Oak CNC controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No

Techno Isel Lathe-throwing my hat in the ring

Post by Fig »

Hi guys,

I'm a newbie, so be gentle. I recently won an online auction for a Techno Isel. I haven't collected it yet, but their website states it has servo motors. Has anyone used the Acorn with servos? I'm just curious how that is put together. I see Centroid has one on YouTube but it has steppers. I'd like to use the Acorn set up. Looks somewhat simple, to my untrained eye, compared to trying to build something to work with Mach 3 or 4.
I'll be going to pick it up Friday, so I'll be able to verify what exactly is there. It isn't complete so hopefully it hasn't had too much picked off of it.

Well thats my plan. Hopefully I won't wear out your patience with my elementary questions. I'm looking forward to this challenge.
Fig
Springfield, Illinois
cnckeith
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: Yes
DC3IOB: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes

Re: Techno Isel Lathe-throwing my hat in the ring

Post by cnckeith »

Acorn can run any AC or DC servo motor drive package that accepts step and direction input.
as an example: Many Acorn customers are using the Teknic Clearpath AC servos with great success.

if you want to retain the DC servos on the techno you have two choices. Use a Centroid Allin1DC cnc controller which has digital DC servo drives built into it, this allows the Centroid Allin1DC to directly drive the existing DC servo motors. . or use a set of DC drives that accept step and direction like the ones that Geckodrive sells and command those drives with an Acorn CNC control board.
Need support? READ THIS POST first. http://centroidcncforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=60&t=1043
All Acorn Documentation is located here: viewtopic.php?f=60&t=3397
Answers to common questions: viewforum.php?f=63
and here viewforum.php?f=61