CNC Control System Serial Number: none
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No

Onefinity Home / Limit Sensors - Limit Theory

Post by Ziggy »

Hello

I am still learning and building my CNC. I am grateful to all of the help here.

I have a Onefinity Woodworker CNC. https://www.onefinitycnc.com/product-pa ... odworker-1

It has a 32” x 32” cutting area. It uses stepper motors rather than servo and it has two steppers for the Y axis; one for each side.

My machine came with a Buildbotics controller. It used stall homing.

Since I am now setting up an Acorn board and stall homing isn't an option with my current motors, I am looking into the options for limit/homing sensors.

I see sensors listed in the “DIY Gear We Use” section of the website. I was wondering how other Onefinity users mounted their sensors since our machines weren’t originally designed for them.

I have some ideas and I am pretty sure I can make it work. But it would be nice not to have to re-invent the wheel if someone else has had some better ideas.

Also… I have been reading the CNC Axis Paring and Squaring manual. I hope someone can tell me if I am on the right track design/theory wise.

Originally I thought I would need 6 limit sensors: Two for the Master and Slave Y axis, two for each end of the X axis and one for the far positive end of the Y axis.

After reading, it appears as if I can get away with 4. Three NC sensors connected in series for XYZ homing and one wired to the Y slave (to trigger first) for auto-squaring.

Once this is done, soft limits can be set up to keep the gantry from slamming into end-stops in the event of user “cranial/rectal” inversion….as sometimes happens when I am the user.