Graphical interface suggestion - to and from increment or continuous

_______________________________________________________














LOGIN below to POST your questions and comments on AjaxCNC products.

Moderator: cnckeith

Post Reply
cut2cut
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Dec 23, 2017 3:02 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
System Serial Number: 38D26950ABAB-1221170383

Graphical interface suggestion - to and from increment or continuous

Post by cut2cut » Wed Feb 07, 2018 10:23 am

Let me start off by saying I love the centroid hardware and software. That being said I have a suggestion. It seems to me it would be logical that if I hit the 1 , 10 , 100 increment buttons your next action would be to increment rather than jog continuously. So, imho, the software should automatically be in that mode without having to toggle the increment / comtinous button to activate increment mode. Same is true for toggling to the turtle or the hare: your next action would be to jog continuously so it would be one less *step* if it was automagically set to jog / continuous mode. Maybe there is a good reason this isn’t done this way but I can’t think one. Perhaps it would muck things up for the software developer that wrote cnc XX ‘s interface with regard to using an mpg or Xbox controller?

Interesting thing is that I thought of this idea then went to post this post. A very recent post was “ how to change from increment to constant”. That question probably would not have occurred if the default method is how i’m suggesting. Possibly this can be an option, not the default, if there is some reason why it’s not done this way already ?
Just an idea, perhaps one that’s been suggested and shot down before, for good reason ? Note, the only mistakes i’ve made were due to the mill not being in the correct mode to increment rather than be in continuous. It was because I chose a different increment amount but it was still in continuous mode (not changing automagically to increment mode ) . Logically I thought if I had made that choice of increment amount ( 1,10, or 100) it surely would be in increment mode already. Not quite, so I “jogged” into my piece for an unintended cut. Seems more natural and saves a step if it’s done the way i’m suggesting.

Cheers,

Jake

frijoli
Posts: 396
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2017 10:03 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
System Serial Number: none yet
Location: Outside Winston-Salem, NC

Re: Graphical interface suggestion - to and from increment or continuous

Post by frijoli » Fri Feb 09, 2018 11:36 pm

I agree that should be the standard practice.
I've done this and CURSED out loud several times...
Clay
near Winston-Salem, NC
unofficial fb group https://www.facebook.com/groups/897054597120437/

bfreestone
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2018 1:02 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
System Serial Number: none
Location: Boston, MA

Re: Graphical interface suggestion - to and from increment or continuous

Post by bfreestone » Sat Feb 10, 2018 3:34 am

I have yet to look into any PLC programs for the Acorn but this is code copied from an allin1dc plc. It seems that you might be able to code the functionality you are looking for into the PLC assuming the Acorn offers the same level of PLC interaction as the other Controllers, aka anytime x1 x10 x100 changes you could also trigger Incremental jogging mode. On Centroid controls with MPG handwheels the x1 x10 x100 also changes the feed of the mpg's so it's not just used for setting the incremental jog distance.



;x1, x10, x100 functions
;--------------------------X1-----------------------------------
IF x1JogKey THEN (x1JogPD)
IF x1JogPD || OnAtPowerUp_M || X1_M || (MPG_Inc_X_1 && MPGLED)
THEN SET x1JogLED, RST x10JogLED, RST x100JogLED

;--------------------------X10----------------------------------
IF x10JogKey THEN (x10JogPD)
IF x10JogPD || X10_M || (MPG_Inc_X_10 && MPGLED)
THEN RST x1JogLED, SET x10JogLED, RST x100JogLED

;--------------------------X100---------------------------------
IF x100JogKey THEN (x100JogPD)
IF x100JogPD || X100_M || (MPG_Inc_X_100 && MPGLED)
THEN RST x1JogLED, RST x10JogLED, SET x100JogLED

if !KbIncreaseJogInc_M && !KbDecreaseJogInc_M then rst X1_M, rst X10_M,
rst X100_M


;----------------------------------------------------------------
JOG_PANEL
;----------------------------------------------------------------
; Select Incremental or Continuous Jog Mode
IF IncrContKey || KbTogIncContJog_M THEN (IncrContPD)
IF (IncrContPD && !IncrContLED) || OnAtPowerUp_M THEN SET IncrContLED
IF (IncrContPD && IncrContLED) THEN RST IncrContLED



; Select Fast or Slow Jog Mode
IF FastSlowKey || KbTogFastSlowJog_M THEN (SlowFastPD)
IF (SlowFastPD && !FastSlowLED) || OnAtPowerUp_M || MechnicalProbe
THEN SET FastSlowLED
IF (SlowFastPD && FastSlowLED) THEN RST FastSlowLED




