12:53 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
DC3IOB: Yes
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes

Re: ATC M6 Macro ToolRackOut not working

Post by Allin1Chris »

The PLC for the Tool Rack is straight forward.

Code: Select all

;==============================================================================
                              ToolRackInOutStage
;==============================================================================
;ToolRack In (Torwards Spindle)
IF M80_SV THEN SET ToolRackIn_O, RST ToolRackOut_O

;Echo Input to Memorybit for Macros
IF ToolRackIsIn_I THEN (ToolRackInState_M)

;ToolRack Out (Away from Spindle)
IF M81_SV THEN SET ToolRackOut_O, RST ToolRackIn_O

;Echo Input to Memorybit for Macros
IF ToolRackIsOut_I THEN (ToolRackOutState_M)
You may of had the outputs flipped which is why it was moving the toolrack at the end of the tool change when it was trying to move it away from spindle.
Last edited by Allin1Chris on Wed Jan 22, 2025 10:34 am, edited 3 times in total.
When requesting support READ THIS POST first. http://centroidcncforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=60&t=1043

Please ALWAYS post a FRESH report. To make a report: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ecvg0VJp1oQ.

(We pride ourselves on providing timely solid technical support but, without good information we may not be able to help and/or reply until such information is posted.)

Centroid PLC Tutorial Videos


ShawnM
Community Expert
Posts: 2922
Joined: Fri May 24, 2019 8:34 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: 7804734C6498-0401191832
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
Location: Clearwater, FL

Re: ATC M6 Macro ToolRackOut not working

Post by ShawnM »

cncsnw wrote: Wed Jan 22, 2025 12:42 am You may need to modify the PLC program to use a single-coil (spring-return) solenoid.

Also, this is a good illustration of why "MoveSomethingIn" and "MoveSomethingOut" are not the best names to use for outputs. "In" and "Out" often mean different things to different people. Personally I prefer "Extend" and "Retract".
Not necessarily, I have 10 pneumatic pop up pins on a 5x12 router table using a spring return air valve. Turn the output on to supply 24 volts to activate the coil on the solenoid and they pop up and turn it off and they retract. His tool rack should operate the same way if it's the same type of valve. No PLC edit required.

And yes IN and OUT have very different meanings for various applications and is a poor choice of terminology for moving something.


swiehe
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Dec 29, 2024 12:32 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Plasma CNC Controller: No
AcornSix CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Hickory CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: Acorn-6904
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No

Re: ATC M6 Macro ToolRackOut not working

Post by swiehe »

Funny enough, if you use the software as designed it works. :roll:

Chris you were correct. I had the outputs backwards. Once flipped it worked fine.

This begs the question is there a place that has definitions for the Output and Input terms in the Wizard? I guess I should have been able to figure it out based on the macro, but it would have saved some cycles.

No need to modify the PLC. The retract happens automatically when the ToolRackIn is turned off.

Thanks all for the help.

Steve


Post Reply