Acorn ERRORS during first move <resolved>

All things related to the Centroid Acorn CNC Controller

Moderator: cnckeith

cnckeith
Posts: 605
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 4:23 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: Yes
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: Yes
DC3IOB: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
System Serial Number: none
Contact:

Re: Acorn ERRORS during first move

Post by cnckeith » Tue Jan 09, 2018 6:26 pm

it ignores , take a look at the I/O table when you select Bench test radio button..

ScotY
Posts: 344
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2017 7:57 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
System Serial Number: none
Location: Honolulu, HI

Re: Acorn ERRORS during first move

Post by ScotY » Tue Jan 09, 2018 6:42 pm

I don’t know...100ipm with a >50:1 reduction sounds like your motor rpm is gonna be way too high.

762x51
Posts: 118
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2017 8:40 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
System Serial Number: B0D5CC56DD75-0605170063 , 985DAD4295CF-0928170127 , 38D2694E4703-1222170401
Location: Near Guilford College, Greensboro, NC
Contact:

Re: Acorn ERRORS during first move

Post by 762x51 » Tue Jan 09, 2018 7:21 pm

ScotY wrote:
Tue Jan 09, 2018 6:42 pm
I don’t know...100ipm with a >50:1 reduction sounds like your motor rpm is gonna be way too high.
It does -

What's the ball/lead/acme screw turns/inch or mm/rev if metric?

BrandSacped
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2018 11:55 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
System Serial Number: none

Re: Acorn ERRORS during first move

Post by BrandSacped » Wed Jan 10, 2018 12:36 am

Its a belt drive for an axis that is basically a conveyor system that takes parts through a sand blasting cabinet. I tried to talk to the owner about converting it to a PLC but when I saw the conversational programming capabilities of the Centroid system we went that rout.

BrandSacped
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2018 11:55 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
System Serial Number: none

Re: Acorn ERRORS during first move

Post by BrandSacped » Wed Jan 10, 2018 12:47 am

It's all working now. I did put it into bench test mode like suggested, it still moved slowly on it's own as soon as motion was commanded. In ClearPath MSP I found the homing radio button checked, so I unchecked it. Problem solved! It's always the stupid little things isn't it? I still don't know what all the error codes I was getting were.

I reset everything to factory defaults in both acorn and ClearPath MSP and went through step by step testing between each one to make sure each implementation worked.

So thanks to all who commented, my client is happy and I'm happy. :D

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Charlie.G and 1 guest