Acorn install on YCL 1236 Lathe

All things related to the Centroid Acorn CNC Controller

Moderator: cnckeith

Post Reply
Roadstercycle
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2017 12:07 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
System Serial Number: none
Location: Southern California

Acorn install on YCL 1236 Lathe

Post by Roadstercycle » Tue Jan 09, 2018 9:45 pm

I'm changing over my YCL 1236 CNC Lathe conversion to the Acorn. Here's a few pics. Encoder mount seems to work fine but encoder won't be here until tomorrow so waiting game on that. I have a plastic gear on it until I can find one that has a flange. It seems these size pulleys don't have flanges. I may have to make one if SPDI does not have one. The Lathe is used in CNC mode and manual mode so there is extra switches for axis control. The 2 lower on the Lathe is to disconnect the motors from the system when using manual mode, if you don't do this it sends power back to the board even when a controller is not on and could damage something. Couple extra switches on the main motor controller for the same reason, manual and CNC mode. Pictures of home switches and mounts. I have not run the wizard setup yet although I did plug it in and did the bench test. All seemed fine. I was going to finish tomorrow but my Skyfire VMC-2 arrives tomorrow so that will be over shadowing the lathe setup. Anyway here's the pics. Also in one of the pics you'll notice a black motor on the end of the lathe, that is a custom setup I put together for doing inside splining and internal ring gears.
Attachments
IMG_3520.JPG
IMG_3519.JPG
IMG_3518.JPG
IMG_3517.JPG
IMG_3516.JPG
IMG_3515.JPG
IMG_3514.JPG

cnckeith
Posts: 605
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 4:23 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: Yes
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: Yes
DC3IOB: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
System Serial Number: none
Contact:

Re: Acorn install on YCL 1236 Lathe

Post by cnckeith » Tue Jan 09, 2018 9:59 pm

nice size lathe..thanks for posting photos.

martyscncgarage
Posts: 946
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2017 12:01 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: No
System Serial Number: none
Location: Mesa, AZ

Re: Acorn install on YCL 1236 Lathe

Post by martyscncgarage » Wed Jan 10, 2018 9:29 pm

Can't wait to see this beast run.....
What motors are you going to drive the axis with?
Marty
"Jack of all trades, master of none!"
Mesa, AZ

jason1098
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2017 8:56 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
System Serial Number: none
Location: Bixby, OK

Re: Acorn install on YCL 1236 Lathe

Post by jason1098 » Sat Jan 13, 2018 12:22 pm

Thanks for posting these pictures of your 12x36 lathe. I'm in the process of converting my 14x40 lathe that has a very similar look to yours. I'd like to keep manual control available, but was thinking it was going to be too messy having both CNC and manual. I'm curious how you ended up keeping both Z and X axis manual and where you put your motors to do so.

Do you have any pictures of the motor connections and information on switching between the two modes? I'd love to mount a Z axis ball screw between the ways, but can't figure out how to get around the tail stock clamp without removing a lot of casting. I'd love to hear what you did.

Any additional pictures would be greatly appreciated.

-jason

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests