System Defined Inputs and Blocking Spindle Run

All things related to the Centroid Acorn CNC Controller

Moderator: cnckeith

Post Reply
FlyingHaggis
Posts: 58
Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2019 11:22 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No

System Defined Inputs and Blocking Spindle Run

Post by FlyingHaggis »

Sort of a two part question

a) Input, when using the config app, you can choose from some predefined input functions.
Is there anywhere were these are full documented in how they interact with the system

eg SpindleOK, SpindleUnlock, ToolIsClamped



b) I am ordering spindle that has the ability to change tool, I think Franco reviewed it.
The user manual advises a few things....
i) air supply for "air seal" be kept running when ever the spindle operates.
So i have an air pressure switch ( NO when below target PSI ) on the air supply.

ii) That the spindle is not operated if the "tool-clamp" indicated not clamped.
(It is not clear if this sensor can internally block the spindle for spinning up.)

So how then to use these two inputs to ensure the spindle can not run if they are active.
SpindleOk - kicks you out of MDI when active, even if the spindle is not running.
cnckeith
Posts: 7439
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 4:23 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
DC3IOB: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
Contact:

Re: System Defined Inputs and Blocking Spindle Run

Post by cnckeith »

please post a fresh report.zip
Need support? READ THIS POST first. http://centroidcncforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=60&t=1043
All Acorn Documentation is located here: viewtopic.php?f=60&t=3397
Answers to common questions: viewforum.php?f=63
and here viewforum.php?f=61
Gear we use but don't sell. https://www.centroidcnc.com/centroid_di ... _gear.html
FlyingHaggis
Posts: 58
Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2019 11:22 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No

Re: System Defined Inputs and Blocking Spindle Run

Post by FlyingHaggis »

I'm not suggesting there is a fault or anything.
Just curious to learn the details of these pre-defined inputs.

If i define an input as "SpindleOK", and I am in MDI mode, and this triggers it shows a "Spindle Error" and reverts to the main screen.
That's fine - makes sense.

But give the Spindle's tool holder has 2 outputs (outputs a voltage, not a relay/pull low/OpenCollector)
  • Tool Detect
  • Tool Clamp
I'd like to ensure the spindle can not run if these are not in their correct states.
FlyingHaggis
Posts: 58
Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2019 11:22 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No

Re: System Defined Inputs and Blocking Spindle Run

Post by FlyingHaggis »

Below is a list of all the Inputs, without trying each of them, some have some defined behavior when they trigger.

Is this documented anywhere ?


• BackGear

• ChuckIsOpen
• ChunkIsClosed

• CutOffIsDown
• DriveOk
• EStop

• FirstAxisHomeOk
• FirstAxisMinusLimitOk
• FirstAxisPlusLimitOk
• SecondAxisHomeOk
• SecondAxisMinusLimitOk
• SecondAxisPlusLimitOk
• ThirdAxisMinusLimitOk
• ThirdPlusLimitOk
• ThridAxisHomeOk
• FourthAxisHomeOk
• FourthAxisMinusLimitOk
• FourthAxisPlusLimitOk

• HomeAll
• LimitAll
• LubeOk
• PartChuteIsIn

• ProbeDetect
• ProbeTripped

• SlaveHomeInput

• SpindleHighRange
• SpindleIsLocked
• SpindleIsOriented
• SpindleLowRange
• SpindleMedRange

• SpindleOk
• ToolIsUnclamped

• ToolTouchOffDetect
• ToolTouchOffTriggered

• Unused
DannyB
Posts: 109
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2018 1:11 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: A900712
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No

Re: System Defined Inputs and Blocking Spindle Run

Post by DannyB »

FlyingHaggis wrote: Fri Apr 26, 2019 12:45 pm Sort of a two part question

a) Input, when using the config app, you can choose from some predefined input functions.
Is there anywhere were these are full documented in how they interact with the system

eg SpindleOK, SpindleUnlock, ToolIsClamped



b) I am ordering spindle that has the ability to change tool, I think Franco reviewed it.
The user manual advises a few things....
i) air supply for "air seal" be kept running when ever the spindle operates.
So i have an air pressure switch ( NO when below target PSI ) on the air supply.

ii) That the spindle is not operated if the "tool-clamp" indicated not clamped.
(It is not clear if this sensor can internally block the spindle for spinning up.)

So how then to use these two inputs to ensure the spindle can not run if they are active.
SpindleOk - kicks you out of MDI when active, even if the spindle is not running.

So, dunno about the existing variables for Acorn, as i'm using OAK's, but this is pretty easy to do directly in the PLC code

The code looks like this:

;--Air pressure for ATC
IF (M3 && !AirPressureOkay)
THEN FaultMsg_W = AIR_PRESSURE_LOW_FAULT, SET OtherFault_M

; Spindle must have a tool to be allowed to spin

IF (M3 && SpindleColletOpen)
THEN FaultMsg_W = COLLET_OPEN_FAULT, SET SpindleFault_M

IF (M3 && !SpindleToolPresent)
THEN FaultMsg_W = TOOL_NOT_PRESENT_FAULT, SET SpindleFault_M


(I defined these fault messages)

To avoid the MDI issue you mention, they only trigger if M3 is set.

I defined AirPressureOkay, SpindleColletOpen, and SpindleToolPresent inputs, and they come directly from the spindle sensors/air pressure trigger sensor.

It looks like Keith just posted Acorn PLC programs for ATC here, including Rack mode ATC
viewtopic.php?f=60&t=3049&p=22831&hilit=atc#p22831
viewtopic.php?f=63&t=1340&p=7671&hilit=atc#p7671
FlyingHaggis
Posts: 58
Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2019 11:22 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No

Re: System Defined Inputs and Blocking Spindle Run

Post by FlyingHaggis »

I'll give those a read.
Thanks
Post Reply