m code for the spindle brake and release? <answered>

All things related to the Centroid Acorn CNC Controller

Moderator: cnckeith

Post Reply
frijoli
Posts: 391
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2017 10:03 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
System Serial Number: none yet
Location: Outside Winston-Salem, NC

m code for the spindle brake and release? <answered>

Post by frijoli » Mon Dec 25, 2017 3:37 pm

I can't seem to find it in the manual.
Clay
Outside Winston-Salem, NC

martyscncgarage
Posts: 946
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2017 12:01 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: No
System Serial Number: none
Location: Mesa, AZ

Re: m code for the spindle brake and release?

Post by martyscncgarage » Mon Dec 25, 2017 4:37 pm

frijoli wrote:
Mon Dec 25, 2017 3:37 pm
I can't seem to find it in the manual.
Try M94/M95
They are supposed to turn on and off outputs.
Depends on which output you have the brake assigned to.
Let us know how it goes
"Jack of all trades, master of none!"
Mesa, AZ

frijoli
Posts: 391
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2017 10:03 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
System Serial Number: none yet
Location: Outside Winston-Salem, NC

Re: m code for the spindle brake and release?

Post by frijoli » Mon Dec 25, 2017 4:55 pm

martyscncgarage wrote:
Mon Dec 25, 2017 4:37 pm
frijoli wrote:
Mon Dec 25, 2017 3:37 pm
I can't seem to find it in the manual.
Try M94/M95
They are supposed to turn on and off outputs.
Depends on which output you have the brake assigned to.
Let us know how it goes
Thanks Marty!
I didn't realize it was optional code.
Clay
Outside Winston-Salem, NC

martyscncgarage
Posts: 946
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2017 12:01 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: No
System Serial Number: none
Location: Mesa, AZ

Re: m code for the spindle brake and release?

Post by martyscncgarage » Mon Dec 25, 2017 5:03 pm

frijoli wrote:
Mon Dec 25, 2017 4:55 pm
martyscncgarage wrote:
Mon Dec 25, 2017 4:37 pm
frijoli wrote:
Mon Dec 25, 2017 3:37 pm
I can't seem to find it in the manual.
Try M94/M95
They are supposed to turn on and off outputs.
Depends on which output you have the brake assigned to.
Let us know how it goes
Thanks Marty!
I didn't realize it was optional code.
Let us know if it works. I have not tested it myself.
I would have the the spindle brake turns off and on with M3 and M5
"Jack of all trades, master of none!"
Mesa, AZ

frijoli
Posts: 391
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2017 10:03 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
System Serial Number: none yet
Location: Outside Winston-Salem, NC

Re: m code for the spindle brake and release?

Post by frijoli » Mon Dec 25, 2017 5:24 pm

I'm still working on the post processor and wiring for bench testing! lol
Clay
Outside Winston-Salem, NC

lilb93
Posts: 83
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2017 10:26 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
System Serial Number: 0216041209
Contact:

Re: m code for the spindle brake and release?

Post by lilb93 » Mon Dec 25, 2017 6:17 pm

The brake you talk about is on the head to slow down the spindle?
I will be doing a bridgeport clone a Millport Knee mill. It has the air control for the brake on the spindle. I am just going to remove it and install an external brake from on the VFD and make it simple.
Barnesville, PA.

I always thought it would take longer to grow old.

frijoli
Posts: 391
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2017 10:03 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
System Serial Number: none yet
Location: Outside Winston-Salem, NC

Re: m code for the spindle brake and release?

Post by frijoli » Mon Dec 25, 2017 7:33 pm

lilb93 wrote:
Mon Dec 25, 2017 6:17 pm
The brake you talk about is on the head to slow down the spindle?
I will be doing a bridgeport clone a Millport Knee mill. It has the air control for the brake on the spindle. I am just going to remove it and install an external brake from on the VFD and make it simple.
To be clear. I am not using a brake. I am working on a post processor for Fusion 360 and needed to know what the code was.

I have only seen a brake on a CNC used to hold the spindle AFTER it has stopped.

Clay
Clay
Outside Winston-Salem, NC

martyscncgarage
Posts: 946
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2017 12:01 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: No
System Serial Number: none
Location: Mesa, AZ

Re: m code for the spindle brake and release?

Post by martyscncgarage » Mon Dec 25, 2017 8:14 pm

frijoli wrote:
Mon Dec 25, 2017 7:33 pm
lilb93 wrote:
Mon Dec 25, 2017 6:17 pm
The brake you talk about is on the head to slow down the spindle?
I will be doing a bridgeport clone a Millport Knee mill. It has the air control for the brake on the spindle. I am just going to remove it and install an external brake from on the VFD and make it simple.
To be clear. I am not using a brake. I am working on a post processor for Fusion 360 and needed to know what the code was.

I have only seen a brake on a CNC used to hold the spindle AFTER it has stopped.

Clay
Correct, spindle brake locks the spindle motor when not in operation. It is energized to unlock it when in operation.
When a spindle has a brake, you do need a manual method to unlock it to sweep a part. So an Auxillary button would be handy to lock and unlock it.
Toggling the output on and off.
"Jack of all trades, master of none!"
Mesa, AZ

Centroid_Tech
Posts: 156
Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2010 2:24 pm

Re: m code for the spindle brake and release?

Post by Centroid_Tech » Tue Jan 09, 2018 1:22 pm

Just wanted to make this clear that the standard Centroid control does not have a custom M code that deals with releasing the brake. If you select the SpindleBrakeRelease as an output in the Wizard, the standard PLC program will turn that output on and off based on when the SpindleEnableOut is turning on and off. You can also manually turn that output on and off by pressing the Aux7 button. So, as far as the post processor, all you should have to do is turn the spindle on with either an M3 or an M4 and the Centroid control will automatically engage or disengage the spindle brake.

If you wanted to, you can create a custom M code to turn that on and off but because the standard PLC program has that logic built into it, it wouldn't make sense.

frijoli
Posts: 391
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2017 10:03 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
System Serial Number: none yet
Location: Outside Winston-Salem, NC

Re: m code for the spindle brake and release?

Post by frijoli » Tue Jan 09, 2018 8:17 pm

Centroid_Tech wrote:
Tue Jan 09, 2018 1:22 pm
Just wanted to make this clear that the standard Centroid control does not have a custom M code that deals with releasing the brake. If you select the SpindleBrakeRelease as an output in the Wizard, the standard PLC program will turn that output on and off based on when the SpindleEnableOut is turning on and off. You can also manually turn that output on and off by pressing the Aux7 button. So, as far as the post processor, all you should have to do is turn the spindle on with either an M3 or an M4 and the Centroid control will automatically engage or disengage the spindle brake.

If you wanted to, you can create a custom M code to turn that on and off but because the standard PLC program has that logic built into it, it wouldn't make sense.
Good information.
Thank you.
Clay
Outside Winston-Salem, NC

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: jason1098 and 3 guests