IF IncrContLED THEN (SelectIncContJog)

bfreestone
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2018 1:02 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
System Serial Number: none
Location: Boston, MA

Re: Graphical interface suggestion - to and from increment or continuous

Post by bfreestone » Sat Feb 10, 2018 10:36 am

Got out to my shop this morning to check out the Acorn PLC. I made these changes, compiled and it tested good. Anytime you cycle between x1 x10 x100 with keyboard shortcuts or press the x1 x10 x100 buttons on the screen it will also trigger incremental jogging. I'm in the middle of installing the lathe version but I would think this portion of the plc is the same between both mill and lathe as it is generic to the jog panel. If you look at the code you'll see if you press x1, x10, x100 buttons or use the keyboard shortcut to cycle between them (set by X1_M,X10_M,X100_M) it will also SET the IncrContLED which is used trigger incremental jogging further down in the PLC. You need to find your plc program which is either in C:\cnct or C:\cncm the lathe program is called acorn_lathe_plc.src I would guess the mill is called acorn_lathe_plc.src. you can make these modifications then save the file. If you haven't compiled a PLC before:

1. press Windows button type CMD press enter
2. type cd c:\cncm or c:\cnct depending on what you're running mill or lathe
3. type mpucomp.exe nameofsource.src mpu.plc <- change nameofsource to whatever your modified plc source file is
4. it should say compiled successfully with no errors
5. reboot your system and test functionality

you should probably make a copy of the Acorn PLC before changing it and rename the file just in case you inadvertently change something so you have a file to go back to. Hope this helps let me know how you make out.

;x1, x10, x100 functions
;--X1
IF x1JogKey || SkinX1_M THEN (x1JogPD)
IF x1JogPD || OnAtPowerUp_M || X1_M || (MPG_Inc_X_1 && MPGLED)
THEN SET x1JogLED, RST x10JogLED, RST x100JogLED, SET IncrContLED

;--X10
IF x10JogKey || SkinX10_M THEN (x10JogPD)
IF x10JogPD || X10_M || (MPG_Inc_X_10 && MPGLED)
THEN RST x1JogLED, SET x10JogLED, RST x100JogLED, SET IncrContLED

;--X100
IF x100JogKey || SkinX100_M THEN (x100JogPD)
IF x100JogPD || X100_M || (MPG_Inc_X_100 && MPGLED)
THEN RST x1JogLED, RST x10JogLED, SET x100JogLED, SET IncrContLED

frijoli
Posts: 396
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2017 10:03 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
System Serial Number: none yet
Location: Outside Winston-Salem, NC

Re: Graphical interface suggestion - to and from increment or continuous

Post by frijoli » Sun Feb 11, 2018 5:12 pm

bfreestone wrote:
Sat Feb 10, 2018 10:36 am
Got out to my shop this morning to check out the Acorn PLC. I made these changes, compiled and it tested good. Anytime you cycle between x1 x10 x100 with keyboard shortcuts or press the x1 x10 x100 buttons on the screen it will also trigger incremental jogging.
This is great news!

Clay
Clay
near Winston-Salem, NC
unofficial fb group https://www.facebook.com/groups/897054597120437/

cut2cut
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Dec 23, 2017 3:02 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
System Serial Number: 38D26950ABAB-1221170383

Re: Graphical interface suggestion - to and from increment or continuous

Post by cut2cut » Mon Feb 12, 2018 1:23 pm

bfreestone wrote:
Sat Feb 10, 2018 10:36 am
Got out to my shop this morning to check out the Acorn PLC. I made these changes, compiled and it tested good. Anytime you cycle between x1 x10 x100 with keyboard shortcuts or press the x1 x10 x100 buttons on the screen it will also trigger incremental jogging.....
Thank you ! I'll give this a try and report back.

Jake

Gary Campbell
Posts: 163
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2017 2:32 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
System Serial Number: C8FD19D3C3E1-1109170238
Location: Marquette, MI

Re: Graphical interface suggestion - to and from increment or continuous

Post by Gary Campbell » Mon Feb 12, 2018 3:07 pm

Jake...
I like this change. Another question; Can the PLC be reprogrammed to make "Continuous" active at startup?
GCnC Control
CNC Control & Retrofits
https://www.youtube.com/user/Islaww1/videos

bfreestone
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2018 1:02 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
System Serial Number: none
Location: Boston, MA

Re: Graphical interface suggestion - to and from increment or continuous

Post by bfreestone » Mon Feb 12, 2018 3:26 pm

If you search your PLC program for IncrContLED you'll see it's set during power up, you could change that, but it is safer to have the machine start in incremental mode.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests