Page 3 of 4

Re: Fusion 360 mill/turn and turn post processor non-existent!

Posted: Sun Nov 26, 2017 10:30 pm
by cnckeith
Clay,
we will be looking at the file size stuff monday am.
in the mean time if you haven't programmed a lathe in 20 years :-) ..i'd recommend starting with Intercon and the Lathe part programming tutorial in the Centroid operator manual found here. http://www.centroidcnc.com/downloads/ce ... manual.pdf
Chapter 9 for the programming part tutorials. and chapter 4 for the tool setups and chapter 5 for part zeros

Re: Fusion 360 mill/turn and turn post processor non-existent!

Posted: Sun Nov 26, 2017 10:45 pm
by frijoli
cnckeith wrote:
Sun Nov 26, 2017 10:30 pm
Clay,
we will be looking at the file size stuff monday am.
in the mean time if you haven't programmed a lathe in 20 years :-) ..i'd recommend starting with Intercon and the Lathe part programming tutorial in the Centroid operator manual found here. http://www.centroidcnc.com/downloads/ce ... manual.pdf
Chapter 9 for the programming part tutorials. and chapter 4 for the tool setups and chapter 5 for part zeros
LOL, thanks Keith! I will be looking at the tool and part offsets, which is all I don't grasp yet. I'm old but not dumb.
I've been playing with Intercon and having no issues! Thankfully my mill at work uses the same basic interface. I have been using Intercon and CAM to make parts on it. The lathe isn't finished yet so I am playing for now.

Clay

Re: Fusion 360 mill/turn and turn post processor non-existent!

Posted: Wed Dec 06, 2017 1:09 am
by kaimaui
There is a mill post but no Lathe / turn post.
I have been using the fanuc turn post and then editing the nc file.

KAI

Re: Fusion 360 mill/turn and turn post processor non-existent!

Posted: Wed Dec 06, 2017 7:08 am
by frijoli
kaimaui wrote:
Wed Dec 06, 2017 1:09 am
There is a mill post but no Lathe / turn post.
I have been using the fanuc turn post and then editing the nc file.

KAI
This is exactly what I have been doing for testing my postprocessor as well. Unfortunately I don't get a lot of time during the week to test. My editing has been, make a change that I think should work(no javascript experience), test the post. If it doesn't fail when posting, then test in Centroid.
My lathe isn't finished so I can't actually try it. Everything seems to work now, but the G98 G99 has me confused. It will not move unless I am in Feed Per Minute.

Clay

Re: Fusion 360 mill/turn and turn post processor non-existent!

Posted: Sun Dec 10, 2017 9:05 am
by francoCNC
Hi Guys - I'd like to bring up a point about Fusion360. First, it's awesome. Never before has such powerful CAD/CAM software been available at this price point and they continue to make it better every day. As far as CAM goes, the milling portion of Fusion360 is great - I use it extensively. Unfortunately, (IMO) the turning piece of it is still lacking. I actually did a WebEx with some of the Fusion360 people on Friday to discuss some of my perceived shortcomings (no tangential extension, poor lead-in/lead-out control, inability to move the tool below the center line, etc) and they promised that they will be working to correct those issues in due time. Personally, I'm not highly motivated to work on the Centroid turning post until they fix some of those things. I'm going to sound like a Centroid suck-up but one of the reasons I like CNC12 is Intercon. Most of my turning work can be programmed right there. For milling, I'm probably going to stick with Fusion360 - most of the time. Thanks for listening to me vent :o

-Franco

Re: Fusion 360 mill/turn and turn post processor non-existent!

Posted: Sun Dec 10, 2017 9:08 am
by martyscncgarage
midy wrote:
Sun Nov 26, 2017 6:51 pm
Just to be 100% clear, are you boys saying there is no PP for fusion 360 and acorn lathe?
Correct, but the users are working on one. That's what is great about this community. You have users with strengths posting their ideas/work for others to learn from and use. Collectively this is a great community strength.....

Re: Fusion 360 mill/turn and turn post processor non-existent!

Posted: Wed Dec 13, 2017 11:56 am
by cnckeith
I hope Fusion 360 improves the Lathe product, it has alot of potential. I the meantime use Intercon!
Centroid's Conversational programming system "Intercon" is included with the Acorn Lathe CNC software and is simple to use and yet powerful lathe programming software. There are step by step tutorials in the CNC11 Lathe Operators Manual. Its how we program all our lathe parts in the shop here at Centroid. The G code that Intercon produces is perfect every time, no fiddling with post processors! program the part and start turning!

Re: Fusion 360 mill/turn and turn post processor non-existent! (use Intercon)

Posted: Wed Dec 13, 2017 4:10 pm
by ScotY
Someone needs to make a video on how to use Intercon for the lathe...hint, hint. :lol: To my newbie mind, lathe stuff is WAY more confusing that milling. I just assume it just is that way because you're constrained (I think that's the right word I'm looking for) to round spinning parts and my brain struggles to understand. :?

Re: Fusion 360 mill/turn and turn post processor non-existent! (use Intercon)

Posted: Wed Dec 13, 2017 4:54 pm
by DICKEYBIRD
ScotY wrote:
Wed Dec 13, 2017 4:10 pm
Someone needs to make a video on how to use Intercon for the lathe...hint, hint. :lol:
Here you go Scot: viewtopic.php?f=60&t=1194

Re: Fusion 360 mill/turn and turn post processor non-existent! (use Intercon)

Posted: Wed Dec 13, 2017 5:16 pm
by ScotY
Hi Milton,
Thanks, I think I watched that video before. But lathe stuff confuses the heck out of my brain! :lol: I'll go watch it again when I get my lathe converted over to Acorn. Work has been keeping me too busy lately. :cry: