Tool Setting Options For Routers

All things related to the Centroid Acorn CNC Controller

Moderator: cnckeith

Post Reply
diycncscott
Posts: 665
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2010 4:03 pm

Tool Setting Options For Routers

Post by diycncscott » Tue Feb 06, 2018 2:09 pm

I have consolidated this topic to comprise m functions that perform the the 3 basic options for setting the Z position on routers:

1. Manually jog the Z axis to the new position and press cycle start to accept the new position. Download here:
mfunc6router-manset.mac
(2.43 KiB) Downloaded 13 times
Save as : c:\cncm\mfunc6.mac

2. Manually jog the tool over the Tool Touch Off Device and press Cycle start to probe the the Tool Touch Off Device: Download here:
mfunc6JogToToolTouchOff-tt1.mac
(9.11 KiB) Downloaded 25 times
Save as : c:\cncm\mfunc6.mac

3. Tool Touch Off device in fixed location: Download here:
mfunc6FixedToolTouchOff.mac
(9.65 KiB) Downloaded 17 times
Save as : c:\cncm\mfunc6.mac


All macros:

Shut off spindle, goes to tool change position (G28), prompts the user to change to tool # XXX
and pops up a question on the screen. Reset Z zero?

If yes, the first macro prompts you to jog to jog to the new Z position and press cycle strat to accept.

The second prompts you to jog over top of your tool touch off device and press cycle start to probe the tool touch off device and set an new 0.

The third, goes to G30P2**, seeks TT-1, automatically sets Z at tt-1 position relative to wcsc Z zero and retracts to tool check position then continues on with g code.

if no, just goes on with the G code job.


Instructions before first use for those with tool touch of device:

1. Use the Wizard to set the PLC input for "Probe Tripped" (NC) (usually 7). "Write Settings.."
a)Test your tool touch off device by entering the Acorn software, press alt-i to bring up the real-time I/O screen and touch your tool touch off device to your tool. INP7 should toggle to green when touched and red when not.
NOTE: Not all machine configurations will have continuity between the tool and the chassis. In that case, connect an alligator clip from the tool to and of the terminals labeled "COM" on the Acorn board

2. Setup your G28 Return #1 "Tool change position"
a) F1-Setup->F1-Part->F9-WCS Table->F1-Return
The fields under G28 are in machine position, press alt-d to toggle your display between machine position and wcs position
b) Jog the machine to the position you want to physically change the tool at. Enter the X, Y and Z machine position values displayed in dro. It is strongly suggested to leave Z at 0.
c)F10-Save

3. Setup your G30 Return #2 "Tool touch off device position" ** Not needed if you do not have a permanently mounted tool touch off device
a) F1-Setup->F1-Part->F9-WCS Table->F1-Return
The fields under G30P2 are in machine position, press alt-d to toggle your display between machine position and wcs position
b) Jog the machine to the position directly over your tool touch off device. Enter the X, Y and Z machine position values displayed in dro. It is strongly suggested to leave Z at 0.
c)F10-Save

4. Setup the height of the tool touch off device in parameter 71
a) F1-Setup->F3-Config(pw=137)->F3-Parms
b) Measure the height of the detector at it's location - enter that value in parm 71, press enter
c) Press F10 -Save

MarysMakeShop
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2018 12:49 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: No
System Serial Number: none

Re: Tool Setting Options For Routers

Post by MarysMakeShop » Tue Feb 06, 2018 5:15 pm

Awesome! Thanks Scott! :D

DICKEYBIRD
Posts: 298
Joined: Sat Jul 08, 2017 7:38 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
System Serial Number: n/a yet
Location: Collierville, TN USA

Re: Tool Setting Options For Routers

Post by DICKEYBIRD » Tue Feb 06, 2018 7:49 pm

Neat-o, keen-o, double wow zow! You are the man! :D
Milton in Collierville, TN

"Accuracy is the sum total of your compensating mistakes."

