Oak CNC controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes

Drive Fault problem

Post by Jab814 »

Hello All,
I've been following how to wire a Hitachi VFD.
The reason for using a Hitachi sj200 is no specific reason other than I had one.
The machine had a Emerson commander SK wired to it until we had a power surge.
The power surge shorted out the Emerson and would not function .
I am currently at the point where if I disable parameter 178 by changing it from a 0 to a 2 my mill works as intended.
However if I enable back to a 0 it just states in the message bar "Drive Fault".
If I go and look at the led on the All-in-one for drive fault it is not lit.
I metered the voltage from com to drive fault and get 0V.
Should this read 10 volt to light the LED and enables operation of the spindle?
I'm new to centroid and its components and our other 2 centroid machines do not have a vfd wired to them for spindle control.
Please have patience with me for I am ignorant when it comes to reading a electrical schematic .
Reading the VFD manual was quite a task for me but I feel confident I know the most basic programing for it .
Thanks in advance,
Joe
Dave_C
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No

Re: Drive Fault problem

Post by Dave_C »

Joe,

I have worked with a lot of VFD's in my day but I think you will find there are so many varieties out there, and they all set up different, so it is practically impossible to tell what your issue is just from this line:
I am currently at the point where if I disable parameter 178 by changing it from a 0 to a 2 my mill works as intended.
So what does para 178 do please?

Dave C.
Grizzly G0678 Mill ,CNC conversion with Acorn. G4004G Lathe, Mach 3 conversion to Acorn.
Jab814
Acorn CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes

Post by Jab814 »

Hi Dave,
It forces drive fault to be "ok" on the all in one.
Jab814

Post by Jab814 »

Sorry again,