Offline Intercon

All things related to the Centroid Acorn CNC Controller

Moderator: cnckeith

Centroid_Liviu
Posts: 272
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 9:57 am
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: Yes
DC3IOB: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
System Serial Number: none

Re: Offline Intercon

Post by Centroid_Liviu » Thu Nov 30, 2017 2:30 pm

[/quote]Will it do both lathe & mill Intercon and what about using it on a couple different PC's as long as the dongle's plugged in on the desired PC.
[/quote]

You can do both Mill and Lathe. You can install on as many PCs as you want. You can switch the USB dongle between them, otherwise you are limited to 20 lines of Intercon.

DICKEYBIRD
Posts: 258
Joined: Sat Jul 08, 2017 7:38 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
System Serial Number: n/a yet
Location: Collierville, TN USA

Re: Offline Intercon

Post by DICKEYBIRD » Thu Nov 30, 2017 2:46 pm

Awesome, thanks! Well worth the price as there's no telling where & on who's PC I get the time to work on code for a project.
Milton in Collierville, TN

"Accuracy is the sum total of your compensating mistakes."

DICKEYBIRD
Posts: 258
Joined: Sat Jul 08, 2017 7:38 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
System Serial Number: n/a yet
Location: Collierville, TN USA

Re: Offline Intercon

Post by DICKEYBIRD » Fri Dec 01, 2017 2:40 pm

So I got it today at work, that's what the $15 was for. Very quick, thanks Centroid! :)
Milton in Collierville, TN

"Accuracy is the sum total of your compensating mistakes."

DICKEYBIRD
Posts: 258
Joined: Sat Jul 08, 2017 7:38 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
System Serial Number: n/a yet
Location: Collierville, TN USA

Re: Offline Intercon

Post by DICKEYBIRD » Fri Dec 01, 2017 2:50 pm

Hmm, looks like I need a Sentinel driver. Does anyone have a link to the correct driver or to installation instructions? The box had the dongle and nothing else.
Milton in Collierville, TN

"Accuracy is the sum total of your compensating mistakes."

frijoli
Posts: 355
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2017 10:03 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
System Serial Number: none yet
Location: Outside Winston-Salem, NC

Re: Offline Intercon

Post by frijoli » Fri Dec 01, 2017 4:18 pm

DICKEYBIRD wrote:
Fri Dec 01, 2017 2:50 pm
Hmm, looks like I need a Sentinel driver. Does anyone have a link to the correct driver or to installation instructions? The box had the dongle and nothing else.
Have you tested just plugging in the dongle and try Intercon? Mine said I needed driver but I didn't install it, and intercon worked as intended.
Outside Winston-Salem, NC

DICKEYBIRD
Posts: 258
Joined: Sat Jul 08, 2017 7:38 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
System Serial Number: n/a yet
Location: Collierville, TN USA

Re: Offline Intercon

Post by DICKEYBIRD » Fri Dec 01, 2017 4:38 pm

I plugged it into my work PC which doesn't have CNC12 loaded and nothing happened. Is it possible to load Intercon without an Acorn hooked up? I know it's a stretch but imagine you're dealing with a dunce when you answer. :lol:
Milton in Collierville, TN

"Accuracy is the sum total of your compensating mistakes."

frijoli
Posts: 355
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2017 10:03 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
System Serial Number: none yet
Location: Outside Winston-Salem, NC

Re: Offline Intercon

Post by frijoli » Fri Dec 01, 2017 4:43 pm

DICKEYBIRD wrote:
Fri Dec 01, 2017 4:38 pm
I plugged it into my work PC which doesn't have CNC12 loaded and nothing happened. Is it possible to load Intercon without an Acorn hooked up? I know it's a stretch but imagine you're dealing with a dunce when you answer. :lol:
The usb thing is just a KEY. I don't recall how I loaded intercon, but I'm pretty sure it was a link and D/L.

Acorn does NOT have to be attached. hence the "offline"
Outside Winston-Salem, NC

DICKEYBIRD
Posts: 258
Joined: Sat Jul 08, 2017 7:38 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
System Serial Number: n/a yet
Location: Collierville, TN USA

Re: Offline Intercon

Post by DICKEYBIRD » Fri Dec 01, 2017 5:10 pm

frijoli wrote:
Fri Dec 01, 2017 4:43 pm
The usb thing is just a KEY. I don't recall how I loaded intercon, but I'm pretty sure it was a link and D/L.
The key concept I understand, it's how to load Intercon separately that I'm scratchin' my head over. I couldn't find a link.
Milton in Collierville, TN

"Accuracy is the sum total of your compensating mistakes."

diycncscott
Posts: 639
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2010 4:03 pm

Re: Offline Intercon

Post by diycncscott » Fri Dec 01, 2017 6:34 pm

Download 3.16 from here: http://www.centroidcnc.com/downloads/so ... v316-D.zip


And install Mill Demo and/or Lathe Demo. The demo will change to full blown offline with dongle connected.

You'll find the Sentinel drivers in there as well.

Do NOT install the 3.16 Mill or Lathe control software. It is not compatible with Acorn hardware.

DICKEYBIRD
Posts: 258
Joined: Sat Jul 08, 2017 7:38 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
System Serial Number: n/a yet
Location: Collierville, TN USA

Re: Offline Intercon

Post by DICKEYBIRD » Fri Dec 01, 2017 7:20 pm

Thank you Scott; it worked great!
Milton in Collierville, TN

"Accuracy is the sum total of your compensating mistakes."

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest