Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: 38D2694CCC3F-0620180998
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes

Smoothing? <resolved, bad ballscrew support bearing>

Post by JayCNC »

I've been having an issue with my machine that I thought was a rigidity problem but after making some changes to it I've found that it was not the source of the problem I'm having and I'm convinced it has something to do with a software setting of some sort. So here's the problem... When contouring a part, I get really good surface finish in both X and Y, but not when both are moving, say on a 45 degree cut. Almost like a bad chatting is going on, but now verified it's not. Circular isn't as bad, but still not the best either. It's most noticeable on an exact angle. I've had the software smoothing set up as "Precision Mill", so I started playing with the settings. I really don't see any change when selecting a different preset, but there's definitely a noticeable change when turned Off. The finish is better, but still not great. The "chatter" looks more scalloped with it off, about 3/8" apart vs say every 1/8" apart. I'm running Clearpath servos 6400 res and tried running them at 800 as well with no difference. 1605 Ballscrews. Am I missing something here? It's got to be something with a software setting, right?
Attachments
chatter.jpeg
report_38D2694CCC3F-0620180998_2019-03-29_13-18-16.zip
(245.93 KiB) Downloaded 123 times
todd432
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: MPU12 serial number: 74E18275EB48-0914181220
CPU10 or CPU7: No

Re: Smoothing?

Post by todd432 »

I too had a problem with smoothing, and thought it was the motors. Swapped out steppers for DMM Servos only to have the same problem.
Changed all kinds of settings , nothing fixed it. So I tried another controller PC...... bingo bang go, problem went away.
Might be worth a shot, if it easy enough to do on your machine.