MarysMakeShop
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2018 12:49 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: No
System Serial Number: none

Re: Tool Setting Options For Routers

Post by MarysMakeShop » Thu Feb 08, 2018 9:37 pm

2. Manually jog the tool over the Tool Touch Off Device and press Cycle start to probe the the Tool Touch Off Device:
mfunc6JogToToolTouchOff-tt1.mac

I tried out the "Jog the tool over the tool touch off plate method"(#2). Worked great! Here's how I did it with my 3040 Chinese Engraver/Router:
Part Zeros & Tool Changes w/ Acorn CNC: Zeroing Z using a Tool Touch Off and Macro
In this video I show how to set part zeros for the Z axis using a tool touch off and how to install the macro for the tool touch off using CNC12 Mill software.

youtu.be/zQWr352fS7c

Click on the schematic below for a clearer view
Attachments
TTSchematicAcorn.JPG

Web Goblin
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2018 5:42 am
Acorn CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
System Serial Number: none

Re: Tool Setting Options For Routers

Post by Web Goblin » Fri Feb 09, 2018 4:13 pm

Thanks for posting the video. Looking forward to seeing the tool change video while in a job.

MarysMakeShop
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2018 12:49 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: No
System Serial Number: none

Re: Tool Setting Options For Routers

Post by MarysMakeShop » Sat Feb 10, 2018 11:15 am

Thanks for posting the video. Looking forward to seeing the tool change video while in a job.
Thanks! Hopefully tomorrow or Monday. I have the footage just need to edit it. :)

lvanduyn
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2018 2:26 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
System Serial Number: none

Re: Tool Setting Options For Routers

Post by lvanduyn » Tue Feb 13, 2018 2:54 pm

Hi All
I have been following this discussion with interest. I am currently using Mach 3 but plan to change over to Acorn.
Currently I use the jog to plate method to set Z axis zero so the second macro posted is perfect. There is one
question in that for 3 axis work, I jog over to the plate on top of the work piece and execute the zero function.
Also I do a lot of 4 axis work where my zero point is the center of rotation of the A axis. This requires a different plate thickness
which is set on the table surface. In Mach 3, I just load a different profile on startup. So the question. Is there some
easy way in the Acorn world to go from one to the other without changing parameter 71 each time ??

Larry

Gary Campbell
Posts: 150
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2017 2:32 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
System Serial Number: C8FD19D3C3E1-1109170238
Location: Marquette, MI

Re: Tool Setting Options For Routers

Post by Gary Campbell » Tue Feb 13, 2018 3:52 pm

Larry...
I have that exact setup on my current build. I have 3 Z setting macros.

One uses a sensor equipped tool measure switch and uses parm 71 so I can change the "switch to spoilboard" distance when the spoilboard is surfaced. This is the "M6" macro

The second is a trimmed down version of the above, uses a fixed (hard coded) thickness for a portable conductive Z plate which doesn't change. This assumes bit is over the plate and is activated by a repurposed screen button

The third is for the rotary axis. Another modified version of the first that uses a hard coded distance between the chuck center and the switch and is activated by another screen button.

In virtually any case you should be able to adopt whatever you wish to do. I am a Centroid rookie and I've had no issue changing the macros and assigning them to buttons.
GCnC Control
CNC Control & Retrofits
https://www.youtube.com/user/Islaww1/videos

MarysMakeShop
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2018 12:49 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: No
System Serial Number: none

Re: Tool Setting Options For Routers

Post by MarysMakeShop » Tue Feb 13, 2018 4:13 pm

Using the #2 Tool Setting from diycncscott, and my 3040 Chinese Engraver/Router I did a tool change(1/2" Flute-->1/4" Corner Round) mid-job and auto reset my Z zero for the new tool using the tool touch-off.
Part Zeros & Tool Changes w/ Acorn CNC: Auto Z zero Mid-Job w/ Tool Touch Off


youtu.be/5wZdpi_PghY

Web Goblin
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2018 5:42 am
Acorn CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
System Serial Number: none

Re: Tool Setting Options For Routers

Post by Web Goblin » Fri Feb 16, 2018 4:38 pm

Nice. Once again thanks for the video.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: diycncscott and 2 guests