Page 1 of 1

Touch Screen Monitors

Posted: Wed Aug 09, 2017 9:12 am
by martyscncgarage
Getting questions about Touchscreen monitor sourcing.
I suggest ASUS VT207N 19.5" Monitor. You can google search it, but seems New Egg has a good price and occasionally, has reconditioned units.
They also have a smaller 15.6" Touchscreen, the VT168H, which is only a little less than its bigger brother. BUT if you need a smaller one for a smaller machine it might be the ticket.

Let's keep this thread going, so reply here. If you find hot deal for a nice touchscreen monitor post it so the rest of us can find out about it!

Marty

Re: Touch Screen Monitors

Posted: Tue Aug 15, 2017 3:44 pm
by cnckeith
I'm using a HP Business L4Q76A8#ABA 22" E220t TMNT Monitor
and i just saw these on amazon as well.
https://www.amazon.com/ViewSonic-TD2220 ... 6570747011

Re: Touch Screen Monitors

Posted: Tue Aug 15, 2017 4:28 pm
by 762x51
I was going to buy a touchscreen monitor but looking at the specs on my "shop" PC, I found that I needed to update the PC as well.

As I was looking around I saw the Dell Inspiron 3263 All-In-One Computer was on sale for $480 so I decided to go that way and picked up one yesterday.
It has the gen 6 i3-6100U processor and the replacement (Inspiron 3264) a gen 7 i3-7100U.
Looking up the benchmarks of the processor showed that they were so close that spending a couple of hundred more on the new one made no sense to me.

http://www.officedepot.com/a/products/9 ... ll-In-One/

Acorn arrived about an hour ago so I'm getting ready to start the initial setup and testing.
I'll be following this video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Akmw8ak ... e=youtu.be step-by-step.

Orin

Re: Touch Screen Monitors

Posted: Tue Aug 15, 2017 6:00 pm
by martyscncgarage
762x51 wrote:
Tue Aug 15, 2017 4:28 pm
I was going to buy a touchscreen monitor but looking at the specs on my "shop" PC, I found that I needed to update the PC as well.

As I was looking around I saw the Dell Inspiron 3263 All-In-One Computer was on sale for $480 so I decided to go that way and picked up one yesterday.
It has the gen 6 i3-6100U processor and the replacement (Inspiron 3264) a gen 7 i3-7100U.
Looking up the benchmarks of the processor showed that they were so close that spending a couple of hundred more on the new one made no sense to me.

http://www.officedepot.com/a/products/9 ... ll-In-One/

Acorn arrived about an hour ago so I'm getting ready to start the initial setup and testing.
I'll be following this video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Akmw8ak ... e=youtu.be step-by-step.

Orin
Am I reading correctly that your CPU benchmark is 1332? I'm curious to know how it does. Since the minimum benchmark required is 1500....
Keep us posted.
Marty

Re: Touch Screen Monitors

Posted: Tue Aug 15, 2017 9:14 pm
by 762x51
Hi Marty,

The benchmark for the i3-6100U (in the PC I bought) is 3871 which is well past Centroid's requirement and the newer version, i3-7100U, is 3845 which is 26 less than the older version. See why I decided to save a couple of hundred and get the older version that is on sale?

Here is the web site where you can find the benchmark for almost any processor: https://www.cpubenchmark.net/

Orin

Re: Touch Screen Monitors

Posted: Wed Aug 16, 2017 2:12 am
by 762x51
Messed up again - :oops:

I just noticed that Centroid requires a single thread benchmark of 1500 and the i3-6100U benchmark is 1332 - Darn!!
Good thing Office Depot has a 14 day return policy as the PC I bought doesn't meet the requirements.

Back to the "drawing board".....

Re: Touch Screen Monitors

Posted: Wed Aug 16, 2017 9:01 am
by cnckeith
here is link the latest Acorn quick start guide with win10 configuration, power hookup and cnc12 install instructions.
http://www.centroidcnc.com/centroid_diy ... guide.html

Re: Touch Screen Monitors & Virtual Control Panel

Posted: Wed Sep 06, 2017 8:51 am
by martyscncgarage
Keep in mind if you want to use Virtual control panel, you NEED a Wide Aspect Ration 16:9 (wide rectangular) touch screen monitor!
If it is a standard 4:3 (square) aspect ratio monitor, Virtual Control Panel will not show up on the display, even though its running.
Ya gotta get a WIDE SCREEN Touchscreen monitor to get full benefits of VCP! ;)