Analog 0-10 volt staying at .6 volts when should be zero for spindle

All things related to the Centroid Acorn CNC Controller

Moderator: cnckeith

spindle Nerd
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri Jan 19, 2018 8:21 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: No
System Serial Number: none

Analog 0-10 volt staying at .6 volts when should be zero for spindle

Post by spindle Nerd » Sun Feb 04, 2018 8:56 pm

Hi , everyone i am onto the spindle with my DMM 1.8 kw servo for spindle and i am getting .647 volts on the analog out pins on acorn .

I checked to make sure i had set zero in the wizard for minimal spindle speed, the problem is the spindle is going at 35 rpm at that voltage when i just turn on Acorn.

I need to get zero on analog pins ,because the drive is enabled when power up and the drive wants zero voltage for forward and 5 volts for reverse on output 5.

Thank you
Last edited by spindle Nerd on Thu Feb 08, 2018 7:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Dave_C
Posts: 115
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2017 8:25 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
System Serial Number: none
Contact:

Re: Analog 0-10 volt staying at .6 volts when should be zero

Post by Dave_C » Mon Feb 05, 2018 11:27 am

zero voltage for forward and 5 volts for reverse on output 5.
Ok, What is output 5?

The analog out on the Acorn board is labeled as (Analog Out and is on H8 on the drawings)

The other output terminals on Header 5 (H5) 3-8 are open collectors. 1-2 are relays!

So if you can give us some more detail, we might be able to help.

Dave C.
Grizzly G0678 CNC conversion with Acorn in progress!

diycncscott
Posts: 660
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2010 4:03 pm

Re: Analog 0-10 volt staying at .6 volts when should be zero

Post by diycncscott » Mon Feb 05, 2018 11:48 am

Disconnect the wires from the Acorn to the DMM. I'm sure you will find it is 0VDC with them disconnected.

frijoli
Posts: 393
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2017 10:03 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
System Serial Number: none yet
Location: Outside Winston-Salem, NC

Re: Analog 0-10 volt staying at .6 volts when should be zero

Post by frijoli » Mon Feb 05, 2018 1:18 pm

diycncscott wrote:
Mon Feb 05, 2018 11:48 am
Disconnect the wires from the Acorn to the DMM. I'm sure you will find it is 0VDC with them disconnected.
When in MANUAL mode, there is always voltage on the analog out. When in AUTOMATIC voltage will drop to zero.

Clay
Clay
Outside Winston-Salem, NC

spindle Nerd
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri Jan 19, 2018 8:21 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: No
System Serial Number: none

Re: Analog 0-10 volt staying at .6 volts when should be zero

Post by spindle Nerd » Mon Feb 05, 2018 1:31 pm

When in MANUAL mode, there is always voltage on the analog out. When in AUTOMATIC voltage will drop to zero.

Clay

Hi clay ,i talked to Michael this morning they are going to make an official announcement on this page here in a little while as to the problem and the fix they have come up with.

We are aware of the spindle issue and have already implemented a fix for it in the drive firmware and we will be issuing a formal notice on this issue. It will be resolved using an adjustable parameter to offset the 0.6V left on the analog output so the drive will not move. So when everything powers up, the drive does not move.

From Michael Dmm Tech, by the way a very nice person

frijoli
Posts: 393
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2017 10:03 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
System Serial Number: none yet
Location: Outside Winston-Salem, NC

Re: Analog 0-10 volt staying at .6 volts when should be zero

Post by frijoli » Mon Feb 05, 2018 1:39 pm

spindle Nerd wrote:
Sun Feb 04, 2018 8:56 pm
Hi , everyone i am onto the spindle with my DMM 1.8 kw servo for spindle and i am getting .647 volts on the analog out pins on acorn .

I checked to make sure i had set zero in the wizard for minimal spindle speed, the problem is the spindle is going at 35 rpm at that voltage when i just turn on Acorn.

