Tool OFFSET MISMATCH Problem <SOLVED>

All things related to the Centroid Acorn CNC Controller

Moderator: cnckeith

lavrgs
Posts: 255
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2018 11:22 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Location: Oregon

Tool OFFSET MISMATCH Problem <SOLVED>

Post by lavrgs »

I'm having an issue where T4 thinks it has a height offset H8. Not sure where height info is coming from. I have measured all the tools for this job prior to starting. The face mill -T13 worked as expected but after changing to what is supposed to be an 1/8 endmill - T8 the program seems to think it's T4 Fortunately passed above the part.
I'm using Fusion 360 for CAM and had created posts for this sequence that worked before. Apparently I've done something to confuse myself...
Attachments
tool problem.JPG
report_402E71CADC40-0323214550_2022-05-14_13-47-23.zip
(700.73 KiB) Downloaded 2 times
Last edited by lavrgs on Sun May 15, 2022 10:22 am, edited 3 times in total.
tblough
Posts: 2147
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 10:03 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: Yes
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: Yes
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: 100505
100327
102696
103432
7804732B977B-0624192192
Location: Boston, MA
Contact:

Re: Tool Problem

Post by tblough »

Tool offsets and heights are called out in the g-code. Post the file you are trying to cut.
Cheers,

Tom
Confidence is the feeling you have before you fully understand the situation.
I have CDO. It's like OCD, but the letters are where they should be.
lavrgs
Posts: 255
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2018 11:22 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Location: Oregon

Re: Tool Problem

Post by lavrgs »

Here's the file ...I should have known...sorry
Attachments
esq-ops1-3.nc
(456.16 KiB) Downloaded 7 times
lavrgs
Posts: 255
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2018 11:22 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Location: Oregon

Re: Tool Problem

Post by lavrgs »

As a comparison here is a post from just the tool path for T8 - In my limited knowledge I think is may be ok.. I see T8 and H8
In the previous post line 145 has an additional T4...not sure why but I think that may be the problem. Could I have a corrupted post processor?

EDIT I took out the Line 145 and it appears to be the problem...Now I don't trust the output of Fusion 360 8-(
Attachments
1001.nc
(401.54 KiB) Downloaded 2 times
tblough
Posts: 2147
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 10:03 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: Yes
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: Yes
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: 100505
100327
102696
103432
7804732B977B-0624192192
Location: Boston, MA
Contact:

Re: Tool Problem

Post by tblough »

If you look at your file, the height offsets are not loaded until 4 or 5 lines after the tool change. T4 is loaded in block N81215. At that point the previous tool offset (H8) is still active because yoir post does not issue a G49 to cancel it. The new height offset for T4 is not loaded until block N81245.

The T4 on block N145 is preloading the tool for the toolchanger.
Cheers,

Tom
Confidence is the feeling you have before you fully understand the situation.
I have CDO. It's like OCD, but the letters are where they should be.
lavrgs
Posts: 255
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2018 11:22 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Location: Oregon

Re: Tool Problem

Post by lavrgs »

I'm using the generic post processor for Centroid from Fusion 360 so I'm guessing that is not appropriate for my machine. I have a Tree J325 knee mill with no tool changer . Unfortunately I am not well versed in Changing the PP but I did find a Fusion question that was similar and the suggestion was to modify the post parameters - not sure how to do that
https://forums.autodesk.com/t5/fusion-3 ... -p/8296970
Muzzer
Posts: 572
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2018 2:52 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: 38D269594F9C-0110180512
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Tool Problem

Post by Muzzer »

If you go into the Fusion 360 tool library and look at the post processor options for the tool in question, I think there's an option to tell it the tool requires a manual tool change. Might be misremembering but this may be causing the preloading.
lavrgs
Posts: 255
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2018 11:22 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Location: Oregon

Re: Tool Problem

Post by lavrgs »

I've read that pre-loading may be the problem. I haven't found where to change it. The tools are set to manual change
lavrgs
Posts: 255
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2018 11:22 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Location: Oregon

Re: Tool Problem

Post by lavrgs »

I'm going to change to Franco Post - It appears to do as I expect. It had the option for Pre-Load Checked so I unchecked it. The standard Centroid PP I was using did not seem to give the option to change the Pre Load.
If someone can recommend a good post processors for fusion 360 Milling I would like to try it.
slodat
Posts: 690
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2018 11:16 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none

Re: Tool Problem

Post by slodat »

I highly recommend Swissi's Fusion post processor..
Post Reply