Z axis brake

All things related to Centroid Oak, Allin1DC, MPU11 and Legacy products

Moderator: cnckeith

Post Reply
danny
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu May 22, 2014 4:51 am
Acorn CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: 0329160186
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: No

Z axis brake

Post by danny »

We have a problem where to connect the brake. We did find an output on the GIO4D labelled brake on the third axis however it does not activate on and off. We tested the enable and it did not activate also.

The inputs where wired according the manual. We are thinking that these outputs are not active when we are using the optically coupled drives Centroid AC/DC drives. From where can we get an output for the brake?

Regards
Daniel
cncsnw
Posts: 3763
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2010 5:48 pm

Re: Z axis brake

Post by cncsnw »

If your PLC program is like the example I am looking at (gpio4d-acdc-basic-mill.src from the v3.12 release package), then it appears Centroid did not reserve any particular outputs for axis brake functions.

If you want an open-collector output (e.g. OUT19 on the GPIO4D axis #3 header), you could use that one, by adding the following line to your PLC program:

Code: Select all

IF SV_PC_POWER_AXIS_3 THEN (Axis_3_Enable)
If you prefer a relay output (any otherwise-unused output, e.g. OUT15) then add a couple lines:

Code: Select all

; in the Output Definitions section:
ZServoBrakeRelease  IS OUT15
; and in AxesEnableStage or MainStage:
IF SV_PC_POWER_AXIS_3 THEN (ZServoBrakeRelease)
danny
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu May 22, 2014 4:51 am
Acorn CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: 0329160186
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: No

Re: Z axis brake

Post by danny »

HI .
Thanks again for your help !! Problem solved , Well done .
AMDlloydsp
Posts: 91
Joined: Thu Oct 17, 2013 4:32 pm
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: 0605130770
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: No

Re: Z axis brake

Post by AMDlloydsp »

In that same vein, is there a way to only engage the brake after a fixed time delay after spindle-off?

Although it works, we don't like the R2E4 spindle brake. It's just too violent. Yet, we need it for tool changes.

So, we leave it completely manual. But it would be nice if one could time the application of it, so it only applies after the spindle has stopped (or nearly so).

Lloyd
Post Reply