inputs not functional < resolved, follow the schematic! >

All things related to the Centroid Acorn CNC Controller

Moderator: cnckeith

Post Reply
GREGT2278
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jun 10, 2024 8:40 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Plasma CNC Controller: No
AcornSix CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Hickory CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: 5445381B8677-0126247905
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No

inputs not functional < resolved, follow the schematic! >

Post by GREGT2278 »

I have a newly installed acorn and am bringing it up with a 3 axis mill retrofit. So far no major issues until now. I'm installing home switches in series, the switches are new (NC) and fully function, a volt meter set to ohms reads ~0.3ohm when not tripped and open when tripped. The board however only sees an open circuit. Regardless what I do the LED light on input are all red. even a solid copper wire directly from gnd to an input doesnt trip it. Any ideas? :?:

-switches are good
-no loose connections
-NC switches wired in series per sample schematic
-everything else functional
-I set the switches up in the wizard using Marty's video as an example
Attachments
report_5445381B8677-0126247905_2024-06-10_17-47-23.zip
(904.88 KiB) Downloaded 1 time
avp
Posts: 138
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2021 12:25 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Plasma CNC Controller: No
AcornSix CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Hickory CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: E062346A1C67-0716214939
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
Location: New York

Re: inputs not functional

Post by avp »

Do you have the inputs fed with 24v on the 24v terminal?
GREGT2278
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jun 10, 2024 8:40 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Plasma CNC Controller: No
AcornSix CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Hickory CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: 5445381B8677-0126247905
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No

Re: inputs not functional

Post by GREGT2278 »

HA!

Nope, I somehow missed that and assumed they were internally connected to 24V. not sure why they aren't..
eng199
Posts: 390
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2014 11:29 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
DC3IOB: Yes
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
Location: Howard, PA

Re: inputs not functional

Post by eng199 »

GREGT2278 wrote: Mon Jun 10, 2024 9:03 pm assumed they were internally connected to 24V. not sure why they aren't..
In case someone wants to use an additional power supply and have true electrically isolated inputs.
Post Reply