computer selection

All things related to the Centroid Acorn CNC Controller

Moderator: cnckeith

midy
Posts: 75
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2017 12:20 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
System Serial Number: none

computer selection

Post by midy » Sun Dec 03, 2017 7:20 am

Does anyone have a simple way of selecting the cheapest pc for the acorn job? I'm using the Pass mark site as suggested but getting very confused with the single core requirement and the 1500 number. When I look at the NUC7i3BNK, it seems that it's cpu benchmark is 1355? Anyway maybe i've misunderstood the whole thing.

Just trying not to overpay for the pc :D

DICKEYBIRD
Posts: 251
Joined: Sat Jul 08, 2017 7:38 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
System Serial Number: n/a yet
Location: Collierville, TN USA

Re: computer selection

Post by DICKEYBIRD » Sun Dec 03, 2017 9:20 am

I bought a refurbished Dell Optiplex 790 SFF Quad Core i5-2400 3.1GHz - 4GB - 500GB WiFi w/ Win 10 Pro on ebay for $139. So far it's been great.
Milton in Collierville, TN

"Accuracy is the sum total of your compensating mistakes."

midy
Posts: 75
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2017 12:20 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
System Serial Number: none

Re: computer selection

Post by midy » Sun Dec 03, 2017 9:47 am

I must be reading this wrongly Milton.

1.) The PC CPU must have a SINGLE CORE minimum benchmark of 1500. You can look up a CPU’s benchmark # using this web site.

Got that line from centroid website but yours is quad core?

frijoli
Posts: 342
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2017 10:03 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
System Serial Number: none yet
Location: Outside Winston-Salem, NC

Re: computer selection

Post by frijoli » Sun Dec 03, 2017 10:05 am

midy wrote:
Sun Dec 03, 2017 9:47 am
I must be reading this wrongly Milton.

1.) The PC CPU must have a SINGLE CORE minimum benchmark of 1500. You can look up a CPU’s benchmark # using this web site.

Got that line from centroid website but yours is quad core?
You didn't misunderstand the benchmark speed of their NUC.
"IF" you use a solid state hard drive you can get away with a little less CPU speed, and Centroid's single thread numbers are slightly conservative. However, you don't have much headroom.
Also, NOT single core as in it can only have one core, but single thread speed.
Mine is quad core refurb Lenovo from Newegg with an SSD. I paid 150 dollars, but they have some of these right now: https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product. ... 6883287827
Outside Winston-Salem, NC

lilb93
Posts: 81
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2017 10:26 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
System Serial Number: 0216041209
Contact:

Re: computer selection

Post by lilb93 » Sun Dec 03, 2017 10:27 am

Check out Micro Center there all over the country, you have to find the nearest store and there open box or refurbished
prices are really great. I use the one in ST david Pa. I got an I7-7600 (HAS A SINGLE THREAD RATING OF 2130) with 32G ram GTX 1060 video card, for open box return
329.00
Barnesville, PA.

DICKEYBIRD
Posts: 251
Joined: Sat Jul 08, 2017 7:38 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
System Serial Number: n/a yet
Location: Collierville, TN USA

Re: computer selection

Post by DICKEYBIRD » Sun Dec 03, 2017 10:46 am

This issue prompts a question. Does anyone know what will happen if the PC does not have the correct performance spec? How will the shortcoming manifest itself when actually making chips on a 2-axis lathe? Should I be wearing a flak jacket? :lol:
Milton in Collierville, TN

"Accuracy is the sum total of your compensating mistakes."

lilb93
Posts: 81
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2017 10:26 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
System Serial Number: 0216041209
Contact:

Re: computer selection

Post by lilb93 » Sun Dec 03, 2017 11:21 am

No flak jacked needed. just get a baby monitor camera and 300' of shielded cat 5 cable and run it from the bedroom.
Barnesville, PA.

midy
Posts: 75
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2017 12:20 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
System Serial Number: none

Re: computer selection

Post by midy » Sun Dec 03, 2017 11:58 am

So the NUC that centroid uses is under 1500? Have I got that right?

frijoli
Posts: 342
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2017 10:03 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
System Serial Number: none yet
Location: Outside Winston-Salem, NC

Re: computer selection

Post by frijoli » Sun Dec 03, 2017 2:28 pm

DICKEYBIRD wrote:
Sun Dec 03, 2017 10:46 am
This issue prompts a question. Does anyone know what will happen if the PC does not have the correct performance spec? How will the shortcoming manifest itself when actually making chips on a 2-axis lathe? Should I be wearing a flak jacket? :lol:
It's going to be EPIC!
Outside Winston-Salem, NC

DICKEYBIRD
Posts: 251
Joined: Sat Jul 08, 2017 7:38 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
System Serial Number: n/a yet
Location: Collierville, TN USA

Re: computer selection

Post by DICKEYBIRD » Sun Dec 03, 2017 2:57 pm

frijoli wrote:
Sun Dec 03, 2017 2:28 pm
DICKEYBIRD wrote:
Sun Dec 03, 2017 10:46 am
This issue prompts a question. Does anyone know what will happen if the PC does not have the correct performance spec? How will the shortcoming manifest itself when actually making chips on a 2-axis lathe? Should I be wearing a flak jacket? :lol:
It's going to be EPIC!
Heck I used to put on a Depends™ before pressing Cycle Start back when I first started using Mach3 Turn! ;)
Milton in Collierville, TN

"Accuracy is the sum total of your compensating mistakes."

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: cnckeith and 3 guests