I need to get zero on analog pins ,because the drive is enabled when power up and the drive wants zero voltage for forward and 5 volts for reverse on output 5.

Thank you
The DMM drive as a spindle and the Acorn are not there yet unfortunately When the Acorn is in Manual mode there will be voltage on the analog out from acorn. You will see that if you put into Automatic mode the spindle goes from .5ish volts to zero.

I had a long thread about this issue here: viewtopic.php?f=60&t=1308

Clay
Clay
Outside Winston-Salem, NC

frijoli
Posts: 393
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2017 10:03 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
System Serial Number: none yet
Location: Outside Winston-Salem, NC

Re: Analog 0-10 volt staying at .6 volts when should be zero

Post by frijoli » Mon Feb 05, 2018 1:43 pm

spindle Nerd wrote:
Mon Feb 05, 2018 1:31 pm
When in MANUAL mode, there is always voltage on the analog out. When in AUTOMATIC voltage will drop to zero.

Clay

Hi clay ,i talked to Michael this morning they are going to make an official announcement on this page here in a little while as to the problem and the fix they have come up with.

We are aware of the spindle issue and have already implemented a fix for it in the drive firmware and we will be issuing a formal notice on this issue. It will be resolved using an adjustable parameter to offset the 0.6V left on the analog output so the drive will not move. So when everything powers up, the drive does not move.

From Michael Dmm Tech, by the way a very nice person
They are confused about this. The .6 volts is only there when in manual mode. I thought I had them convinced otherwise, but I guess not.
If they offset it, it will create other issues when in AUTO.

Clay
Clay
Outside Winston-Salem, NC

diycncscott
Posts: 660
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2010 4:03 pm

Re: Analog 0-10 volt staying at .6 volts when should be zero

Post by diycncscott » Mon Feb 05, 2018 2:14 pm

I have confirmed this issue. A fix is posted below:

Download this file:
acorn_universal_template.src
(145.54 KiB) Downloaded 10 times
Save it to either c:\cncm\WizardResources\Template\ or c:\cnct\WizardResources\Template\

Run the Wizard and click "Write Settings to CNC Control configuration"

eng199
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2014 11:29 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: Yes
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: Yes
DC3IOB: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
System Serial Number: none

Re: Analog 0-10 volt staying at .6 volts when should be zero

Post by eng199 » Mon Feb 05, 2018 2:32 pm

The DMM drives should have a contactor controlled by output 1 to cut the main drive voltage (R,S,T). This arrangement is shown on the Estun Pronet-E schematic (DYN4 schematic needs this added). Since DMM powers on even with no control signals connected, there is no other safe way to use it.

Setting the analog voltage to 0 is not adequate for stopping the spindle. There will always be a slight mismatch between an analog output and analog input. Complete stop requires the disable input to be driven and / or the power cut with a contactor.

diycncscott will change the PLC to go to 0 in manual mode. Unfortunately, this will encourage people to continue without correcting the wiring.

spindle Nerd
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri Jan 19, 2018 8:21 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: No
System Serial Number: none

Re: Analog 0-10 volt staying at .6 volts when should be zero - RESOLVED

Post by spindle Nerd » Mon Feb 05, 2018 4:08 pm

I have confirmed this issue. A fix is posted below:

Download this file:
acorn_universal_template.src
(145.54 KiB) Downloaded 6 times
Save it to either c:\cncm\WizardResources\Template\ or c:\cnct\WizardResources\Template\

Run the Wizard and click "Write Settings to CNC Control configuration"
I gave it a try ,still there ,and i also hooked up a contactor to relay 1 so the stupid thing would not start running on power up.
And the other thing is, i still get the .7 volts when in automatic mode as well as manual mode.

If you command( M03 S250 )from the mdi line and then command S(0) speed goes back down but that voltage is still present on the analog out pin's ,at least on my machine.

I installed the file to the right directory ran the wizard wrote to plc and saved , i got no change.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest